We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shabby” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Corvin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Corvin to your Saves list
Hotel Corvin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Angyal u 31, Budapest 1094, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“shabby”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed in this hotel as part of a Road Scholar tour. It is of minimal quality. My room was small with cheap furnishings, thin towels, one step above a hostel. Breakfast is adequate and there is a small but pretty garden for eating in nice weather. Location is good. The tour included Krakow, Vienna and Prague and this hotel, by far, provided the worst accommodations. I have no idea whether it is extremely cheap as the tour price is all inclusive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    70
    29
    7
    3
See reviews for
22
39
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel is somehow connected to Road Scholar, I believe. Our First assigned room was so bad we had to threaten to leave. Under the eaves, bad beds, gray thin towels painted college dorm type furniture from the 50's etc. We finally got a bigger room. Desk staff were cold and inefficient. Breakfast was adequate. In my opinion it is just a hair up from a hostel.

Room Tip: Obviously no pool or fitness center. Advertised WiFi was mostly down. It was available briefly one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pardubice, Czech Republic
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Very nice hotel situated in calm neighborhood near the metro and tram, very good starting point to visiting city. Personnel is helpful and very friendly. Room with standard equipment, classical European breakfasts. Good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

It was my first visit to Budapest and I wanted to book simple basic hotel with proper value and not far from the city.

The hotel was recommended by one of my friends. It was easy to find it. The hotel is simple and I felt happy one I check in!

The location is quite good and not far from the metro station or tram and from the main street. The room was simple. Nothing to add! Friendly staff in all hotel.

Breakfast was good. They have very tasty cheese.

Recommended to many visitors but you must understand the quality!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed 3 Nights (April 3-6, 2013) at the hotel and the stay was pleasant and adequate for a no-frills stay. Breakfast was typical European and a satisfying way to start the day. The interaction we had with the Front Desk staff was superb in friendliness and helpfulness. The room on the 4th floor was worn and dated and in need of an upgrade but OK. If not for the window that opened, it would have been way too warm even though it was cold outside. The towels provided were way beyond their usable time. Location was good, Aldi supermarket close by as well as a convenience store, cafes, pubs and other small restaurants. If you are used to budget style hotels you will not be disappointed. Used the free luggage storage after check-out on our last day prior to the 7pm train departure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel is average, fully non-smoking, but we asked room with a balcony few days before our trip via e-mail and the hotel kindly arranged it. Personnel is polite ad friendly. There were some problems with electricity sockets, so we couldn'n recharge our laptops or phones in some sockets.

Breakfast is basic, european style, you get fuled enough. Tidiness is good.

The hotel is situated in very nice and quiet area.

Sadly the spring is late this year, so Budapest was not in it's best and Hungary has very strick smoking policy that restricts smoking in all restaurants and pubs. You can get fined for smoking in bus and tram waiting area for 50.000 HUF, so 175€. So Budapest is not a good destination for smokers, so this was our first and last trip.

Remember to have cash enough, smaller restaurants and pubs accept only cash, andvexpected tip is about 10%. Visa and MasterCard are accepted but AmericanExpress is very poor card.

Room Tip: Ask room with balcony before your arriving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Spent 10 days here and enjoyed the New Year 2013. The location is great as the metro station and tram station are 5 minutes away and with that transport you can get to the center in no time. The supermarket is 2 minutes away so you can get whatever food you want there.
The hotel itself is adequate, the breakfast is the same all the time but quite good. The room was big, the beds are ok, the cleaning was a bit poor. But all in all the prices they ask for the stay correspond to the quality of the stay.

Room Tip: room 301 is quite big and has 4 separate beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Corvin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corvin

Address: Angyal u 31, Budapest 1094, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Corvin 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Corvin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corvin Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Corvin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.