We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Hotel Matyas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added City Hotel Matyas to your Saves list
City Hotel Matyas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marcius 15, Ter 7 - 8, Budapest 1056, Hungary (District V / Inner City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel exterior is currently blocked by ongoing road works, which are ugly to look at but surprisngly not heard from within the hotel!
The hotel entrance is dark and uninviting, which is a huge contrast to the bright reception and extremely friendly and helpful staff. They would do ther upmost to accommodate every travellers needs and speak very good english.
The hallways and courtyard needs some updating but the rooms are modern, spacious and clean.
The location of this hotel is fantastic, backing onto Vaci Utca the main shopping area, and easily accessible to all tourist points of interest. Even the furthest point towards Heroes Square and the Zoo is only a 45 minute walk away.
Budapest is a beautiful busy city and definately worth a visit. And with a little more TLC the Matyas Hotel would be spot on!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    211
    115
    37
    13
See reviews for
39
186
35
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Holland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Upon arrival during early evening there was consternation by other just arrived quests (approx.10), because they were being re-booked to another hotel far away from city-center and we were told by receptionist such was also applicable for us (2 couples). Obviously no one accepted it, but apparently no rooms were available. Subsequently a manager entered from outside and went swift into his office and him we didnot see anymore and later an obviously more experienced receptioniste took over the reception bar. After a while (30 minutes?) we managed to have a look at list of guests being expected and reserved for on which our 2 names and rooms were clearly listed, so swiftly we got our keys and moved on before the others could start to protest!
The rooms are old but maintained and clean, for the restaurant you can go indoor to adjacent building and the food a-la-carte is perfect for which reason also outside guests are enjoying this resaturant.
Bottomline...location is great but it's organization was at that time terrible.

Room Tip: The double glass keeps the street-noise away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zsuzsanna C, General Manager at City Hotel Matyas, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest "nicolasHolland",

As you stayed in our hotel in September, 2012 too long time has gone since than to specify that day and to be able to react to the happenings.
Unfortunately, your review is a bit confused for us and is not clear what exactly was your problem. It is not understandable why did we get low points on room, clearness and value.

However it is a fact that rarely the availability on online systems can create overbooked status if we receive more bookings from more systems at the same time. It can also occur that some rooms cannot be given to guests because of some technical difficulties even on a fully booked date. It should be noted that sometimes damages in the rooms are caused by guests. By the confirmation, the hotel has always undertaken and undertakes accommodating the guests, in a similar categorized and located hotel.

We wish you to have a visit next time filled with more pleasant experiences!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have just returned from a stag weekend and it was spot on for what our party needed it for. We wanted clean rooms, decent edible breakfast and helpful staff. We got all three. The receptionist allowed us to store our baggage in a secure locked room on checkout day so we didn't have to haul them around with us before our evening flight. Breakfast was basic but had hot frankfurters and scrambled egg. The dining area was beautiful with Sistine chapel like decoration on its alcoved ceilings. Free wifi was excellent and I didn't have any problems with signal in my room or the reception area.

Roadworks outside the hotel meant it was a little unsightly on the exterior but that is beyond the hotels control. Contrary to another review we had shower gel in our bathroom. No tv, no hair dryer and no tea coffee making facilities, though there was a fridge. Would've marked the Matyas higher had there been complimentary bottled water, a safe and tea making. Location was probably the best feature, giving access to both sides of the capital with the bridge on its doorstep.

If youre planning to spend a lot of time inside your hotel room then there are better options in budapest. However, if you actually want to venture outside to enjoy this amazing city and all it offers without breaking the bank and use the hotel as a base then the City Matyas is easily one of the best choices you can make. Kar Lee

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the Danube for a great view. The higher it is, the less likely it'll be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zsuzsanna C, General Manager at City Hotel Matyas, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest "Kar L",

Thank you for your review.

It is true that the hotel can be the city visitors’ favorite place as the hotel is a great starting point to the city’s attractions and is close to the downtown’s walking district.

Our services fit to these requirements. Guest Directories placed in the rooms give full coverage to the available services. Television is available in all of our rooms with 13 different language channels and 2 radio stations.
Hairdryer and safe are available at the reception for free of charge. Our guests can also buy cold drinks, coffee and sweets at the lobby.

At the end of 2012, 5 rooms were renewed which are equipped with safe, hairdryer and internet connected wide screen television.
Because of the low number of these rooms their availability depend on the occupancy moreover for further information about upgraded rooms you can inquire at the reception by the arrival.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I appreciated a lot the location of the hotel, close to the metro and the Danube, and the breakfast that was quality but maybe not so full of choice. Apart from this, the building is a old building with different appartments re-adapted in rooms. Rooms themselves are OK, but no hairdrayer was provided and soap for body was weird. Apart from this was a good stay to be considered to save money!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zsuzsanna C, General Manager at City Hotel Matyas, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest „Lucatoyo”

We would like to thank you for your visit at City Hotel Mátyás and your feedback about our hotel. According to the Guest Directory hairdryer is available free of charge at the reception at any time.
We are very happy that you had a good stay and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Fantastic location, Beautiful hotel and really helpful staff. Special mention for receptionist 'Bela' who was so kind to find my friend a replacement wheelchair to rent when her one was damaged by our airline. We were only visiting for a weekend for the Christmas Markets and his kindness and concern for my friend was much appreciated, as she had lost her husband earlier in the year and this was her first trip away and she had been so excited and then disappointed when she thought she would have to stay in the hotel. Many thanks. I have booked my next stay with you in May 2013.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zsuzsanna C, General Manager at City Hotel Matyas, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest „Maria N”,

Thank you very much also in the name of my receptionist colleague Bela for your kind feedback concerning your stay. Although the hotel is equipped with an elevator we are not a disabled friendly accommodation as there are some stairs before reaching the elevator. The hotel is located in a historical building therefore we have no possibility to change the current interior to create a 100% disabled friendly environment.
We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in May.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway, UK
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stay for several nights with a large group of friends for marathon. Rooms were ok, lighting in ours wasn't too good. No the fifth floor, lift was slow and small (3 people max). Location of hotel was excellent for city centre, restaraunts, transport, shops etc. Would stay again if price wasn't excessive.

Room Tip: Lift is slow and small... request rooms on lower floors to aviod wait
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Fantastic Hotel in one of the most beautiful cities, close to everything, grocery store, restaurants, 2 minute walk to the Danube River, 10 minute walk to the Chain Bridge. Wonderful Matyas Pince Restaurant connected to the Hotel. Awesome food, 2 dinners wine, beer, dessert and a fantastic live Hungarian Dancing Show, with a tip included around $60.00 U.S. Hop on Hop off tour right across the street from Hotel, each ticket included 2 river cruises, bowl of goulash, free beer and 48 hours of use on the 2 different bus routes, one in the city, and one on the Danube....With hotel discount around $20.00 for each ticket....So what are you waiting for.............Clean, safe, friendly staff and great places to people watch.........We will return..For a quieter room ask for the back of hotel which is connected to an Apartment building and very beautiful....Patrick & Irina, Los Angeles, CA.

Room Tip: Choose the back of hotel...super quiet and relaxing....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
City Hotel Pilvax
City Hotel Pilvax
#118 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
#81 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 711 reviews
City Hotel Ring
#120 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#48 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#92 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Budapest City Central
Budapest City Central
#63 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Matyas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Matyas

Address: Marcius 15, Ter 7 - 8, Budapest 1056, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Matyas 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Hotel Matyas is located in the heart of the downtown just 50 meters from the famous Vaci Street, with its most exclusive shops and restaurants. The monument building hotel has 85 modern rooms; some of which have a fascinating panoramic Danube and Buda Castle view, guaranteeing an unforgettable stay in Budapest. The buffet breakfast for the hotel guests are served in the famous Matyas Pince (Matthias Cellar) Restaurant, where also traditional and international dishes are available for lunch or dinner. The well-equipped rooms ensure a pleasant vacation for individual guests and groups arriving to Budapest on business or leisure. Standard room: each of the comfortable, bright rooms has bathroom with shower. Rooms are fitted with either a double bed or separate twin beds. Average size of rooms: 20 m2. Room fittings: bathroom with shower, telephone, radio, TV with satellite channels, pay-TV, fridge, air-conditioning on request.Other services: hair dryer (upon request), free Internet corner, safe at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Budget Places, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your City Hotel Matyas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hotel Matyas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.