We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“out in the hill's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Children's Railway

Children's Railway
MAV Zrt. Szechenyi-hegyi Gyermekvasut, Budapest, Hungary (Várkerület)
+36 1 397 5394
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$19*
and up
Ranked #44 of 163 Tours & Activities in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Adults drive the engines and children control the traffic and commercial services on this narrow gauge railroad, which travels 11 kilometers through the woods and hills on the Buda side of the city.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“out in the hill's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

If you want a day out of the city, take this train. A mix of younger and older children are running this train under supervision of adults. We liked it very much. Not expensive also (700 ft one way for one adult - 1200 ft return).

We liked it very much

Go to Szell Kalman ter by metro.
Take tram 61 in the direction of Varosmajor and get off there.
There you take the cog-railway to Szechenyihedg (the endstop).
There you will find the Children's train. It runs once each hour.

You can take the train to the end (and take the bus or tram back) or get of at one of the stops. Wath it: with an ordinary ticket you can't hop of an on the train.

We get out of the train at Janoshedg. After a steep walk up, you will see the chairlift down. Don't get in yet! Left of the chairlift you can take the road further upwards. Further up, you will find a view point from which you can see Budapest and surroundings.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    47
    7
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A delight for both young and old”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I am not sure who enjoyed it more, my 14 month old son, to see a real-life train -bigger than his Thomas at home - or his spirited father, who enjoyed its nostalgia and the serene nature the train took us through.
The children who "ran" the railway, were more like young adults, who perhaps to be taken more seriously, would not crack a smile. But still, it was so great to see them in action.
A lovely outing, that requires some comfy walking shoes, or even hikers, so as to enjoy the great trails and sites along the way. Take note too, that it feels much cooler up in the Buda hills, so take a layer along. We were there too early but by midday, some delicious peasant Székely Goulash awaits to warm up the blood and fill the belly for lunch.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Charming ride, charming children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were recommended to try the children's railway and thoroughly enjoyed a morning travelling from Szell Kalman Ter by tram and cog wheel railway to reach the children's railway at Szechenyi-hegy.

The ride through the pretty Buda hills, where the trees were just breaking into leaf, with spring flowers below was just superb. We travelled on a Saturday, and the train was full with many local families. We enjoyed watching the children deal with the public - selling and punching tickets, checking the doors, changing the points, saluting at stops. They're a credit to their instructors. Although the seats are wooden, the journey was smooth and comfortable, lasting about 45 minutes from one end to the other.

There is a stop at Janos-hegy, where you can leave the train and walk to the view point, but we were restricted for time and couldn't do so.

At the far end, Huvosvolgy, we simply caught a No 61 tram back to Szell Kalman Ter again. It had been a very entertaining and enjoyable morning's ride.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“How well behaved children should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband had seen this and thought it should be on our list to visit. You go on the cog railway first and then walk to the Children's railway. It is interesting to see all the children saluting and working on the railway at the terminus there is a fantastic café bar serving the best pitzas

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Berkshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A railway run by children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

This narrow gauge railway runs in the hilly suburbs of the city between Huvosvolgy to Szechenyhegy and formally known as the Pioneer Railway and was one of the railways set up by the Communists as an invitation to young people to learn how to run the railway. Almost all the staff are children (except drivers and a few adult supervisors) who are volunteers. The service runs through the hills and views are amazing. The children also offer souvenirs. When I visited the railway the trains were diesel hauled but steam locomotives are also used for enthusiasts. The trip on the railway was a part of a circular tour of Budapest where I also used the metro, trams and a cog-railway

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Children's Railway also viewed

 

Been to Children's Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Children's Railway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.