We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so spa - kling” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gellert Spa

Gellert Spa
Kelenhegyi ut 4, Budapest 1118, Hungary
1 466 61 66
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Gellert Spa like an insider
Top Rated
$23*
and up
Private Entrance to Gellert Spa in Budapest with...
Ranked #15 of 48 Spas & Wellness in Budapest
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located in the Gellert Hotel, these grand, early 20th-century thermal baths are surrounded by mosaic-covered terraces and marble balconies.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Not so spa - kling”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I know it was off-season, but we found the spa not very user-friendly, and most of it was shut - no opportunity to use the outside heated pools if we had wanted to.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,924 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    611
    441
    240
    213
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unenjoyable experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

What a disappointment!!!! The whole experience was one that I would not wish to repeat and probably the only downside to our visit to Budapest. My friend and I found the staff extremely rude and unhelpful and we had no idea where to go to change and ended up in a sort of corridor with lockers and were then shouted at by a Hungarian man that we were in the Mens area!! Finally found the Womens area and had no clue how to lock the lockers or where to get towels. We had to ask English girls who were getting dressed to leave. We, in turn, were asked by several girls what to do when we were changing to leave!! The towels were not worth having, small, grubby looking and by the time you had dried yourself they were wringing wet and of no use. It then took another twenty minutes to try and retrieve our deposit on these from an extremely unpleasant Hungarian woman!! She then took our entrance watches so when we tried to exit the baths after a long walk down several depressing corridors, we were unable to get out. In desperation we ducked under the turnstile and "escaped".

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Avoid at all cost”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Horrible experience overall. I was taken to a room that resembled a Victorian torture chamber!. My massuse was a middle aged man who stunk to high heaven of cigarettes and didn't have a clue about massage.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Toscana, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great way to experience the thermal bath culture!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I visited the Gellert Baths with a group of about 20 university students, and all of us had a great time experiencing a bit of Hungarian culture. Obviously, Gellert probably caters more towards the tourists but we all had a fun time hanging out in the various pools. There was a pretty even mix of tourists and locals throughout the building and some pretty amusing old people.

Important info:
*In the co-ed main pools, you DO need a shower cap/swimming cap or they won't let you in the pool. You can buy them inside the main entrance hall for around 500-600 HUF (about €2-3)
*BRING FLIP FLOPS & a TOWEL as you will definitely want them inside the locker rooms. Also available to purchase inside for relatively cheap.
*If you go after 5 pm, the prices are discounted. Weekday and weekend prices differ--we went in on Friday night after 5 pm and it cost 3000 HUF (around €10). Totally worth it!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This was our first visit and will certainly be our last. The building itself is beautiful, and they can trade on that, but the experience was disappointing in almost every other respect. The entrance fee is steep (about £11). For this you get an electronic bracelet, which allows you to go in (and in theory at least to operate a locker), after which there is almost nothing in the way of help or direction for first-time users. The staff speak little or no English, but more importantly, don't seem to understand the concept of customer service. There are very few printed signs or notices. My daughter and I needed help at several points and had to obtain it from fellow users. We were not told in advance that we needed shower caps to enter the main pool. Instead, as my daughter lowered herself down the ladder into the deep end, a whistle sounded, a member of staff approached and and she was told to get out. When we then went to the place where the necessary caps were issued we were told that they cost 100 forints each, but of course we had no money on us. And so we trekked back to the lockers, only to find that my locker wouldn't open ... and so it went on. The floors were dirty in several places, especially in the loos, and we hadn't realised that we needed flip-flops, or the slipper-type things that you could hire. The pools themselves were quite nice, but overall this was a miserable experience. My daughter put on the shower cap but never returned to the main pool.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gellert Spa also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Gellert Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gellert Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.