We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be so much more” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gellert Spa

Gellert Spa
Kelenhegyi ut 4, Budapest 1118, Hungary
1 466 61 66
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$22*
and up
Private Entrance to Gellert Spa in Budapest with...
Ranked #12 of 51 Spas & Wellness in Budapest
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located in the Gellert Hotel, these grand, early 20th-century thermal baths are surrounded by mosaic-covered terraces and marble balconies.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
Evanston, Illinois
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could be so much more”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The architecture is beautiful, it was great, and gve the whole experience an aura of old time glory. The baths were quite nice, and lots of people from all over. That said the whole thing was very poorly managed. I'm a pretty good traveler, I speak several languages to various degrees, and I couldn't figure out how the lockers worked. Also, you had to rent towels, and leave a deposit, and the desk where they gave out towels was understaffed by people with no clue clue on customer service. If they had charged me two more euro and we could grab our own towels, that would have been much better. These are fixable problems, it's about management!

Go if you have a lot of time. Our time was limited, and that made each little frustration that much worse.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    521
    716
    486
    253
    225
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“beautiful architecture, lovely pools, a must-visit of Budapest.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Best tip for the Baths - get your ticket at your hostel or hotel if you can. We did before we visited and so avoided any kind of queueing to get in. That said, when I visited last week there was no queue and we walked right in. The changing rooms are separated female/male - other reviews have mentioned that it's not separated in the pool area, as far as i'm aware the baths have male or female only days. If mixed-bathing is an issue for you you may need to enquire as to what the single-sex days are. There are cubicles available if you are also concerned about changing in public. The outside wave pool was lovely and a lot of fun. The thermal baths were amazing (one outside up the steps from the wave pool and one inside), however a swim cap is mandatory for the inside swimming pool - and this is policed rigorously. They will ask you to get out if you don't have a swim cap (though you're fine in the outside pool without one)! you can buy a swimcap there for 700ft. I would regard this as a definite for any visitors to Budapest. It was absolutely beautiful and a unique experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful inside but not that good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Went there in the middle of July. Got there before 17:00 (it closes at 20:00 if you get in before 17:00). And inside it is a maze, there are not many people to help you out and when they do they just they you the directions and eventually you get lost in the maze. The Steam bath is too hot and it took me like 30 minutes to find. Also people should be aware that the Steam Bath is separate (for male and female) so if you want to go inside you have to go alone.
Although the fact of the Spa was one of the first in Budapest and they had managed to keep all the old look is a little charming, I would rather go to one of the new Spa that they have nearby the Heroes Square.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pretty, but a little too busy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The place is quite over run and busy. However, the building itself is stunning. The architecture alone is worth the admission. It's very much a once in a life time experience and not something I would be frequenting on a more regular basis.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best spa in Budapest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Gellert spa is the most expensive of the big spas in Bp. but worth the money. We have also visited the Szechenyi spa and Pallatinos on the Margit Sziget and while these are very nice the Gellert spa is a little bit more luxurious. The spa garden has a lot of trees that creates shadow in the very hot Hungarian summer. Friendly service and beautiful pools.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gellert Spa also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Gellert Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gellert Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.