We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a good hotel - absolutely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Budapest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Budapest to your Saves list
Le Meridien Budapest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erzsebet Ter 9-10, Budapest 1051, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“This is a good hotel - absolutely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Now, occasionally you come across a really good hotel, you have hotels that should be good but aren't you have hotels that are OK when they should be fantastic and then you have simply really good hotels. This is a really good hotel, and I can assure you I am a diffculty customer to please.

Rooms - excellent, spacious and furnished nicely, bathrooms great (heated floors very nice)- showers powerful and hot water straight away, beds as always with starwood hotel comfortable.

Breakfast great, sauna nice & pool.
Well done and thanks

Location is good, straight out the door to main square, Vaci ut. just around the corner.

Room Tip: One negative about the hotel is that it is right above the underground metro so there is noise and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,161
    393
    80
    26
    18
See reviews for
189
727
129
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stoke-on-trent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

what can i say about this beautiful hotel it is in a perfect spot in budapest 5mins from the danube close to all other historical sights staff were very friendly and helpful lavishly decorated. all the rooms were very comfortable well worth a visit

Room Tip: all rooms are really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I booked the hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews and I am glad we did. We stayed two nights after a river cruise. We checked in at 9:00 am and our room was ready. The room was huge for a European hotel. It was nicely appointed and very comfortable. All our contacts with staff were very positive. They were always very polite and helpful. The location is within walking distance of most everything we wanted to visit (covered market, Xmas markets, cathedral, Vaci street). The subway entrance is also very close and the #16 bus that will take you across the river to the castle district stops right across the street. We purchase the bus tickets from the concierge. Very convenient. We did not eat at the hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed here for a two night city break. As someone more accustomed to staying in hostels, this was quite the jump in standard for me!
A lovely hotel, it is tastefully yet lavishly decorated. The staff are pleasant and all speak excellent English which is brilliant considering my lack of Magyar. The rooms were beautiful, the beds wonderfully comfortable with more pillows than you can shake a stick at, and the showers have high water pressure.
One party had to move rooms, however, as despite them being billed as non-smoking rooms, theirs stank to high heaven of cigarette smoke. There are smoking rooms mixed on the same floors as non-smoking, which is very noticable in the hallways in the mornings. Not very nice for non-smokers, as it hits you when you leave your room or you enter that floor.
No complaints from me, however, about the room or the service.

I used the spa one afternoon, which was really nice. A small pool with enough room to swim a few lengths, a steam room and a sauna. I enjoyed it very much. For people visiting the city on holiday, however, I absolutely recommend heading off to one of the hot spa baths - we were in one for several hours and it was absolutely wonderful! Between 3hrs spent wallowing in those hot waters, and the two nights spent sleeping in that enormous bed, the sciatica I have been trying to sort out for weeks = gone!

The only poor note is the hotel restaurant. As I understand it, the chef has a Michelin star. Well, he may well have, but his staff do not. Paying over £25 for breakfast brings high hopes, and I do rather love this kind of breakfast from time to time. Sadly, however, it wasn't worth the money paid at all. Tea and coffee brought out had to be sent back three times because it wasn't warm let alone hot. The porridge was very oversweetened and inedible - the owner of the hotel is a Scotsman and had a big party for St Andrews Day whilst we were there. Perhaps he needs to ensure it is either plain or salted so people can add things to their tastes?
The special items - eggs benedict - were delicious, but were served cold. With temperatures down well into the minus figures already, a hot breakfast is preferable. The sausages looked like they had come out of a tin, and the other hot items looked unpalatable.

Hotel - absolutely recommended.
Breakfast - don't bother.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMBudapest, Manager at Le Meridien Budapest, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for all your kind comments about our hotel.
I note your comments about the breakfast, I am currently reviewing our breakfast offer and will include your thoughts.
I extend to you the compliments of the season and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Budapest.

Laurent Vandenameele
Executive Chef in charge of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

A fine five star hotel in a great location. The hotel is located within the Xmas market so during this time the atmosphere in the area is amazing. The hotel is comfortable, extremely clean and has really helpful staff. A great hotel to visit Budapest from.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Well located in centre, the hotel has nice big rooms. They are clean and well fitted if aging a bit.

The parking is actually under a different hotel so you need to come out to get back into hotel.

Checkin is friendly, staff are good.

Breakfast is not great though. The hot part is poor quality local substitutes especially on sausages, bacon. There is no real hotel bar to speak of, just a small white modern space at back.

Ok for one night, but wouldn't stay longer.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMBudapest, Manager at Le Meridien Budapest, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you Thank you for staying with us. I am currently reviewing our breakfast offer and will take into account your valued comments.
We do currently offer a large selection of home baked breads, hot croissant and viennoiseries, as well as a large selection of cold cut meats cheese hams and smoked fish. Our Hot items are local produce and we have a cook on hand to prepare a la minute any special dish you require. Our à la carte selection of dishes are based on the menus and recipes of Jean Georges Vongerichten.

We have two bars in the hotel. The Adria Bar which has the style of gentleman's club with a large selection of Scottish whiskies, Hungarian Palinka and of course our extensive Cocktail list. The white lounge is located on the pedestrian street and as well as being a great place to have a coffee is a place where you can enjoy molecular cocktails or a glass of champagne with a pianist playing every evening.

Laurent Vandenameele
Executive Chef in Charge of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria, near Vienna
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Very centrally located near the vaci utca, the metro stop is nearly in front of the house. A very compfortable hotel. Very spacious rooms and very friendly staff. The breakfast was also really excellent! A good hotel to recommend in the city of budapest.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Budapest

Address: Erzsebet Ter 9-10, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#10 Business Hotel in Budapest
#12 Family Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#21 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Budapest Hotel Budapest
Meridien Budapest
Budapest Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.