We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, perfect location, wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Budapest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Budapest to your Saves list
Le Meridien Budapest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erzsebet Ter 9-10, Budapest 1051, Hungary (District V / Inner City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel, perfect location, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Location is just perfect, the hotel great with really nice rooms and even a spa on the 8th floor (pool, jacuzzi, sauna & steam room). Most impressive where the people who work at this great place. An extremely warm welcome at reception, super helpful concierges, in-room service flawless and a bar with live music, great wines and cocktails - all of this made us extend our stay after the first night as we were so happy :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMBudapest, Manager at Le Meridien Budapest, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Gaultmillau,

I am thrilled to read your comments in regards to your visit to Le Meridien Budapest.
It makes me so proud to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us so much after the first night that you decided to extend the time you wish to spend in our hotel, I can hardly imagine more motivating feedback than that. Our goal is that each and every guest of ours feels welcomed, feels like home and leaves our hotel with a feeling of satisfaction and a desire to come back again. Thank you for confirming back that we succeeded to reach that goal and for highlighting that we delivered that through our dedicated staff.
Please rest assured that your feedback will be shared with each and every one of them as well as your positive feedback regarding the Adria Palace Bar with the Food and Beverage department.
I certainly hope that we will be able to welcoming you back soon again at Le Meridien Budapest.

Kind regards,

Gabor Redling
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,335
    471
    102
    29
    20
See reviews for
231
860
144
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Gteat location close to city centre and public transport. Stayed here as an extension to a Viking cruise. Room was fantastic but very noisy. Walls like paper. Could hear people in room next door at 7am when I had hoped for sleep in. Although double glazing got woken up 2 mornings in a row with outside traffic noise and metro runs underneath hotel so hear that too.

Saying all that location is fantastic. To get free wifi you have to go to the bar and it's very poor. Suggest going out if hotel as many bars offer free wifi with much better signal.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We booked Le Meridien Budapest on the basis of tripadvisor reviews, as we had decided to visit Budapest for our wedding anniversary. We emailed the hotel beforehand to advise them of our late arrival time and also that it was our wedding anniversary and received a prompt reply upgrading us to a corner Executive Room on the 7th floor.
Arrived at the hotel in the evening to be greeted very courteously by the doormen. Check in was quick, efficient and hassle free, we were also given a useful information/ map pack containing suggestions of things to do in and around Budapest. The corner Executive Room (722) was lovely, bright, clean, very spacious and well furnished. There was plenty of storage space and a large bathroom, with separate bath and shower and all the usual bath amenities one would need. Windows opened up overlooking Erzebet Square, with lovely views of St Stephen's Basilica. There was also a bottle of chilled sparkling wine awaiting us in the room, along with a lovely letter from the hotel management congratulating us - a very nice and unexpected touch. The bed was very comfortable, our only complaint was that the pillows were far too soft and offered no neck/ shoulder support; a quick word at reception and firmer pillows were sent up immediately.
We didn't have breakfast in the hotel in the end as there were so many places nearby to eat at, but we did have dinner at Le Bourbon and it was very pleasant with excellent service. We did use Adria Bar a few times for coffee, cake and drinks, and took advantage of the free wifi whilst in there. I highly recommend the cherry palinka, espresso and the Royal Chocolate signature dessert - truly heavenly and deserving of its top reputation. The staff there are excellent and very happy to recommend things for you to try.
All the staff that we encountered during our stay at the hotel were always polite and friendly and any requests made were dealt with promptly and efficiently.
The concierge was also very helpful in terms of recommending and booking Nobu for dinner for us. Lovely choice and worth every forint. It was so good we went back for lunch the next day!
We also took the advice from the hotel about the hop on hop off bus (cost for a 48 hour ticket is 6,000 forints per person and it starts just outside the hotel, on opposite side of the street) and found it to be a great way to get our bearings and see the highlights of Budapest. The bus ticket also included a daytime and evening boat cruise on the Danube plus discount vouchers for various places of interest. It was lovely to see both aspects of the city, by day and by night. Budapest really is beautiful and Le Meridien is an excellent example of 5 star luxury and service. I highly recommend this hotel (and have done so already to friends and family) and would definitely stay here again next time we return to Budapest.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuth, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great hotel, spacious and comfortable rooms, and delicious food. Have been there now for the second time and again a fantastic experience. When leaving the hotel, you are surrounded by shops, restaurants, beautiful buildings and culture.

Room Tip: Whereas I heart some people complaining about the early morning underground noise< I personally d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMBudapest, Manager at Le Meridien Budapest, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear KarelCrombach,

Thank you for recent stay with us for your positive feedback in regards to your experiences.
I am very pleased to learn that Le Meridien Budapest was your hotel choice for the second time, when you visited the city and I highly appreciate your feedback that we managed to live up you your expectations once again. I am so happy to read that you find our hotel fantastic and your room comfortable.
It is great that you enjoyed the surroundings of the hotel in the center of Budapest and I really hope that we will have many possibilities in the future to welcome you back again at Le Meridien Budapest.

Best regards,

Gabor Redling
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Excellent service with excellent and trustworthy staff. Everyone was very helpful and we felt like they could not do enough for us. I highly recommend this hotel. It is walking distance from a lot of the tourist sites. The famous Dohaney Street Synagogue is a 10 minute walk from the hotel.
The reception staff are very friendly and happy to help with any requests you have.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a suite and it was perfect so I do not know what the other rooms were like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Decent hotel in a great location, the staff were helpful and friendly and service overall good. Nice rooms, super comfortable bed and large bathroom. Great breakfast, extensive choice and in a loverly setting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

When we arrived to hotel we were quite tired of travelling but service in reception was exellent. Very quick, easy and reception also offered us room upgrade. Room was exellent. Spa was exellent and breakfast was exellent. Also room service were good. Location of hotel is very good and it's easy to go everywhere in centrum. Very nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#41 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#24 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 2,178 reviews
District V / Inner City
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Budapest

Address: Erzsebet Ter 9-10, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#13 Business Hotel in Budapest
#15 Family Hotel in Budapest
#22 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#24 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Le Meridien Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Budapest Hotel Budapest
Meridien Budapest
Budapest Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.