We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Szechenyi Baths and Pool

Szechenyi Baths and Pool
Allatkerti korut 9-11, Budapest 1146, Hungary
1 3633210
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Szechenyi Baths and Pool like an insider
Top Rated
$39*
and up
Private Walking Tour: Budapest City Highlights
Ranked #3 of 48 Spas & Wellness in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The palace-like edifice contains a huge thermal pool where people often play chess while immersed in chest-high, and very hot, water.
Dublin
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Myself and family queued for 2 hours to get into the baths on New Year's Eve. The reason being that not only was it extra extra busy but people who had booked online were able to skip the queue and get in ahead of those queuing. We hadn't researched that you could book online (I had looked at szechenyibath.com and not szechenyispabaths.com) and mightn't have been able to print off anyway. There was nearly a riot as tempers flared amongst the many queuing. No one was supervising the queue: say 10 people came out, 8 people we're let walk straight up to the top of the queue and get in while 2 from the queue were let in. We barely advanced at all in the 2 hours. People were getting very anxious.

However, once we got in and mastered the second queue at the cash desk - half an hour more - we really enjoyed defrosting in the baths. The lazy river was great fun. Staff were very pleasant despite being under pressure. It was a surprise to see people were drinking champagne from glass bottles at the pool-side. It is important to know that towel and swimming costume rental can only be done in florines - cash which includes a refundable deposit. You do this downstairs-a third queue. The system of renting out cabins runs smoothly using technology to find your assigned cabin. You swipe your wrist band.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,675 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,839
    1,890
    543
    207
    196
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wishing I had read the 'towel' review....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Yes this really is as stated in below reviews a 'must do' in the bitter cold of Winter. It is confusing on entry but persevere and you'll get there. Very glad we had pre booked tickets and a cabin as it was full when we arrived and very large queues outside in the cold. Once inside the experience of being immersed in bubbling warm water outside in these lovely old baths is a magical experience. However, as we had travelled light we did not bring towels. Oh what a mistake! We queued for over 40 minutes to rent a towel and then realised because of the deposit it would be slightly risky to take said towel outside into the cold. Ooops! So it was a rather quick entry and exit into the pools. The tiles inside are very very slippy when wet even in flip flops so best not to try going too quickly to exit the cold. Ooops again! So if going in Winter take a big towel, robe if you want extra comfort and then simply enjoy!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, Essex
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We visited the baths in December and was in the hot pool outside in minus 2 degrees it was lovely and it is reasonably priced would def visit again.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Interesting experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

You should always experience the unique cultural opportunities when you visit another country. This is one of those opportunities in Budapest. There are numerous baths of different temperatures both inside and outside. The spa offers some interesting treatments such as a fish pedicure. Be sure to bring your own towel and foot wear.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Try it in December”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We went to this bath in 25th of December so the opening hour was limited to 2 pm. It was the first time that we have tried an outdoor bath in a cold weather and it was a unique and must do experience. The weather was about 1 degree and it was very pleasant to rest in a warm water of 38 degree. We got a locker to put out stuff and I think is better than getting a cabin for a higher price just to change your cloths. The bath is well connected with public transport, a metro station is in front of the bath. We got out tickets from the reception of our hotel for the same price so we didn't need to stay in a queue for purchasing tickets. It is always good to have your towel and sleepers.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szechenyi Baths and Pool also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Szechenyi Baths and Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Szechenyi Baths and Pool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.