We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in Budapest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Budapest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Budapest to your Saves list
Le Meridien Budapest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erzsebet Ter 9-10, Budapest 1051, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Luxury in Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We spent a night in this delightful hotel on 16 July 2014 and were extremely satisfied with the large comfortable room and the general facilities in the hotel. The staff were very friendly and professional in all aspects. We were due to check out on 17 July but still had the day to spend sightseeing before catching our evening flight to Frankfurt. Our luggage was securely stored for the day by the concierge and a taxi was arranged for us at a predetermined time. The hotel is conveniently situated within easy walking distance of Vaci Utca - one of the major pedestrian malls in the city, in which are many interesting shops and excellent restaurants. Our stay in Budapest was most memorable and the city has some very interesting places to visit. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Budapest.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,261
    439
    87
    27
    18
See reviews for
218
802
137
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

great hotel! very good location, great service and the rooms were very clean and sizes were great! very close to the shops and central metro lines to move around. very elegant hotel! definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

we stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in July 2014. The staff at this hotel are amazing, friendly, professional and always happy to help w a smile.

It was the finish to our 5 week Europe holiday and what a wonderful place to finish in.

Only downside is the automatic charging minibar which can be annoying when travelling w children and having no place to put some kids drinks/ snacks.

Definitely recommend this hotel . Rooms are fantastic and very generous in size.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights. On arrival our room wasn't ready as we arrived early so we left our luggage with the concierge and explored the local area. There was a metro and tram station just around the corner from the hotel which gave easy access from the airport and meant we could get around Budapest really easily. There are lovely local restaurants as well as a starbucks for those who want some home comforts.

The hotel itself is very grand and has excellent amenities. There is a gym, pool and hot tub which are very good. Towels are provided. There is also a room with a couple of computers, which allow you free internet access.

Our room was amazing. Very clean and spacious with excellent fixtures and fittings. We asked for a view of the park and it was lovely and not too noisy from the road. (we do recommend asking for a park view as the other side of the hotel looks at another building). The room included a safe, a fully stocked mini bar and the bathroom had a hairdryer and an incredible shower!

The hotel does have a restaurant. However, we did not eat here so cannot comment, although the dining room looked very nice.

The hotel is very well located, right in the centre of Budapest, within walking distance of many of the sights. It is about a 5-10 minute walk to St.Stephens Basilica which we recommend going to the top of for great views.

The staff are very helpful and informed about the area. All in all we think this was a fantastic hotel and loved our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a park view. The tram runs underneath the hotel so the higher the room the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallace, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed at Le Meridien Hotel following a river cruise. The hotel is magnificent. We were greeted cordially by a very helpful staff, and provided an upgraded room based on our Starwoods Preferred Guest status. The rooms The location is very centralized making it easy to get to tourist attractions that we were interested in. The staff was most helpful in recommending options to meet our needs.The morning breakfast was included in our room rate, and is an endless buffet with every imaginable choice, as well as items that could be selected from a menu. We also had dinner the night before we departed, and it was excellent..

Room Tip: I would recommend a higher floor as it is possible to hear the metro which runs beneath the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I stayed for 3 days at Le Méridien Budapest. Rooms are spacious but expensive. The towells looked like old and too used for the quality of 5 star hotel. You need to ask for turn down servisse at the evening and the bathroom needed some maintenance. Water would spill from the shower to the bathroom floor. Service at the bar was somehow slow for a burguer and club sandwich and the french fries came cold. Budapest is expensive for upper class tourism.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed here in May and again in June ,2014. From the time we checked in until the time of check out, on both occasions, we were treated very courteously by every staff member we met. The front office team were very knowledgeable and answered all our questions in a friendly manner. Concierge was familiar with all the sites to visit and went out of his way to ensure we knew where to go and how to get there. The guys on the door always had a nice word to say and were open to chatting and advising on their own experiences and knowledge of Budapest. We had a lovely room on level 5 first visit and level 9 on the second visit. The rooms were extremely clean, the beds were very comfortable and housekeeping staff ensured our room was regularly serviced with fresh towels, tea and coffee supplies, etc. The hotel has a beautiful dining area which we used for breakfast each day and dinner most nights. The food was superb. Breakfast host, Emma greeted us each morning with a smile. At dinner, we were made welcome and treated like family by Zsombor, Robert and Peter. They were more than happy to ensure special requests were met - in my case it was for mashed potato and green beans (which were not on the menu but prepared graciously by chef and happily served). It was obvious to us that this hotel is extremely well run. The staff appear happy in their jobs and this translates to a great service culture. The other big plus for this hotel is it's location. It's in the centre of Pest beside pedestrian shopping malls. There is a great selection of restaurants in the immediate area and you are only a couple of minutes from the famed Andrassy Avenue. If travelling from the airport the railway station is right outside the front door, as is the start of the hop on hop off buses. Want to see the Danube River - it's only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. If you are planning to visit Budapest, whether for business or pleasure, this is a wonderful hotel in which to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Budapest

Address: Erzsebet Ter 9-10, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#12 Family Hotel in Budapest
#13 Business Hotel in Budapest
#16 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#20 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Splendia and Despegar.com so you can book your Le Meridien Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Budapest Hotel Budapest
Meridien Budapest
Budapest Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.