We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the experience...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Szechenyi Baths and Pool

Szechenyi Baths and Pool
Allatkerti korut 9-11, Budapest 1146, Hungary
+36 1 363 3210
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$38*
and up
Private Walking Tour: Budapest City Highlights
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The palace-like edifice contains a huge thermal pool where people often play chess while immersed in chest-high, and very hot, water.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Stroller parking
NYC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good for the experience...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

It's a good life time experience, however I must admit that the facility is not very clean and modern. For those who have tried Japanese hotsprings or "onsen" in Japan, don't expect these baths to be similar. These baths are more like swimming pools, and many of the indoor pools have water which is not so clean. Bathrooms and shower facilities are old and dated. So again, just for the experience you should try it, but not a very enjoyable and satisfying experience in my opinion. I think the pool in my hotel and the bathtub in the hotel is better..

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,121
    2,148
    653
    246
    218
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It worth going for the building!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

The building was very good but pretty old and not well kept!it has a lot of local citizen and this means that is one of the best in the city!the pools were quite clean but you need only at the cold pool a swimmers hat!i enjoy the place and the staff even they don't speak english very well they are friendly!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soest, Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Historical health and spa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Old fashioned but charming,.. Mostly locals. Be careful with massages because they can be very rough! Staff surly and not very helpful, signs in Hungarian only makes it difficult to find your way.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ottoman influence meets central european culture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Didn't get to swim or play chess - time was against us - somewhat pricey for once off cleaning. A unique selling point for the city, interesting place.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Architecture and water - excellent. Staff - relict of comunism.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

As in title. Somebody has stolen our 2 towels. (Take care !!!) We have reported it to one of staffers. His reaction? Lazy, rough, unpleasant... Stupid, lazy guy asked us to go with him to cloak room to check if solen towels were their or our property, only. No sign of help or empathy... My wife and me were shaking wet during all this stupid procedure. Shame on them - relict of comunism there ! More: they took money from us for 2 cabins and offered only one available.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szechenyi Baths and Pool also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Szechenyi Baths and Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Szechenyi Baths and Pool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.