We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well pleased” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sissi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sissi to your Saves list
Hotel Sissi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Angyal ut. 33, Budapest H-1094, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Londonderry
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Well pleased”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

It is always a good sign if a hotel has their own website and Hotel Sissi website was quite informative. We stayed here for four nights. It was a little hard to find and perhaps is over half an hours walk into centre of town. Its a nice walk though, admiring all the various six storey buildings, assorted museums and synagogues on the way. The staff were generally friendly but one could misinterpret their ‘off-hand’ manner as rudeness ; we invariably found this a trait of the people in these eastern-bloc countries - poor broken English.
Back to the hotel - we were pleased that free wifi was easily accessible both in the rooms and lobby. A desktop computer is provided in the lobby. You will find the internet useful because of the sixty channels provided on the TV, none are English speaking!
Breakfast was typically continental and I am pleased that a toaster has been introduced to breakfast rooms outside the UK. You may have to eat your cereal with a teaspoon though, again a trait of these countries. There were some issues however, the shower was a bit ropey with as much water dripping from the top of the shower head than from the spray below. A request to change our room to one which had a bath/tub was honoured and our problems were over. We found the rooms were poorly lit but generally the room - and indeed the hotel - were spotless. I wouldn’t be in a rush back to Hungary but if I were to return, I would give this hotel favourable consideration.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiri S, Manager at Hotel Sissi, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Mr. Aravensis,
Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your experience with our Hotel Sissi.
I really sorry for the situation with room expectation and I belive you have finaly satisfied with hotel quality.
Greetings from Budapest
Jiri Tlaskal
OK-Hotels Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    82
    28
    6
    0
See reviews for
21
85
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Hotel Sissi was well recommended by tripadvisor as well as friends, that is why we decided to book here. First, the hotel's location was not perfect but good enough. It was about a 5 minute walk from the Corvin-negyed Metro station and from that Metro, the tourist spot can easily be reached. This station is also on the same line as the nearest metro from the Eurolines bus station. There is a tram station by the main street though I didn't get to discover which route it takes.

We got a twin room, its a small one but enough for a good night's sleep. When we arrived, the weather was kinda warm for October. I was looking for the aircon's remote but was not there and I was informed that it is not operated by October. Bummer. Good thing the next days of our stay was cooler. The bathroom has all the amenities we need but there's a certain smell inside.. kinda like the clothes that didn't dry well. Anyway, there are soaps and a hairdryer inside plus 2 towels. We were able to borrow 2 big towels for our visit to Gellert Spa for free when we booked thru the hotel. Oh, there is no hot water for coffee.

Wifi is free and signal is good :)

Breakfast was great, loved it! Sausages, scrambled eggs, bread, cheeses, butter, cereals. Drinks include apple juice, coffee, tea, orange juice. There was no plain cold water.

Service was good. the receptionist was very helpful and accommodating. Room was made up as soon as we got back from breakfast.

Room rate was approximately 60/night. Overall, VERY GOOD except for some minor bummers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiri S, Manager at Hotel Sissi, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear JazzV,
I am most grateful for your kind comments on TripAdvisor. Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your experience and for indicating you would recommend our Hotel Sissi.
We certainly look forward to welcome you in future again.
Sincerely
Jiri Tlaskal
OK-Hotels Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilsen
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hotel Sissi lies very near the city centre, the meian attractions. It is only a few tens metres to the tourist bus hop on hop off which I can recommend. The staff are very kind, help you solve any problem you have (when we came to the room we had a twin room so we asked for a double room and it was immediately changed). It is a clean hotel. You can park your car at the hotel parking. We spent a great holiday there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opava, Czech Republic
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is situated in the quiet part of Budapest. Hotel was tidy and clean, receptionists very helpful. Our hotel twin room was large enough and equipped with air condition and fridge (no extra charge). Bufet style breakfast was tasteful with wide choice of meal. It takes only about 20 minutes by walking to reach Fashion Street (Váci utca) and Great Market Hall, but you can also use tram or metro lines. We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and were fully satisfied. Hotel parking was full during our stay, but we were lucky to find emtpy space on the hotel street.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasteras, Sweden
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed here for new year's time at 2012. We were succeed with our choice. Hotel is very nice and situated on calm and pretty street in 5 minutes walking to the subway station or to the tram station.
Breakfast is tasty and quite different for a small hotel. And it was a nice cat outside of the breakfast terrace in the hotel yard. He was very thankful for some portions of liver paste :)
Staff is really very nice and helpful. Was a lot recommends from them about cafes, reception helped us to get to place where we had to take tickets for new year's cruise and take tickets for sightseeing bus. And was very funny when after cleaning at the 1st of january we found confetti from new years that maid left for us on the table )

So we really recommend you to stay at this hotel. It's good combination price-quality and good place to stay at Budapest.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I found a nice hotel for the reasonable price inclucief the breakfast. Only in the early morning was a bit noisy

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Excellent location only a few minute walk from the metro. Clean hotel, excellent breakfast wide variety of choice for vegetarians. Good service. Would suggest the 72 hours travel card for roughly £29 you can travel all around.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sissi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sissi

Address: Angyal ut. 33, Budapest H-1094, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sissi 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sissi with its central but still quiet location in the vicinity of the historical, business and shopping area of Budapest. The hotel has a unique architectural design and unexpected first-class services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sissi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sissi Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sissi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.