We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and staff are good enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baross City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Baross City Hotel to your Saves list
Baross City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baross ter 15, Budapest H-1077, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #153 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Location and staff are good enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Location: 3 mins walk from train station (keleti). Has grocery, budget king, McDonald's, KFC and a 24-hr convenient store within the 80m radius. A bit of a far walk from the 1st known tourist spot (about 10 mins) but you can just take the metro (though I prefer to walk since you'll see a lot of things).

Breakfast: same everyday but for e price of the room inclusive of breakfast, who am I to complain. They have cereal, diff breads and spreads, cheese, ham, sausage, coffee, juice.

Staff: we were there when the weather was hot and was placed in the corner top room with close to no wifi and Aircon was not functioning. The following day, after talking to e reception, we were transferred to a much nicer room on the 4th floor.

Room: I don't like the corner room on the 6th floor as it is already the roof. avoid it if possible since it is not ok to open the window, it is not the normal straight type but an attic type when it is almost like part of the roof. But transferring to the 4th floor facing the insides is simply great. Not a 4 or 5 star but ok for 3 star. Clean enough as well.

Wifi - free but not that fast.

Room Tip: Choose the ones facing the inner sides or at least not faing the street since it is noisy with polic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    123
    82
    29
    19
See reviews for
43
104
25
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had a giant room that had 4 beds in it. The bathroom was around the corner and the shower had poor drainage. It actually drained right onto the floor with some water going right to the door where you could see some water damage. The wooden floor in the bedroom could use a good sweeping. Other that this, our stay was ok. The beds were comfortable, there was a/c, the food was good. It is close to the metro too. Watch out for local taxes!!!!! Any time you are traveling in Europe, ask if there are any local hotel taxes you will need to pay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I booked on the internet. Passed through Budapest on the way to Romania and checked out the hotel having read some not too great comments about it. Room I was shown looked fine.
The room I was given on the 4th floor when I checked in two weeks later was not good. Stained filthy carpet, shower curtain unsavoury. I had to cover the pillow with a towel, so old it was smelly.
Shifted rooms the next day...much better.
The beds are very hard indeed and pillows in both rooms urgently needed replacing.
I gave the location a good rating as I did want to be near Budapest Keleti.

Room Tip: Don't settle for a dirty room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirgu Mures, Romania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The rooms of this hotel are on the upper levels of an old building, you have to enter a dark cooridor and take an ancient elevator to get to the reception. Unfriendly staff, noisy location, old looking rooms, very expensive rates for the services they offer! You can find a better deal in that area for sure!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wherever I happen to be...
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We were arriving and departing from Keleti Railway Station, so it made sense to stay near the station. This hotel was wonderful! We actually stayed there twice - once near the beginning of our trip and again after doing a big loop.

The staff are friendly and professional and the whole place is spotless. The rooms are clean and comfortable. They even provide an extra (small) pillow for those of us who sleep with a pillow under our knees! Both of our rooms had bathtubs with a shower attachment. On our three-week trip, these were the only bathtubs we saw and I, for one, was very grateful for them. The first room we stayed in was a quad room. (We were two couples.) It had two separate sleeping areas and a kitchenette.

The wi-fi works well, both in the lobby and in the rooms. We were even able to use Skype from our room.

The breakfast room is warm and sunny, and there is something for everyone: deli meats (ham, salami, etc.), cheeses, breads, pastries, cereals, sliced cucumber, yogurt, scrambled eggs, heated sausages that looked like hot dogs, and plenty of tea, coffee, milk, and juice. Since this is such a popular hotel, the breakfast room tends to get a bit crowded. The temperature then goes from pleasantly warm to uncomfortably hot. I recommend eating breakfast as soon as the breakfast room opens.

There is no smoking allowed anywhere in the hotel, although sometimes people smoked outside and it came in the windows.

The lobby has plenty of comfortable seating for those waiting to leave for the railway station. There is a lockable left luggage closet and free wi-fi. They even let us make a cup of tea while we waited, even though the breakfast room was closed.

To get to the hotel from Keleti Station, go outside and look for the Burger King. It's just past that. There is a tough-looking guy guarding the door outside the hotel. We really liked him! Yes, he looks tough, but would a sweet-looking person make a good security guard? He was always friendly to us. He opened the door for us when we arrived and we felt better knowing he was there.

The building has two lifts (elevators). As you enter the building and round the corner, the one on the right holds two people with bags, and the one on the left holds four people with bags. The one on the left is also slightly faster.

There is major construction happening in the square in front of the hotel & railway station. We could not hear it from either of our rooms and it did not affect our stay. The metro station under the square is still open. You just need to walk to the other side of the railway station to go down the stairs.

There are several public buses to the city center from in front of the railway station. We took the 7E (E is for Express). There is also a public bus to the Szechenyi Bath and Spa. It's only one stop on the 20E bus from the railway station. Buy your bus tickets at any shop that sells magazines. There's one inside Keleti Station.

In conclusion, no matter what you want to see and do in Budapest, this hotel is an ideal choice. I would stay there again and again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baross_Manager, General Manager at Baross City Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for sending us your nice comments on your stay with us in our Baross City Hotel.
Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we assure you to maintain the quality and even improve our services in the future.
In the hope that we may welcome you as our guest again,
With best regards
Zsuzsanna Ilyés
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel Location is perfect. Although, the neighborhood is rebuilding so it is difficult to walk near the train station. We had room facing the yard which is fantastic! Staff was strange - not evan a one smile. Food was ok. But the hotel is very noisy! In the evening we heard all talks from rooms next to us. It was ridiculous.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Third stay at this hotel and as always it was clean and excellent value.
Good restaurant nearby is Husars which is situated approx 5th street on left when walking away from station.
Area around hotel is not great but felt perfectly safe walking about.
Would definitely return to Baross in the future

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking courtyard.Renovation work outside starts Very early
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baross City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baross City Hotel

Address: Baross ter 15, Budapest H-1077, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baross City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baross City Hotel is located next to the Keleti International Railway Station and offers comfortable, cosy rooms for tourists visiting Budapest. The hotel's 52 stylish rooms with delicate natural colours designed for both individual and business travellers. Due to its central location, major tourist attractions are easily reachable by high frequency public transport. The 3-star family friendly Baross City Hotel ensures peaceful relaxation in its spacious, bright rooms facing to the beautiful inner courtyard or the historic building of the Keleti Railway Station. Long stay travellers also can take advantage of fully furnished 2 bedroom apartments while enjoying various hotel services. If you are looking for an ideal place for city break, book our amazing deals, and make the most out of your Budapest trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Baross City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baross Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baross City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.