We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel charles, budapest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Charles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Charles to your Saves list
Hotel Charles
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hegyalja ut 23, Budapest 1016, Hungary (Várkerület)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 330 Hotels in Budapest
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“hotel charles, budapest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

we been there 2 night, the room is big and clean Although the furniture are old. there is a kitchen and Refrigerator. the employees were greet- very helpful And patiently answered every question.
the location was good- we park the car and travel by buses/metro. we truly recommend at that hotel :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    103
    40
    10
    1
See reviews for
43
119
29
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Loved this hotel. Rooms are pretty big and clean. It's situated in Buda just in front of a bus stop that takes you in 5 to 7 minutes to Pest's center. I had dinner there once and the food was absolutely delicious. There's free wifi in the entire hotel also. But the best thing about the hotel was their employees, they're super nice and helpful the entire time, I was really impressed with the service they give. On my last day, I was wearing a football jersey and the guy at the lobby noticed it, so he recommended me to assist to the Ferenc Puskas stadium to watch the Hungary-Netherlands game. He gave me all the info needed (where to get tickets, directions, etc.) and I had a great time. If you're planning to go to Budapest, you should definitely stay here.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

When making the reservation we requested a double room for two must be NON smoking as we have asthma . We were allocated a smoking room, which at first staff denied was a smoking room but later agreed it was smoking, saying someone had made a mistake with the allocation. Also we were unable to close the bedroom door as it could not go past the beds which could not be moved. The carpets were old and dirty. We asked for a change and were told the hotel was full. When checking the website it was showing available rooms but this was denied by staff.
It is the worst hotel room we have stayed in and it slightly marred our stay in this beautiful city. Photographs on website bookings,com were very misleading.
On checking, out the staff apologised profusely saying next time they would give us the best room, we will not however be going back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights. There is a bus stop just infront of the Hotel. Bus # 112 and 8 can be taken from stop 'Avar Utca' infront of Hotel towards City Center. Gellert his is a small hike from Hotel Charles. The staff were very helpful.They helped us with city info, train info. Our room had a small kitchen with kitchenette. They were very clean. Fridge was preloaded with soft and hot drinks(charged)

Room we got was on the railway track side(guess it is west) Throughout the noon, sun is facing this side and in the eve you will feel the room like an oven. Initially we did not draw the sun screens, hence room was too hot in the evening. Also, at night if you let the window open, you might get disturbed with the vehicle sound.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania - Bucharest
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I've stayed twice at Charles and i really appreciate the kindness of the staff, the hotel services and the very good restaurant (even if not so cheap). There are spacious rooms and if you're travelling by car, you can park it for free on the streets behind the hotel. Good WIFI in the room, 20 minutes walk from downtown, but there is also a bus who helps you to mount the Buda hill to the hotel. The only bad matter is the noise from the street, this is really the only and big problem of this good hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms with the windows to Hegyalja utca, they are very, noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balazs O, General Manager at Hotel Charles, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review! It feels good that you have chosen our Hotel already twice!

For our future guests who need a more silent room I advise to mention this need upon booking or latest at arrival. Since we do have many quiet rooms as well, we'll try to fulfill all the needs!

Hope to see you again soon, the third time!

Sincerelly,

Balazs Ovari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

the hotel building looks old and a bit shabby, but don't worry- the hotel from the inside is clean and renovated. our room did looked a bit tired, but it was quite spacious and everything we needed was there (we stayed in the standard room). the staff was very friendly and helpful (a bit too much even). i can definitely recommend the breakfast - it's excellent! there was a bit of a confusion with the city tax- we thought that we had already paid everything in advance, but when checking-out, they informed us that we have to pay the city tax in addition. the money wasn't that big, but like i said- we were sure that we had everything already paid for.

Room Tip: When visiting the hotel in the summer, be sure to select the room with air conditioning. Also, the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Very good hotel. It is centrally located with tram and bus stops in walking distance. Our room was large, even had a little kitchen. We faced a busy boulevard, however on the 5th floor we were not disturbed by any noise.
The staff was very helpful and pleasant.
They served an excellent breakfast.
It was convenient to have a restaurant with the hotel.
We would definitely return here on another visit to Budapest.
Vera

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charles

Address: Hegyalja ut 23, Budapest 1016, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Várkerület
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#39 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#43 Family Hotel in Budapest
#53 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Charles is situated on Gellert hill, on the Buda side of the river, with excellent public transportation to the close city centre. The Citadel and the Royal Castle is within walking distance. All our Deluxe category studios are airconditioned, while some of our newly furnished Standard category studios are available with airconditioning as well for a surcharge. All of our studios are equipped with a kitchenette. Free WIFI access is available in the whole building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Charles And Apartment
Hotel Charles Apartment
Charles Apartment Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.