We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair prices, basic rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Charles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Charles to your Saves list
Hotel Charles
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hegyalja ut 23, Budapest 1016, Hungary (Várkerület)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Karlsruhe, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fair prices, basic rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Hotel Charles & Apartment is located approximately 10 Minutes away by bus from the city center. The staff was friendly, the room basic, clean and spacious. Breakfast buffet was good for the relatively low price. The room was basic with a kitchen and a bathroom. Although the amenities looked a bit old, everything worked perfect. The prices for the minibar were fair.
The Budapest public transportation works very very efficiently and a bus stop is just opposite the hotel entrance. For this reason I can recommend this hotel for its price, cleanliness and location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balazs O, General Manager at Hotel Charles, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our "basic" room! Thank you! I would like to remind you that we offer two categories of rooms. If you long for an even more satisfying stay, let me recommend you to try our deluxe category rooms for just a few Euros more next time. Here air conditioning is basic, and the room furniture is up to date too!

See you again soon!

Sincerelly

Balazs Ovari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    109
    41
    10
    1
See reviews for
46
128
32
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gyor, Hungary
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I just had to make a quick decision on where to stay and I found this hotel. it is not located in the city center, but not far either. with car it is a bit tricky to park, but it is manegable.
Reception is quick and effective. room is good size mine with a small kitchen (fridge, kettle and minibar) bathrom has shower only, but again good size. my bed is on the soft side, but no real problems.
Close to the hotel you can find the upmarket MOM Park shopping mall with some eateries and cinema (lots of movies in English with Hungarian subtitles) for rainy days.
price is great: I paid 30 Euro for a night which is a real bargain for a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Charles for three nights. On checking in, we were presented with a free upgrade to a deluxe triple room, though we had only booked a standard double. What an unexpected surprise! Our room was more of an apartment than a hotel with a fully equipped kitchen. We're typically not the types to luxuriate in our rooms, but our place was so nice we took advantage and had some late mornings availing ourselves of the cheap minibar (chocolate and Hungarian sparking wine). The staff were always attentive and knowledgeable, advising on bus routes, discounts, helping with luggage, etc. At check out, they gave us a little gift of a bar of Hungarian chocolate (maybe they'd noticed how we'd raided the minibar!). Overall, the experience couldn't have been better. My only suggestion for travelers is to make sure you know how to get to the hotel in advance from the train station/airport. It's a bit out of the city center and you'll need to take a public bus line. Once you know which bus to take, it's very easy to get back and forth to all the major attractions (5-15 minutes). Thank you to the staff at Charles for a wonderful stay. :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Myself, and three colleagues, have just returned from Budapest, where we stayed at the Hotel Charles. It is an excellent budget hotel. The rooms were clean and warm, and the hotel staff extremely polite, and efficient.
The hotel is situated, around a ten minute taxi ride from the centre.
The restaurant has a good reputation, for serving excellent, traditional Hungarian food.
All in all, a great hotel, at a great price. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a no smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I was alone in Budapest for 3 days. I'm 38, didn't want to stay in a hostel - this place was great value for the money. You can take a bus downtown. I did not, it was close enough to walk, 20 to 25 mins. citadelle is close by. Front desk clerk was fantastic - he spoke great english, was very helpful, and gave me good directions on how to get around and I could purchase tickets at the desk. breakfast was really good too. All in all a great hotel for a decent price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Service was very good, located in Buda and very well connected by bus which takes only 5 minutes to get to the city center in Pest.
Rooms was excellent, very clean and the restaurant provide quality food.
Very surprised by the wine. They are excellent!
Nice trip. Excellent review of the city in total

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were a little skeptical because the section of town appeared a little dodgy but once you entered everything was made right. The room was spacious with a nice kitchen and nice bathroom. The restaurant we immediately thought nothing of and went to explore Budapest's colinary delights only to later find the hotel restaurant served some of the best (and reasonably priced) food in the city. My goulash swas delicious and my steak was one of the best I have ever had. My friends' schnitzels were as big as the plate.
We had the breakfast package and, unfortunately, had to leave at 3:30 in the morning. The reception staff, who had been top drawer the entire trip - helping us with taxis, trips and locations, went the extra styep and noticed the night before we would be leaving before breakfast and asked if we would like a packed breakfast for when we leave. This was wonderfully handy to have something to eat while wasting the hours at the airport.
Would definately go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charles

Address: Hegyalja ut 23, Budapest 1016, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Várkerület
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#38 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#42 Family Hotel in Budapest
#55 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Charles is situated on Gellert hill, on the Buda side of the river, with excellent public transportation to the close city centre. The Citadel and the Royal Castle is within walking distance. All our Deluxe category studios are airconditioned, while some of our newly furnished Standard category studios are available with airconditioning as well for a surcharge. All of our studios are equipped with a kitchenette. Free WIFI access is available in the whole building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Charles And Apartment
Hotel Charles Apartment
Charles Apartment Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.