We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pre-Christmas break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Starlight Suiten Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Starlight Suiten Hotel to your Saves list
Starlight Suiten Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Merleg utca 6, Budapest 1051, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Englishman in Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great pre-Christmas break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed for a long weekend in December.

Location very good - nice and central, mostly everything we wanted to see was within walking distance.

Booked a suite which was very spacious, and compared to other places I have stayed in Hungary relatively up to date.

The bathroom, bedroom and lounge areas were large and comfortable, and made a warm and welcome place to stay after being out in the freezing temperatures around the Christmas market etc. (although a few glasses of hot wine also helped with that!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    170
    25
    6
    5
See reviews for
64
225
25
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo - Brazil
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel's locations is great! We only had two days in Budapest so that was crucial for us. Is is very close to the chain brigde and the cathedral. There are many good restaurants and bars close by. We also enjoyed Sofitels Casino which was like 3 min walk. The rooms are spacious with a kitchenette, great bed and very good bathroom with heated towel hanger. The staff is very friendly. Our room rate included coffe and croissant and the buffet breakfast is 15 Euro. On the first day we tried the buffet wich was good. On the second day we went to a grocery shop - there is a 24 hours one right in front of the Sofitel Hotel- and bought what we liked and they sent us fresh coffe, orange juice and 2 small croissants each (one simple and the other with chocolate). For us it was better because, besides being much cheaper, we saved som time having breakfast in our room.
We had free WiFi and it worked well. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed here on a one night stop over in May.
After finding the hotel online at a very reasonable rate inclusive of continental breakfast I booked.
The hotel is perfectly located right in the centre of Budapest with all the sighs of the city on your doorstep.
Check-in was efficient and swift and I was in my room within 2 minutes.
The rooms are HUGE with substantial kitchen / lounge areas as well as a big bedroom and bathroom.
If I was being picky then the cleanliness needed to be addressed as there were long hairs in the bath around the taps and also two long hairs on the towel rail that I only noticed when using the toilet. Also the small single mattresses are a little firm .
All in all though a perfect hotel at a very reasonable price with very polite and efficient staff.

Dine in "Spoon" the floating restaurant 50 yards from the hotel.
AMAZING food and service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Our room was like a mini apt, a spacious bedroom ( with a pocket door to close) if nite owls are traveling with you. The other room had a desk, couch, chair, tv cabinet and kitchenette on it's other end, the bathroom had a separate tub, toilet room closed off from the sink and vanity. In all a very nice surprise and value for the money. Everything was very clean, the reception very friendly and helpful, and breakfast was ample and very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

The room was so spacious and well maintained.Very quiet at night.Lovely bathroom.Staffs were very helpful and smiling.Breakfast was so good.Near to Basilica,Chain Bridge and other major tourists attractions.Near to Hop on Hop off too.There is an Indian Restaurant beside it,so no problem about getting hungry in the middle of the night.General impression,very good!

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
552 helpful votes 552 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel is right around the corner from the Four Seasons Gresham Palace, Budapest's landmark hotel. If you want a quiet, clean and convenient location with a comfortable bed for a moderate price, this is your place. If you seek luxury and design, look elsewhere. The hotel is an older building. It's very well maintained but not beautiful from the exterior. My son actually said, "I hope it's NOT that one!" (it WAS that one).

A previous reviewer mentioned the strong smell of cleaning agents. We were attacked by this too upon entrance into our unit. Fortunately, the windows can be opened and after a through ventilation, we could breathe again. We put up the Do Not Disturb sign so that Housekeeping would not enter and re-apply their smelly solvents. I also mentioned this to the Front Desk when we checked out.

Beds are very comfortable, pillows and blankets are of good quality, the Front Desk is very helpful. Too bad wifi is not free.

Tips:
- bus #16 runs nearby on Josef Attila ut and goes up to the Castle District.
- a 24/7 convenience store is on Dorottya ut (near the Sofitel) for basic items as well as fancier ones, including pastries from Szamos.
- an Indian restaurant is attached to the hotel and is apparently very popular.
- just beyond the Sofitel, there's a stop for the Tram that goes along the riverfront (up past the Parliament Building or down to the Great Market Hall)

If this review has helped you, please click on YES (it was helpful).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My best man booked this hotel for my stag do, mainly from the positive reviews on here. In short, it was class. Great location, massive rooms, friendly helpful staff, brilliant bars and clubs minutes walk, I was able to pop back to my room on a night out and then go back to the club in less than 10 mins. Everyone raved about how awesome the hotel and the location was, the small amount of time I did spend in the bed, was comfy!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Starlight Suiten Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlight Suiten Hotel

Address: Merleg utca 6, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Budapest
#29 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#32 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#44 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Starlight Suiten Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Starlight Suites Hotel Merleg Budapest! Experience four star luxury in the centre of Budapest. Our hotel is located in the city centre in close vicinity to the Chain Bridge and Szechenyi Square. Famous sights, such as the St. Stephens Basilica, the Hungarian State Opera, and the House of Parliament are within 5 minutes walking distance of the hotel. The easy to reach public transport system will get you to your destination effortlessly, no matter if you are attending a business meeting or are exploring the famous sights the city has to offer. Our spacious 54 suites and apartments offer 4-star comfort and a complete set of business facilities. Take advantage of the hotel's amenities, relax at the hotel bar after a long day or exercise in the gym, which comes complete with a sauna and steam room. If you are travelling by car, take advantage of our parking and valet services. The front desk is staffed around the clock and our friendly team is always ready to assist you. To make your stay as pleasant as possible we offer full concierge services, such as tickets for the public transport system, restaurant reservations, etc. We will be happy to help our guests anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Starlight Suiten Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlight Suiten Budapest
Hotel Starlight Suiten
Starlight Suiten Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starlight Suiten Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.