We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot water” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rudas Baths

Rudas Baths
Dobrentei ter 9, Budapest 1016, Hungary (Gellert Hill)
361 375 8373
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$29*
and up
Ranked #6 of 51 Spas & Wellness in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This thermal bath, built by the Turks in 1566, retains a strong Islamic style.
Bytom, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hot water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The city has much to recommend it and Rudas baths is one of such things. Sitting in this spa water is very relaxing. I recommend going there while being in Budapest. It has much to offer: massage, sauna and spa water. It is a relaxing time, if there is time enough to use all of the possible tourist attractions. Food and beverages are available. It is the best spa in the city in my opinion.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    317
    84
    26
    25
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
292 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“I wish I had more time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have gone to Budapest a few times over the years and my favorite spa is Rudas. Its authentic turkish style with modern touches. The sulfurous waters sooth and there are like five smaller pools of different temperatures and one main central pool with a very comfortable temperature. The steam room is intense and feels good and has a great scent. Adjacent you have suspended buckets with cold water to cool down and a few cool pool choices.
The place has alternating days of the week for men and women and weekends were co-ed. Lots of age ranges and a good looking crowd of people to make the experience eve better.
Definitely better than the Gellert and less pricey.
Only complaints are that you gotta bring a towel and or rent one I guess. The cleanliness was acceptable but not pristine. Waters are constantly exchanging with clean water from the thermal spring though. Last, there were hungarians there, not just tourists.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Heaven after a lot of walking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Clean, compact and nice way to unwind.

Once you get use to the wrist band set up you'll be flying.

Scan the band to find your cabin number.

The cabins are very secure

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxation after cold day of sightseeing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Really hot waters (up to 42 Celsius), two saunas and a small place to swim in the middle. All in all it's quite a compact place, but for relaxing in a pool and swimming around a bit, it totally suits the purpose.
The prices are also cheaper than in the main baths Gellert and Széchenyi, and the cafe in the entrance hall is serving reasonably priced sandwiches and snacks. The entrance for one person to the baths was 3300 forinths, so about 11€.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Traditional Turkish Bath Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I visited Ruda Baths on my trip to Budapest. This is a must experience as there are not that many places in the world you can enjoy natural medicinal hot springs.

Ruda is located on the Buda side of the city, cross the Danube River, many buses that go from Pest side here. Wed, Thursday and Friday are men only, discount with Budapest Card.

Upon arrival, you purchase your ticket and you will be given a wristband type of electronic lock. You go scan your lock under a machine to find out your locker number. You need the wristband to open and lock the locker after changing.

On men only days, you will be given a small apron like clothing to wear (it covers the private area) but some locals go nude inside the bath. This is acceptable and I did not see anyone wear bathing suit (on a Wednesday night).

Inside the bath, there are dry sauna, steam room; one main pool and 3 other smaller pools with different temperatures. My favorite is the 42C one, it feels great to sweat! There are two drinking fountains inside, and you can consume the medicinal hot spring water (although it tastes kind of funny). Interior of the bath preserves the traditional Turkish bath look and feel, and it is certainly retain the historic beauty.

The lighting is faint and a bit dark, but its pretty relaxing. The place gets crowded after 5PM and it is also pretty noisy (as chatters filled the air, mostly in Hungarian of course). The steam room is so hot and wet, and I can barely see the room, and it is packed all the time.

After you are done with soaking up the hot springs, you can dip into the icy cold pool to cool off then take a shower. I also love the quiet rest areas with chaise lounger chairs. Many people nap after the bath. It is the best.

I highly recommend this place and especially on the day of your arrival as it will wash away all the fatigue of the travel.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudas Baths also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Rudas Baths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rudas Baths, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.