We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big street with shops” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Andrassy Avenue

Andrassy Avenue
Andrassy ut, Budapest 1061, Hungary (Andrássy út)
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #44 of 255 attractions in Budapest
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Constructed in the late 19th century, this wide, spacious avenue is lined with trees and bordered with magnificent villas and historic buildings.
Lohja
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Big street with shops”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Big streets, shops... Few luxury shops. Nothing really special. Christmas market on the way. Close to Vaci Utca where is another christmas market.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    92
    40
    13
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Linkoping, Sweden
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“just have a walk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Maybe it wasn't perfect weather when i was there, because it was raining, but I did enjoy walking along this avenue, it has its history and you feel it. A lot of nice restaurants and cafeterias are located there. It is really beautiful during Christmas time! You can experience the feel of Budapest

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Nice buildings...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Our apartment was just a couple of streets over from Andrassy avenue so we found ourselves here a few times during our stay. The street has some great buildings, and what seemed like every high-end designer shop around. It was also very pretty at night as we went in December and there were christmas lights on the trees flanking the road. I would suggest checking out the cafe in the Alexandra bookstore (located on Andrassy) as it was relaxing, reasonably priced and easily the most decorative cafe I have ever encountered.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Walkway and Beautiful Trees”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This avenue is exactly as the description says, A wonderful walkway with beautiful villas on both sides. Its a wonderful stretch to stroll and take in the view of the city. The buildings, beautiful people and if you're as lucky as me, you might run into the mobile bike bar! That was the highlight of my stroll. I was with my girlfriend so it was fun just talking and walking. We worked all the way to Heroes Square. Check out my other reviews to see what I say about Heroes Square.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice avenue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

After spending 2h in the Zoo, we took a nice stroll down the Andrassy Avenue.The first part, from Heroes Square, is a calm residential area, with lovely mansions encompassed by gardens from 1800's, most of which are embassies today. As you reach the Oktogon, everything becomes more vivid, actually from here starts the urban-like part mostly for commercial purposes.It took us around 1h and 15min to walk down the whole avenue,coffee break included.It was a pleasant walk and I highly recomend it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andrassy Avenue also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Andrassy Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andrassy Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Andrassy Avenue to your Saves list