We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Budapest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Budapest to your Saves list
Le Meridien Budapest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erzsebet Ter 9-10, Budapest 1051, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location, nice rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We went to Budapest for a short honeymoon and booked a deluxe room at the Le Meridien. We got a room on the 8th floor with a balcony and view of the park. The hotel new we were newlyweds and surprised us with a bottle of sparkling wine.

Breakfast is good, but expensive and in my opinion not worth the money.

The location is perfect! All the metros in Budapest passes on the station below ground 15 meters from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,249
    435
    87
    27
    18
See reviews for
213
795
137
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed here in August 2011, my wife myself and our 1 year old daughter.

We had a standard room on the 8th floor which was large and very clean with a lovely bathroom. The bed was extremely comfortable and the minibar was large. The excellent swimming pool and spa was also located on this floor which was very convenient as we used it every day.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful, and the location of the hotel is very central to all the major attractions. It was 37 degrees outside but the hotel was comfortably cool and the room was very quiet.

The hotel was a 10 min walk from 3 kosher restaurants by the Kazinsky Street Synagogue which was very handy for us.

We would definately stay here on a return trip to Budapest and cannot fault the hotel at all - it was superb.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 8th floor are very convenient for using the swimming pool and spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The hotel is wonderfully centrally located, modernized, but still retains a sense of the old world charm from its pre WW I construction. The rooms are quiet and beautifully appointed. The lobby bar is a great place to retire to after a busy day's excursions, especially after walking down from the museums on the Buda hill. The breakfast selection in the spacious dining room is excellent, the staff are attentive and friendly, and there was nothing that could have been added to make the stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Excellent location, with nice look at a park and the St Stephen's church (though with no view to Danube). walking distance from mosto of points of interest, restaurants, shopping, etc
Very good concierge, excellente recommensations on restaurants and tours.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Top Contributor
869 reviews 869 reviews
167 hotel reviews
Reviews in 381 cities Reviews in 381 cities
375 helpful votes 375 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here. The staff was helpful and the rooms were top-notch. The location was perfect: we walked everywhere or used the bus occasionally. Admittedly it is the only place I have stayed in Budapest but I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I recently flew by myself to Budapest. My travel agent thought it best that I stay in a hotel that was English speaking and could help me with navigating the city. This hotel is located walking distance to wonderful cares, shopping and historical sites. The concierge was extremely helpful with guidance on how to ge places, umbrellas when it rained, and arranging taxis. They even gave me a converter as mine didn't work and I was allowed to keep it free of charge. The buffet breakfast included in the cost of the room was wonderful and included cereals, pastries, fruit, yogurt, various cheeses and meats. The rooms were nicely decorated and very clean with a stocked bar. The best part was the dinner! They had a night of authentic Hungarian music with dancers. I got pulled up to dance and it was so much fun. The music was so fun and festive and really gave you a flavor of Hungaria! It's a must do!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

OK, let’s get this out of the way first: Le Meridien overlooks a park, and it does NOT overlook the Danube and the Chain Bridge. Other than that, everything here was superb. Several weeks before we arrived, Szabina advised us what restaurants were near the Opera and the Palace of Arts, as we had tickets for both. We had an early check-in without a problem. The front desk staff, the concierges and the other staff were all knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. We had a great room with a small terrace, #804, so we didn’t have any noise from the subway that others have mentioned. Bath had shower and separate tub. Room was well-appointed and has safe in closet. Our room did abut the fitness center and pool, but we had no noise from either. We did use the pool and Jacuzzi and had it to ourselves. The breakfast buffet here is expensive at 25 euros. But why worry about that when in 2 minutes you can walk to the world famous Gerbeaud Café. Le Meridien is in a great location, a short walk to Vaci Street [shopping], Gerbeaud Café, Chain Bridge, the Opera, Dohany Synagogue and the subway entrance is right in front of the hotel. We did need to take a taxi to the Palace of the Arts as you would from any other downtown hotel. Without asking, we received 24 hrs of free WiFi in the room with a password supplied when we checked in [maybe because we’re members of the Starwood Preferred Guest program]. This was adequate for 5 days. In summary, we are glad we picked the Le Meridien and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: High rooms on 8th floor, which also has the fitness center & pool, facing the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Budapest

Address: Erzsebet Ter 9-10, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#12 Business Hotel in Budapest
#13 Family Hotel in Budapest
#17 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#22 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Splendia so you can book your Le Meridien Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Budapest Hotel Budapest
Meridien Budapest
Budapest Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.