We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing bright and peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Szechenyi Baths and Pool

Szechenyi Baths and Pool
Allatkerti korut 9-11, Budapest 1146, Hungary
1 3633210
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$72*
and up
Private Walking Tour: Budapest City Highlights
Ranked #58 of 288 Activities in Budapest
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The palace-like edifice contains a huge thermal pool where people often play chess while immersed in chest-high, and very hot, water.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Relaxing bright and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Lovely place! It was a little scary at first, but there was only that after the baths I came home and slept for three hours, unable to move my arm or leg... Couse it's so relaxing. Most awesome is swimming in the open baths right under the sky and sun. It is better to go early in the morning, before 11 p.m. (this is a little secret), because after there's a lot of people. It's also advantage that you can visit at the same area The Fine Arts Museum, Kunsthalle, Castle and Parc.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,886 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,509
    1,625
    440
    168
    144
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Relaxing way to settle into to the local color”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Since it's open till 9:45pm, you can spend the day at the other museums and attractions in the immediate area and the soak away your traveling aches and pains in your choice of many many bath styles and sizes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

It was our first full day here and it was 29'c so we thought what better way to spend it than at the baths? It is beautiful, affordable and relaxing. We got there about half ten in the morning and it was pretty quiet (Monday in April), when we left about half two it was getting busy. I advise taking your own towel and we bought a swimming cap (approx £3 but its a proper one with the bath's log on so it makes a nice souvenir) as you need one to go in the big central lap pool.

Had no problem getting the metro in from Vaci Utca to the baths - was painless, so long as you validate your ticket as we did get a ticket inspector on ours. Love the noises the trains make when you alight.

Again, excellent way to spend a lazy morning/early afternoon. We booked our ticket at our hotel and was really easy, just make sure you hand your voucher in once you get to the baths to get you locker or cabin key. Your belongings are also safe in the cabins as they Bly open to your electronic key. Snacks/food are basic but do the job. Also, showers don't have any doors or curtains on them but they are really nice and easy to get the temperature right.

Still here in budapest for a few more days and hope to go back!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely but different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We spend a Sundaymorning here, it was quite relaxing, despite lots of people. There's room enough for everyone.
If you are European and a frequent sauna-user, you might get annoyed by the lack of hygiene in the saunas: no one sits on a towel, only a few take a shower before going into a sauna.

But on the other hand: the outside pools are great, an amazing experience to swim here. There are 2 hot water pools, the middle big pool is cold, so if you really want to SWIM, go here, don't forget a swim-cap ;-)

Bring your flip-flops!!

Too bad that the whole complex is not so well maintained, it could be a lot more beautiful if they used a bit of paint or repaired what is broken.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The best thing to do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Szechenyi baths are amazing!!!!
One olympic swimming pool and 34º/38º outside, spa and sauna inside! We stayed an entire afternoon and enjoyed it!
You have a secured personal locker and you can rent a towel if you need it.
I truly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Szechenyi Baths and Pool also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Szechenyi Baths and Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Szechenyi Baths and Pool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.