We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MARKS TRAVELLERS” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mediterran

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mediterran to your Saves list
Hotel Mediterran
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Budaorsi ut 20-A, Budapest 1118, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 328 Hotels in Budapest
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“MARKS TRAVELLERS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

The four of us guys are just back from a four day stay in the buda part of city only seven mins on the bus for a quid the cafe bar about hundred yards from hotel going right food great but eat ur starter before ordering main because we have never seen starters as big Cheers Pat Tom Martin David

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMediterran, Manager at Hotel Mediterran, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Pat, Tom, Martin and David,

Thank you for your comment, hope you guys had nice time in Budapest and plan to return in the near future! Is true, Aranyhid Restaurant at the corner serves huge portions of delicious meals. Is a real challenge to eat all from the starter till dessert. :)

We wait you back at Hotel Mediterran and wishing you Happy New Year!

Attila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    111
    47
    16
    11
See reviews for
21
120
13
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel for 3 nights in May 2012. Our room was spacious and very clean. We had lots of wardrobe space and the room also had a safe, mini bar, TV, hair dryer, toiletries etc.

Our room was facing the main road which was quite noisy with the window open, but was fine with the window closed. (The room had air con so no need to open the window anyway!) The staff were friendly and helpful, and we were able to access the free internet in the main reception area.

I would say the Hotel is a little out of the way from Pest - main tourist area, and we only came across one bar nearby which was very cheap but closed around 11pm. My only other negative point would be that the double bed that we requested, was actually 2 single beds pushed together. Not ideal for couples but not the end of the world. Overall, great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMediterran, Manager at Hotel Mediterran, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear DanielleDada,

Thank you so much for sharing your good experience with tripadvisor readers!

I am happy you mention free internet corner at the reception area! Right now I take the opportunity to announce that from beginning 2013 we offer FREE WIFI in Hotel Mediterran for all our clients! So our guests can access the internet easily either by their laptop or smartphone in the whole building. Login code is provided by the reception. I hope all our clients will appreciate and enjoy this new free service!

You mention a negative point about the beds pushed together. We have 10 rooms with classic double bed mattress, the rest of our 30 rooms can be combined as twin or double rooms, by pushing together or separating beds. I am sorry to hear there was no more free classic double room free when you stayed with us. I will consider to set more of this roomtype with classic double mattress.

Thank you again for your comment, I am sure it will help a lot the tripadvisor fans making their choice when they search for hotels in Budapest!

Best regards,

Attila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great location, excellent rooms, lovely staff! Excellent spot to discover Budapest but also a great place to relax. Clean rooms, nice breakfast and bar. I recommend this friendly hotel, especially for couples and families.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMediterran, Manager at Hotel Mediterran, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Sophia v,

Your positive feedback is so important for us! Thank you for your time you spent on sharing your experience about Hotel Mediterran with all the travellers around the world!

Would be our pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel!

Wishing you all the best,

Attila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful and makes you feel welcomed. The breakfast is not that diverse but the food is good. Where the rooms are concerned I was a little disappointed as my room was not quite clean (the carpets were very dirty and not all the towels had been changed). Another thing I noticed is that they do not have matrimonial beds just two beds put together. As for the location, the hotel is situated very close to Gellert hill so the location is convenient.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMediterran, Manager at Hotel Mediterran, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Octapuspus,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with us and all the visitors of Tripadvisor! I am proud that our staff made your stay convenient and you felt welcomed!
Let me reflect on the negative things you experienced. I am so sorry to read you were dissapointed about the cleanliness of the carpet in your room. We have a busy season behind us when major cleanings like wet carpet clean was hard to organize. I assure you that right these days we started the grand clean-up of all our rooms, including wet carpet clean. We close a whole floor during this work, moving furniture and beds aside, to reach every little corner and tidy up, also the bathroom.
About beds: we do have matrimonial bed room, 10 out of the total 40 rooms. It is likely that during your stay those rooms were occupied by other clients. I can see that many of our guests mention it as a disadvantage, so I am ready to rearrange rooms and set more matrimonial mattresses.

Thank you again for your comment! It helped a lot to improve our service for the future!

Best regards,

Attila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I loved the professionalism and friendliness of the staff, which offers its guests more than they asked for, which makes the entire stay unforgotable and causes that guests feel very special :)
Besides, the food was good and the bar was great too :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMediterran, Manager at Hotel Mediterran, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Reniiiiii,

I am happy and proud to see that you were 100% satisfied with our personal service and hospitality even during your second stay in Hotel Mediterran! I wish and hope to welcome you in our Hotel many times in 2013 too!

Thank you again and all the best to you!

Attila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

In this Hotel all the guest feel himself at home... very kind and friendly staff, service is excellent, the room are clean, silent and comfortable. Take only one bus, to the downtown... Everybody very helpful... What else anybody need to the perfect holiday? :-)))

Thanks to the director and the staff for this wonderful stay in the Hotel Mediterran!
I OFFER ALL VISITORS TO BUDAPEST!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMediterran, Manager at Hotel Mediterran, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Farkas K,

What a nice recommendation from you!! Thank you so much for encouraging all theTripadvisor readers to stay at Hotel Mediterran! Hope to see you again soon and treat you with the same warm hospitality!

Thank you again and of course I will forward your nice words to all the Mediterran staff!

Kind regards,

Attila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oradea, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel is located near center. The staff are courteous , friendly and kind, they do everything possible to make your stay enjoyable, nothing is too much trouble.
The accommodation is clean and comfortable with all the amenities you would expect from a **** hotel. I cannot fault this hotel and would recommend it to anyone. Great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMediterran, Manager at Hotel Mediterran, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Natalia,

I am so much thankful to you for spending your time and sharing all the nice things you experienced in Hotel Mediterran. This will defenitely help other tripadvisor fans to choose our hotel as their future accommodation when visiting Budapest.

Please let us know about your next planned stay in Budapest so we can welcome you again with pleasure!

Kind regards,

Attila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mediterran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterran

Address: Budaorsi ut 20-A, Budapest 1118, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#77 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mediterran 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mediterran is located in the centre of Buda and provides a real mediterranean atmosphere! The hotel is decorated in a tasteful, modern style and includes all of the amenities that guests have come to expect. You can enjoy the relaxing view on our garden or the Buda Hills through the soundproof windows of the rooms. We take the burden of city parking off your shoulders while you are exploring Budapest's world famous entertainment and tourist districts. The garage provides perfect security for our clients' cars. Drinkbar in the lobby on the ground floor is an intimate and charming meeting point. Our friendly and qualified staff will provide you personal care and extensive information to make your stay pleasant and really convenient! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mediterran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterran Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mediterran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.