We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the Heart of it all!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Budapest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Budapest to your Saves list
Le Meridien Budapest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erzsebet Ter 9-10, Budapest 1051, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Streamwood, Illinois
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Right in the Heart of it all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

A beautiful old hotel that they have remodeled. Wonderful comfortable beds, beautiful old bathroom with lots of rrom and a huge soaking tub. We ordered room service and it was hot and in our room in under 30 minutes. and all of the staff were helpful and friendly.
Since it was our 50th Wedding Anniversary they also gave us a bottle of champagne, an added bonus!
We stayed here as part of a Viking Riverboat Tour. They pick the hotel and they choose a good one. We had 2 buffet breakfast's and they were outstanding. Fresh made omlets, lots of wonderful cheeses and breads and fresh fruits.
We faced the street on the 3rd floor and it was quiet at nigh,, even though there is a subway right next to the hotel, you didn't hear it or feel it.
It was a wonderful experience staying here and we would definately recommend it.
It is close to the center of Budapest and you can walk to restaurants(but we didn't) and shops.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,161
    393
    80
    26
    18
See reviews for
189
727
129
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

I spent two night on business in this hotel. The hotel Service was excellent, all carefully planned in advance, every detail. Great selection of small sweets for free in The room with education on Hungarian realia like Tokaj wine or paprika. Would repeat The stay any time.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Located at the Pest side, close to Andrassy street and next to Kempinski (very very similar, have stayed at both). Very good hotel, should upgrade to free WiFi in all rooms. Breakfast is super, large selection!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is one of the most expensive hotels in the Budapest center. Whether it costs it money? Yes, it does. If you are looking for huge rooms with great view, excellent service and sleep quality, this hotel is for you. I am not aware about the real alternative for such service over there. Also this hotel is about a 15 minutes of walk from the chain bridge and there is very hard to find a parking in this area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed here with the wife during our short stint in Budapest.

When we arrived late in the evening, the hotel atmosphere was rather foreboding with the front desk not being really helpful. Initially we were told that we do not get any SPG upgrades but upon a short 'discussion', the gentleman at the front desk allowed it after some discussion with the manager. I seriously believe that the hotel could have done better with training the front desk task to make the hotel guests feel more at home, especially after a long flight and in a foreign city.

Other than the above, everything else was pretty okay. The room was nicely decorated with old European charm and the location was excellent! It's very centrally located and we just walked everywhere in the Pest side of the city.

Breakfast was okay - but could be better. Food was so-so and the variety was rather limited.

Conclusion, not bad but we hope that it will improve over time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is a brilliantly placed hotel literally on top of the Metro to everywhere.
Our room on the 4th floor had a balcony and a view over a Park.
Whilst short on river vistas we walked everywhere in the CBD from this Hotel and found everything in close proximity.
The staff were professional and friendly. Rooms were large and well equipped.
We will come again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I will start with the positive, the decor of the room is impressive. Now if we could only control the temperature; the room was very warm and couldn't cool it down. We also has an issue with the elevator. The computers in the business office where hit and miss.
The breakfast buffet was good when there was food, trouble is there wasn't much food. Asking for service such as coffee seemed to really annoy the staff.
For a 5 star hotel I think they could do a better job.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMBudapest, Manager at Le Meridien Budapest, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments on you recent stay. Happy to learn that you liked the decor of the hotel. Our staff is more than happy to assist with any difficulties in the room or in the outlets of the hotel. We are proud of our customer care and guest satisfaction. In high season we accomodate huge number of guests year on year and sometime we have to serve our clients at he same time. We will make sure that the Le Meridien breakfast experience will be shared with every guest and it will be up to their satisfaction. Thank you for your time to share these informations with us. We still hope that upon your next visit we can give our best attention to you and provide our 5 star hospitality.

best regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Budapest

Address: Erzsebet Ter 9-10, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#10 Business Hotel in Budapest
#12 Family Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#21 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Budapest Hotel Budapest
Meridien Budapest
Budapest Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.