We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thermal Baths” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Szechenyi Baths and Pool

Szechenyi Baths and Pool
Allatkerti korut 9-11, Budapest 1146, Hungary
+36 1 363 3210
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$38*
and up
Private Walking Tour: Budapest City Highlights
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The palace-like edifice contains a huge thermal pool where people often play chess while immersed in chest-high, and very hot, water.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities
Humboldt, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Thermal Baths”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Excellent experience going to these baths. It was relaxing and refreshing even on a warm day. It was crowded, but still very much worth seeing. Metro takes you right to the building. Very convenient. A must when in Budapest.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,141
    2,162
    658
    248
    219
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
WHITE PLAINS
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a fun place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We visited the Szechenyi Baths during June 2013. Our hotel concierge made reservations for us. Our tickets included the entrance fee, individual changing cabins for me and my husband and a couples massage. Upon entering the building, there is a small tourist desk with English speaking hostesses who can explain the procedures and who take you into the building and explain everything. We were provided with plastic security badges which provide electronic access to the changing cabins and lock the cabins automatically when you leave. We had a fabulous time in the Fun Pool competing with the locals for spots over the water spouts, under the water falls and swirling around in the whirlpool. After about an hour of lounging in the common area, we ventured into the building which contains the various thermal pools with different mineral contents and temperatures. We tried every pool, including the high temperature medicinal pools. Our visit coincided with a celebration of 100 years for the baths and there were entertainment booths with young attractive people giving dance lessons to Hungarians of all shapes and sizes, Abba impersonators (?), mini golf and other entertainment. After several hours, we arrived at the meeting place for our couples massage. A charming English speaking hostess led us through buildings and pools and up the stairs to a private waiting area. After a few minutes, our massage therapists arrived, set up the room and motioned for us to enter. Unlike the American massage experience, which is designed to respect the modesty of the consumer, we were ordered to "Strip" in the presence of the therapists and walk the walk of shame to the massage table. Our massages were thorough and vigorous, with strange R and B and disco music playing on a disc player. It was a wild, weird and fun experience which ended with a brisk "Finish" from the therapist. We were so glad that we went to the baths and spent our day rubbing shoulders with the locals. No need to feel self-conscious. If a three hundred pound Hungarian can wear a speedo, you can be sure that no one is judging you. Have fun.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Szechenyi Baths”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Reminded me of a school trip to the baths - big old and a bit shabby but nice change from sightseeing.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Thermal baths”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

What a way to spend a day! Over 30 different bathing styles -- hot tubs, hot pools, cold pools, saunas, and our favorite, the large swimming pools with a circular "water park" swirl! You can rent a chair for the day for a nominal fee. Lockers are provided with your entrance fee. Ingenious lock contained in plastic bracelet you wear to keep your items safe. These baths appear to be as popular with the locals as with tourists. We stayed for the entire day, and really enjoyed ourselves.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinth, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not as expected!! Do not get the massage!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Well, going in if u aren't with someone who can show u the ropes is confusing. There are numerous massage vendors which we did know so we chose the first one in the door. My cousin wanted a facial but told it was not available only to find out that other vendors did offer that. DO NOT EXPECT AN AMERICAN SPA EXPERIENCE. It's far from it. The setting is old and somehow felt unsanitary. The tiles in the pool are slimey. It is crowded. And the massage experience was really BAD. My cousin and I went in to get a massage together. There was a man and a girl masseauer and once inside the room we went to, after a series of halls and stairs. The man looked at me and said "switch". Which led me to believe he wanted the better looking of the two of us. Then, we were in wet swim suits and they told us to lie on a very HARD, SLICK table with only a sheet. I refused to lie down with my wet suit and asked for a sheet. After they looked at each other they finally complied. The young girl had no clue how to give a massage. All she did was rub. The table was so hard on your face when face down it left marks on my face. Take your own towel, shampoo, etc. NOTHING is offered. I would not go back to this one. Maybe a better one somewhere in Budapest. Leaves a lot to be desired.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szechenyi Baths and Pool also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Szechenyi Baths and Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Szechenyi Baths and Pool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.