We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly 5 star!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Budapest

Save Saved
You added Le Meridien Budapest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Budapest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erzsebet Ter 9-10, Budapest 1051, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 332 hotels in Budapest
Lagos
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Truly 5 star!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

I stayed at the hotel on a business trip in February and i enjoyed every moment of my stay. The hotel provided every comfort of a 5 star hotel. The staffs were very friendly and professional. The room was spacious, very clean and modern. It provided everything you could possibly need! The location is also great. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,541 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,083
    344
    71
    25
    18
See reviews for
160
641
116
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

I have stayed at several 5 star hotels in budapest and le meridien is fair priced,pretty,classy,great service and super room. Right at the walking street close to everything.Nice spa too.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

I can't agree with some people saying that the breakfast in Le Meridien Budapest is expensive. They offer a sumptuous breakfast which is worth every penny. And my wife and I loved Le Borbon (sp?)- I couldn't have had more delicious French food in Hungary! Location is excellent, and our room is awesome, marvelously rococo everywhere! I highly recommend this hotel! The staff are significantly gracious.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

Stayed here two nights on a winterbreak to Budapest. Hotel located on one of the main squares in downtown Budapest, 5 minutes walk to the Danube river, 5 minutes to the cathedral with some very stylish restaurants and 2 minutes to the main shopping street.
Speedy and discreet check-in, nice room on the top floor with beautiful views of the city. Great bathroom with separate shower and bath. Comfy bed, nice furniture in a classic French style. Pool and sauna/steam room well worth the visit. We did not use any restaurant in the hotel as breakfast was not included. Lots of great places to eat within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

The Location of the hotel is excellent, right in the heart of Pest. The hotel itselft is a real 5-star venue in terms of rooms and service. Look for promotional rates and offers, the value is incredible.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

Le Meridien was an excellent location all the tour buses left from right outside the hotel. We used a driver service which cost us 23 euros each way. The hotel was lovely maybe not our 5 star but very nice. The staff were excellent, they could not have been more helpful. Very polite and professional. The breakfast was nice but not worth 30 euros more like 18 euros. The hop on hop off tour buses are a great idea to get to the sights that are that bit farther away like the castle and Margaret Island. If you are at the castle try to make time to go take a tour of the wine cellars it was very interesting. Really everything else is walkable. Also we received a little booklet with vouchers when we booked with the bus tour including a free 1 hour boat trip. We also used a 20% off voucher for a lovely Italian Restaurant near the hotel called La Porta di Taormina. If you fancy Hungarian food we tried a restaurant near our hotel called SORFORRAS it is across from C&A and The Mercure Hotel on the main pedestian drag. We enjoyed a Wild Boar Goulash. Main course arount £10 to £15. Very clean city. WARNING to men, while sitting in the restaurant we saw several pairs of Hungarian women asking male tourists for directions not sure if it was for robbery so just be wary.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBudapest, General Manager at Le Meridien Budapest, responded to this review, April 7, 2009
Dear Guest,

breakfast at Le Meridien Budapest is only HUF 6.900 - 23 Euros at today's exchange rate. I hope you had a great stay in Budapest

With best regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

Please be aware of a bar called 'Galaxia' which is just around the cornor. Google this bar and read all about the scam there. I unfortunately was a victim of this. In my opinion this hotel is not in a good location, is overpriced and the hotel staff should be far more concerned about the safety of residents. When I told them of my horrific experience they were particularily unhelpful. I cancelled my last two nights and got out of this hellish city. There is too much criminality in Budapest and until the locals stop ripping off tourists they dont deserve a tourist industry. Overall I was not impressed with this hotel either.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBudapest, General Manager at Le Meridien Budapest, responded to this review, March 27, 2009
Dear Reviewer,

I was very sorry to see your comments listed on TripAdvisor following your stay in Budapest.

Le Meridien Budapest is located in one of the best situation in Budapest. Exactly in the centre, minutes walk from the Danube, The Opera House and The Basilica, with a beautiful park in Front of the hotel flanked by the impressive British Embassy, City Hall, with the pedestrian Fashion street at the rear, where all the buildings with fascinating architecture have been restored and the street paved completely in granite. The street is one of the most exclusive ones in Budapest with shops such as Hugo Boss, Byblos, Nautica and Benneton.

Having been in Budapest now for 6 years, myself I find it one of the safest cities in Europe and am happy to walk around the city day or night with my family. This may even be one of the cities biggest assets. My surprise is that you have managed to find a bar that I have never heard of. I am also sorry that you tarnish the image of the hotel based on an experience you had external to hotel. Given the current challenging financial times I find that rates of around 109 Euros excluding tax very good value for a five star hotel.

With best regards from Budapest,

General Manager
Le Meridien Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Meridien Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Budapest

Address: Erzsebet Ter 9-10, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Budapest
#7 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#12 Family Hotel in Budapest
#18 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#20 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Budapest 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Expedia, Tingo, Starwood EMEA, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Le Meridien Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Budapest Hotel Budapest
Meridien Budapest
Budapest Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.