We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Budapest WestEnd” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Budapest City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Budapest City to your Saves list
Hilton Budapest City
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vaci Ut 1-3, Budapest 1062, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 20%
Ranked #52 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Hilton Budapest WestEnd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Overall a good experience. We had a large room with a huge WC that had both a narrow tub and a shower. Room was dark and quiet at night, the bed had a good mattress (supportive but pretty soft - perfect for me), a large chair and a flat screen TV. Had an ironing board and iron in the room and an ice machine down the hall - both seem rare in Europe. The hotel provided an excellent buffet breakfast, had informed and friendly staff and was located next door to a large mall if you needed something (including an ATM) and it was just few steps to the subway.

Not so great was the distance to the old town if you just like to walk. Housekeeping was disappointing (e.g. dirty plates sitting all day in the hall) and indifferent service in the rooms. One day, no towels were left, the next no soap and glasses. There's a teeny fridge with very limited space for personal items (ask to have the contents cleared if you want to cool your own stuff as when you remove an item their computer automatically adds its cost to your room bill.) No free wifi in the rooms (which is just chintzy) and the elevators are unbelievably slow in the mornings.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainerG, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on this website.

I was delighted to read that overall you had a nice visit in our hotel. Thank you for your nice words regarding the room and the service what we provide to our guests.

In view of your experience about the service of or Housekeeping Team please accept my apology. Your comments will help us to further improve our services in the future.

I would be delighted if you choose our hotel again when traveling to Budapest.

Kind regards,
Rainer Gieringer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    459
    106
    16
    15
See reviews for
112
419
77
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I was a bit disappointed with this Hilton. The furniture was a bit old and the towels where not soft but very rough. The breakfast was affordable and outstanding. The dining staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. Internet was very expensive and slow

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainerG, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to write a response after your recent visit.

I was delighted to read that you found all our team members to be very friendly and helpful

We are undergoing constant change to improve the guest experience and I hope to welcome

you back in the future to experience this for yourself.

Kind regards,

Rainer Gieringer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Elegant, modern hotel with superb staff who organized tours, shows, taxis to and from and provided excellent service in the executive lounge with daily breakfast and appetizers/drinks. Even packed us a breakfast/lunch to go on our early departure. The hotel has a great work out room with sauna and is centrally located to sights and has amazing views of the Buda hills in the executive lounge.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainerG, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a response after your recent visit to Hilton Budapest City.

We were glad to see that you were satisfied with the service and facilities you experienced during your stay. Thank you for your nice comments regarding our Executive floor.

Should your travel bring you back to Budapest in the future, my team and I would be delighted if you choose our hotel again to be your "home away from home".

Looking forward to welcoming you back, I remain.,

Sincerely Yours,

Rainer Gieringer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I visited Budapest with my friend and we've had a lovely stay at Hilton Budapest City! Great location, very attentive concierge boy, efficient check in and out, helpful breakfast team. THANK YOU ALL @Hilton Budapest City

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainerG, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Dear Traveller,

I am pleased to read that you had a really nice stay, it is such a pleasure to receive such a positive feedback. Thank you for your comments on our team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again.

Kind Regards,

Rainer Gieringer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed at many hilton around the globe but this was not up to the mark sorry for this review , but the srevice is below standard , also the staff lacks motivation , room service is very poor we had to call 3 times to change our bedsheets . Breakfast area is bit messy and restaurant needs some renovation to make it a real hilton standard , sorry to have such a review but trust me its for your good

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainerG, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

First and foremost thank you for staying at Hilton Budapest City and also posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

I regret to read that you were not satisfied with the service and facilities you experienced during your stay.

I took all your comments as constructive feedback. "Hands on" feedback like yours helps us to fix problems and to train the people involved.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for all the inconvenience we might have caused you.

I truly hope we will have a second chance in the future to regain your confidence.

Looking forward to your response,

Best Reagrds,
Rainer Gieringer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My husband fell ill during our stay in Budapest. The hotel was kind enough to send someone from their staff with us to the doctor to serve as an interpreter at no charge. He also took us to the supermarket to help us pick out foods that would help with my husband's stomach problem. Later the reception desk called to see how my husband was doing and reminded us that room service can make any meal to his liking.
I wish to thank the staff for making a stressful situation much easier for us to handle.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainerG, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a response after your recent stay.

I am pleased to read about your experience in our hotel.Thank you for your nice comment about the quality and the service what we provide for our guests, it is such a pleasure to receive that positive feedback.

I do hope that your husband recovered fully from his illness.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rainer Gieringer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel is located in the heart of the Pest part of the city. Good access to public transportation. Excellent service and well equipped fitness area. Altogether, you get a good value for your money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainerG, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments on this website.

I cannot thank you enough for your nice comments regarding our service and staff.
I am pleased to read that you had a nice stay, we at the Hilton Budapest City take pleasure in creating moments of magic for our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Budapest City!

Kind regards,
Rainer Gieringer
Geneal Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest - Castle District
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#41 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#24 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 2,178 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest City

Address: Vaci Ut 1-3, Budapest 1062, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Budapest
#39 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#40 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#55 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest City 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel located within the West End city center complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Budapest City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest Westend Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Budapest City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.