We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good, some bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Budapest City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Budapest City to your Saves list
Hilton Budapest City
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vaci Ut 1-3, Budapest 1062, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #48 of 330 Hotels in Budapest
seattle
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Some good, some bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Spent two nights each at the Budapest Castle and Westend. I would say that both are of a mediocre quality as an European Hilton with the exception of the location of the first. (See report at the Hilton Budapest review)

Check-in: Use the executive lounge is you so qualify. The Westend I was greeted warmly and given information about the hotel and local activities.

Room: Given a nice Jr Suite that was, unfortunately, directly below the exercise facility (which is open 24 hours a day) that resulted in constant treadmill pounding and thuds from the heavy balls. Change room to a larger suite on the second floor with a less than spectacular view of the emergency escape stairs. Staff agreed that many complaints arise of these room locations.

Executive Lounge: Standard Hilton Executive lounge offering. Nothing really above average for food and beverage. Staff was helpful.

Location: Attached to the Westend shopping center. Good access to transportation.

Diamond treatment: I give poor marks for prior to arrival room assignment. The Westend made no attempt to acknowledge the poor room location. Welcome gift: Small plate of sweet/savory with complimentary water.

Overall: 6/10 based upon European Hilton standards.

Room Tip: Not on the floor under the gym
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking your time to write us a review on Tripadvisor, your comments are highly appreciated. I was glad to hear that you liked the welcoming atmosphere and personalized treatment in our Executive Lounge.

As a Diamond member you have been enjoying the pleasure to be upgraded to our best Suites, I am truly sorry to hear that you have been not fully satisfied with the rooms and been disturbed by a noise, let me apologize for the inconvenience it might have caused you.

Otherwise I hope you are enjoying your stay and the services in the hotel. In case there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable, please let me know in advance.

Kind regards,

Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    381
    97
    11
    12
See reviews for
89
350
69
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

A friend told us not to stay on the Buda side of Budapest - boy was she right! The Hilton
Westend is connected to a very 'Western' shopping mall. But Budapest has lovely shops that are so characterful - we visited the "Castle Hilton" (thinking we may have a coffee) but it was way out of proportion for the surroundings.
This Hilton was in a good location - service was outstanding, staff friendly - good value for money!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write on Tripadvisor, I am glad that you were impressed by the good location, and enjoyed the shopping around the city. Thank you for your kind note on my team, and the excellent service experienced.

We look forward to welcome you again once you return to Budapest!

Kind regards,

Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great hotel with friendly helpful service. Good location with quick access to he metro. Would stay here again if returning to Budapest. The breakfast was included and was a pretty extensive and quality selection of hot and cold buffet. The room was nice and clean with very comfortable superking size bed. The hotel also is part of the west end shopping centre, which canbe accessed via the reception area. Would recomend this hotel to anyone visiting Budapest.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recommendations, I was thrilled to read that you had such a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for emphasizing our extensive quality breakfast, comfortable rooms and good location.

We are looking forward to welcome again at the Hilton Budapest WestEnd!

Kind regards,

Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Whether travelling on business (as I was) or for leisure, this hotel meets all expectations. The hotel is conveniently located to use the Budapest metro system, with a stop just outside the door of the hotel. It is also connected to a very large shopping/dining mall, which if the weather is not so kind is very handy to grab something to eat and drink. The hotel reception staff are very friendly and helpful. They know what they are doing. The rooms are of a good standard and of a really good size. A nice touch on arrival was the free bottle of wine, water and desert (I think due to HH status?). The rooms were always cleaned very well and the general upkeep of the hotel should be applauded. Breakfast was also very good with a lot of choice ( including sparkling wine if you wanted it). The service at breakfast was also very good. The in room wi-fi was very good (included in my package, but quite expensive if paying for it daily). The room service food I had was good, not excellent but good. However, all in all, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would stay there again for either business or leisure.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am thrilled to read that your stay was spotless, and appreciated much our great location, and the professionalism of my team as well as the good quality breakfast. I am also glad that you were satisfied with the in room wifi connection, we kindly inform you that we offer free wireless access 24 hours a day also in our Lobby, Zita Café and Kando Bar.
Thank you again for your recommendations, we hope to see you again in the future!
Sincerely yours,

Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed in two consecutive Hiltons in Vienna and this one in the Pest side of Budapest. It's location is good, next to the West End shopping centre and train station and on the metro and tram lines. It is newish, and the rooms a good size and clean. Some minor issues were the tired towels and the infuriating lack of free WiFi. Surely a 5 star hotel that caters to business, and receives lots of tourists should provide this service.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us after your Vienna trip in Budapest, I am glad that you liked our location and found our rooms comfortable and clean. Free Wifi is available in our entire Lobby, Zita Café and Kando Bar 24 hours for our guests, I am sorry if you have not been informed while staying with us. Thank you for your comments on the towels, I will follow up in this respect with our Housekeeping Department.
All in all I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay, and look forward to welcome you again at our hotel.

Kind regards,

Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hotel is in a good location and has a shopping mall with more than 300 shops and restaurants attached to it. The staff are friendly. The breakfast is good. If you stay for a coneference like I did the lunch buffet was pretty much the same every day. Rooms comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time write about your impressions of your recent stay at Hilton Budapest WestEnd. I am glad to hear that you were satisfied and could enjoy the benefits of the shopping mall next door. Thank you for your valuable comments on the lunch buffet, I will make sure to reinforce the qualiity of our services in this respect.

We hope to welcome you again at our hotel on a private trip next time, perhaps.

Kind regards,

Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

After a 6 hour Eurolines bus ride from Krakow, Poland, I arrived into Népliget coach station in Budapest at night and took the subway from the Népliget metro station directly to Nyugati metro station to reach the Hilton hotel. The West End Mall is connected to both the subway station and the Hilton hotel, so I did not have to walk outside when I did exit the station. I did not even bother to eat at the hotel since there were numerous restaurants in the mall to choose from.

The room was nice and spacious, clean, comfortable bed, a variety of English channels to choose from, and free wifi in the lobby only. It's very easy to get to the main attractions by subway. Plus, I received a great hotel rate, so I was very pleased with my stay at the Hilton.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am pleased to read your compliments about your recent stay at the Hilton Budapest WestEnd. Thank you for pointing out our good location with direct metro connection, and comfortable rooms, which you could enjoy after such a long ride from Krakow. I am glad that you liked our TV channel selection and could make use of the free Wifi in the Lobby, which we also provide 24 hours in our Zita Café and Kando Bar.

I am looking forward to have the chance to welcome you soon again!

Kind regards,

Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Budapest City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest City

Address: Vaci Ut 1-3, Budapest 1062, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Budapest
#35 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#41 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#44 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest City 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel located within the West End city center complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Budapest City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest Westend Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Budapest City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.