We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Beat The Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Budapest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Budapest to your Saves list
Le Meridien Budapest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erzsebet Ter 9-10, Budapest 1051, Hungary (District V / Inner City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Can't Beat The Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Location, Location, Location is the matra in real estate and Le Meridien Budapest wins out. It is located three stops away from the Budapest major train station Keleti on the red line Metro # 2 of the city's underground. Getting the metro tickets was easy but take a little effort anda bit of time. Being that the hotel is only three stops away from Keleti station means that we are eligible for the cheaper 300 Huf (about $1.37 in 04/14) per person Metro tickets. The metro starion is located on the lower level just outside of the plaza of the train station. My fear about having to dragged my suitcase to get to the metro station was not merited because once we got the Metro tickets we just need to walked outside of the train station and get down stairs to the metro station on an elevator to get to the metro station. Afterwards we just followed the crowds with suitcases from the train station to get to get to the Hotel Le Meridien on Deak Ferenc Ter. When we reached DeaK Ferenc Ter, we took the esaclator and the Hotel is litterally a few steps away from the Metro's exit. Apart from the mini fridge with that have an automatic charging feature, I have no other complaint about the hotel. Shopping is an easy two blocks away, it is close to the pier where all off the Danube boat tour depart from, all of the staff are friendly, helpful and professional. I hope they keep up the great work and change the fridge. I would love to stay at the Budapest Le Meridien again in my future trip to Budapest.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,337
    472
    102
    29
    20
See reviews for
231
862
144
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asker, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I had quite high expectation as my experience with Starwood hotels is very good. This hotel fullfilled and even exceeded my expectations. I got a good rate when booking a non refundable room and would say for that price I guess I couldn't have done any better. Standard rate is high. Generally, the entire hotel is very nice. A large nice lobby with a good restaurant, Le Bourbon. The room were clean and big with a nice view of the Erszebet Ter (park). The bathroom has both a tub and a shower, the main room comes with a sofa and table + a desk/table and two chairs. The high ceiling gives a feeling of even more space.The only negative is that wifi still cost money if connected in your room. Wifi in the lobby is free of charge and worked very well. We location is very good and we walked around the city every day exploring the different beautiful buildings and views. If you prefer to go by the metro it is located just next door. The tourist bus services (hop on-hop off) starts from outside the hotel.

Room Tip: 6th floor with a view of Erszebet Ter was nice. Some noise, especially in the weekend since there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMBudapest, Manager at Le Meridien Budapest, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear HButting,

Thank you very much being your hotel choice while staying in Budapest and for your trust and confidence in our company. I am very happy to learn that you overally enjoyed being our valued Guets and we managed to live up to and even exceed your expectations. It is our main goal that our Guests are feeling welcomed and well taken care of during their visit and it is so great to receive your positive feeback regarding that.
I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and compliments with the TripAdvisor community and us.
Thank you for your feedback regarding the Wi-Fi and I am happy to inform you that we have just finished the overall upgrade of our Internet system and among several Internet connection options to choose from, we also offer free Wi-Fi available through the entire hotel, in the guestrooms, our outlets and all public areas.
It is great that you had the opportunity to discover all that Budapets has to offer and I hope that we soon will have the chance to welcome you back to Le Méridien Budapest.

Best regards,

Gabor Redling
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Long time overdue, but I really owe this a hotel a great review. My only fear is that Starwood is going to raise rates/points! We stayed here because it was a Starwood property and I am very frequent guest. I didn't have expectations and I am a tough customer. This hotel was one of the best experiences I have had in the world. The staff at the front desk is so nice and accommodating while begin very professional. For some, there is English may not be the best, but they try so much. My wife actually knows a fair amount of Hungarian and they loved speaking with her
We thought the location was perfect. You could walk to the Synagogue, ruins and Basilica and along the main drag. We also took the metro which is right outside the door.
The room had a view over the Basilica and was classic but beautiful.
And, in one the most incredible experiences in 25 years of traveling, I gave the Chamber Maid a $5 dollar tip and we got a call from the manager that night asking if we need something. "No" we said, and he answered "well the maid said you gave her $5 and she brought it to the front desk". Just incredible.
Downsides
The breakfast is amazing way to start day, but if not included, is very expensive

Small small drawback was the wi-fi/internet is very very slow.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: room facing front of hotel with view of basiclica
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed here after our cruise on the Danube.
Good sized room with all that was needed and oh that bed!
My husband and I measured it - It was 7 foot square and oh so comfortable we did not want to get up in the morning!
Good selection at the continental breakfast with polite and friendly servise.
Will certainly visit again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMBudapest, Manager at Le Meridien Budapest, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Bordoli,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive feedback with the TripAdvisor community in regards to your visit to Le Méridien Budapest. I hope you had a nice river cruise on the Danube!
I am very happy to learn that you enjoyed your room and you found your bed really comfortable that helped you to have a truly relaxing stay at our hotel. Thank you for your kind words regarding our breakfast service and I do hope that we will soon have the chance to welcoming you back to Budapets and to our hotel.

best regards,

Gabor Redling
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Located centrally with convenient access to all transportation in the shopping center of Pest, the hotel offered warm hospitality and comfort. As with all Starwood properties, the rooms are thoughtfully designed for comfort, with heated bathroom floors, great linens, and a comfortable layout for business travel with included hard wired Internet. My room overlooked Erzszebet Ter. which was quite pleasant. Breakfast was delicious with Illy coffee served in Bodum presses with heated milk, and an excellent selection from cereal and muesli with fresh and dried fruit and yoghurt, to smoked salmon and accoutrements, pastries and traditional western breakfast with all the fixings. The lobby was fresh and modern. Best of all, however, was the staff - from check in, to the concierge, the breakfast maitre de and room service, everyone was warm, welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Polite staff made check-in easy and pleasant. The room (an exec. suite) was large and tastefully furnished, with lots of closet space and a large, nicely designed bathroom with shower and bathtub. The restaurant was excellent both for dinner and breakfast. for those who depart before the breakfast buffet opens there is juice, coffee and croissants on a table near the front desk.

Room Tip: Rooms facing east have a nice view of the Duna River
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMBudapest, Manager at Le Meridien Budapest, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear YodaHB,

thank you very much for staying at Le Méridien Budapest and for your positive feedback. I am very happy to read your kind words and to learn that you overally enjoyed being our valued guest. Thank you for your compliments on our staff it is great that you felt your check-in was easy and pleasant.
I am pleased to read your positive words in regards to your room as well as our Le Bourbon restaurant servies.
I do hope that we will have the chance to welcoming you back again to Le Méridien Budapest.

kind regards,

Gabor Redling
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The recipe for a successful trip is a good hotel at a central location.

The Budapest LeMeridian is just that.
We arrived after midnight to smiling faces at the reception, escorted to superbly appointed room, tastefully appointed with large windows overlooking the main square.
The bathroom had a separate shower cubicle 

We began each morning in the breakfast room where the selection of food is a gourmet delight.

The location was simply superb
Waking distance from all the major sites. We came back to the hotel in the late afternoons and in the evenings we could walk to excellent restaurants nearby.

The main square has metros, trams, buses and taxis making transportation easy. Every evening hundreds of young people, would congregate in the square (Erzsebet) giving a happy atmosphere.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: facing the main square
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMBudapest, Manager at Le Meridien Budapest, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Ttourist,

I was really happy to read that you had such a nice experience with us and overally enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your visit as well as about our services and facilities. I am glad that you enjoyed your room with a view over the Deák Ferenc square and the lively atmosphere of the city center. I hope you had the chance to explore the many exciting sides of our city and we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back again to Le Méridien Budapest.

kind regards,

Gabor Redling
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#41 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#25 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 2,183 reviews
District V / Inner City
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Budapest

Address: Erzsebet Ter 9-10, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#13 Business Hotel in Budapest
#15 Family Hotel in Budapest
#22 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#24 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Le Meridien Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Budapest Hotel Budapest
Meridien Budapest
Budapest Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.