We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the To Do List for Budapest!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Szechenyi Baths and Pool

Szechenyi Baths and Pool
Allatkerti korut 9-11, Budapest 1146, Hungary
1 3633210
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$72*
and up
Private Walking Tour: Budapest City Highlights
Ranked #59 of 288 Activities in Budapest
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The palace-like edifice contains a huge thermal pool where people often play chess while immersed in chest-high, and very hot, water.
South Wales, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Top of the To Do List for Budapest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were really keen to visit one of the baths and thought the buildings at this one were stunning so decided to go here. It's not the cheapest (although by no means expensive!) but was worth every penny. We were welcomed by a friendly guide who helped us to understand the "menu" and advised us that we only needed one changing booth even though there were 3 of us and a pushchair. We didn't feel remotely like we were being encouraged to up-grade to extra, unnecessary purchases.

The baths were really great and we spent a few very relaxing hours there, mostly outside but also at a couple of the baths inside (this wasn't so easy with our 10 month old daughter).

The only tricky we found was with the towels. You had to pay a very hefty deposit for a real towel, and about one third for a "sheet" which is exactly what it sounds like....a sheet! Fine for the summer I guess, but we were there in minus temperatures, and once it was wet, it just got cold and frozen! I'd recommend taking plenty of cash to upgrade to a towel (you have to go downstairs to collect the towels, seemingly once you are ready to hit the pools, so you might be reluctant to carry so much with you, which was our issue...but you can just pop back to your locker/booth and lock away any extra you don't need).

Highly recommend this place - all three of us had a great time, if somewhat surreal sitting in steaming pools with minus degrees as soon as you stepped out!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,895 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,513
    1,628
    441
    169
    144
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Szechenyi Spa and swimming pools”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

One of the largest spa complexes in Europe dating from 1913. The waters of the spa are sourced from a depth of 1200 metres. The various pools in the spa complex range from 20 degrees C to 42 degrees C. The outside pool which we shared with many other users was a comfortable 38 degrees C. Changing rooms were clean and tidy. Entrance fee is not overly expensive especially for the outdoor experience!! The location of the spa is in a park close to Heroes Square (Stop No6 on the Hop on/Hop off bus).

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Wanted to visit some baths in budapest and this was a great choice, cost about £25 for 2 people but worth it. Really nice place to relax and something a bit different that you can't do everywhere. Read on here that they are dirty but I would disagree, they are fairly worn but what would u expect as they are 125 years old! You can rent towels for £1 but make sure you get a towel and not a sheet as that's the mistake we made. Worth exploring the whole place as there are loads of different pools all at different temperatures.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, Kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What a joy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The buildings were fantastic, but the pools and baths were amazing. Could have spent all day in them. Fantastic and mustn't be missed.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a few hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

These baths were great, there are around 15 pools or so of varying temperatures including an outside one which is heated so even tho we visited in March you could still relax in the jacuzzi bubbles. There were a number of saunas at different heats and a fantastic steam room, even my most reluctant husband said he was glad he went. It costs about £15 each for a cabin (secure changing room) but you can stay in there all day if you wish so it's worth it. Take flipflops or similar and a towel altho you can hire towels (I'm not sure of the cost). The staff will pounce on you when you first go in for massages etc but if you just tell them you'll think about it and get back to them they'll leave you alone. Can't recommend it enough.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szechenyi Baths and Pool also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Szechenyi Baths and Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Szechenyi Baths and Pool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.