We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A long weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Budapest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Budapest to your Saves list
Le Meridien Budapest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erzsebet Ter 9-10, Budapest 1051, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A long weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

In most respects a great hotel, upgraded from a deluxe King to a Junior Suite but the extra charge of 70 euro's a night deducted from food and drink consumed in the hotel, a good deal! Dinner in the restaurant excellent, breakfasts not quite up to scratch, and despite lots of staff in evidence service not that good, but overall would definitely make a return visit

Room Tip: Higher up to avoid traffic and subway noise, look out for upgrade deals!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,255
    438
    87
    27
    18
See reviews for
216
799
137
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed it. The location is perfect, the city bus tours start right across the street and there's a metro station right outside the front door. The park in front is lively on weekends and you get a sense of the local lifestyle. Lots of good restaurants are within 5-10 min walk from the hotel. The chain bridge is a easy 10-15 min walk away. The room was elegantly furnished and the bathroom is a good size. Be sure to look up when you're in the restaurant, the stained glass dome atrium is beautiful! The pool and steam room were nice too and it's free!

The reason I didn't give 5 stars is because the front desk first told me wifi was free in the room and gave me the code. My sister did the same from the other room. Then I lost the code and called again the next day and was told wifi is not free in the room. Instead of just stating the fact, the woman had plenty of attitude and wasn't very nice. It's confusing when staff tells guests different things each time depending on who is talking. Staff obviously needs more training on hotel policies. Then one night, the concierge recommended a restaurant but gave us the wrong address! The meal was very good, but we walked around the block and asked several people before we finally found the place. She gave us the wrong street name!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our two nights at the Le Meridien were perfect. Our accommodations, location and staff exceeded our expectations. Attila at the front desk, along with the rest of the staff, was very helpful and attentive. It is a first-class hotel, in a central location of a beautiful city.

Room Tip: Some say that a high floor is important due to its location to the metro, but it did not seem to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north vancouver
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I had a two night stay at the hotel the last week of September. It is by far the best hotel in Budapest. The location is very central for both business and leisure. The hotel has been perfectly restorted to its formal glory. Every piece of furniture is authentic and first rate. The lobby is beautifull as are all common areas. I stayed on the fifth floor and am not shure what room i booked but the room I stayed in was very large with a sitting are and spacious bed room. The bathroom was large and spacious with separate shower and a nice touch was the heated floor. It was quiet as it faced into the pedestrian street. I also loved the bar. It was very quiet but was staffed by the most proffesional of bar staff. I will deffinitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Quite elegant hotel with posh guests. We got a discount offer, so the room prices were fine. The biggest advantage is the central location of the hotel, its near the most busy parts, and on the end of one of the biggest sqaure in Budapest. Kind and attentive staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sjotorp, Sweden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Of course I understand that this is a great hotel, perfect spot in Budapest.
We had two rooms connecting, everything went well. But could the rooms be more beige? No twist at all. That's a shame. I got the room for a good price so that's ok, but to full price, I would hesitate!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilseck, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Le Meridien offered an excellent stay in Budapest. I'll get down to the facts...

Pros:
- Le Meridien's greatest strength is its location. Just outside is a bus stop for the many "Hop-On Hop-Off" bus tours, which serve as a great way to get your bearings in the city and works in lieu of a taxi. There is a beautiful park right outside with a vibrant nightlife. Just 5 minutes walk away is the St. Stephen's Basilica, which is surrounded by excellent wine bars and some good restaurants. I recommend buying a bottle of wine at one of these bars and then sitting out in St. Stephen's square. Don't forget to have some gelato shaped into a rose at Gelata Rosa. Le Meridien is very centrally located. I think for the fit/cheap types you could actually walk to just about all attractions in Budapest. If not, you can certainly take a quick taxi/bus.
- Greeted at the curb by a valet; both my car and bags were whisked away efficiently and immediately gave me the sense that I was being taken care of.
- Concierge service was excellent; we enjoyed our time in Budapest so much we asked to stay an extra night. We had to move rooms since ours was booked but reception kept us on the same floor only a few doors down to ease our move.
- Excellent in-room amenities: cabled internet (bring a computer), feather pillows/duvet, many TV channels of various languages, bath robes, great toiletries on stock and present, both a standing shower and a tub.

Cons:
- The hotel cannot entirely be blamed for this, but the parking garage they valet your car to is about $30/day. I did not know this until I got the bill. Shame on me for not asking, but I kind of would expect to be told when parking is going to cost that much each day. THAT the hotel could have done...

We never ate at the in-hotel restaurant but it looked very nice, albeit I think we found great meals for more reasonable prices.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Budapest

Address: Erzsebet Ter 9-10, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#13 Family Hotel in Budapest
#13 Business Hotel in Budapest
#17 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#22 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Splendia and Despegar.com so you can book your Le Meridien Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Budapest Hotel Budapest
Meridien Budapest
Budapest Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.