We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good quality/price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Metro to your Saves list
Hotel Metro
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kresz Geza utca 1, Budapest 1132, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very good quality/price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I'll tell you why to pick this hotel: Close to the center (about 200m walk from main train station), really big and clean rooms, friendly staff sharing smiles, good mood and really good price for value. I spent there just 2 nights, but if I go again, I am sure where I'm going to stay. Just breakfast quality is an average, but this is a minor thing.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    29
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
22
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leipzig, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

There are three reasons why I loved this hotel; the very reasonable price, the excellent location and the extremely helpful and friendly staff. It's definitely cheaper than other hotels in the area. It's just a stone's throw from the train station an the Westend shopping mall. The staff all speak English and always have time to talk to you in a very friendly and personal way. The rooms are rather large and clean and comfortable. I have been to Budapest several times now and this is my second stay at Hotel Metro. I'm so glad that I found this gem because it will be my hotel of choice when I visit Budapest in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worthing
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1 week and found the staff friendly and helpful.Rooms were clean and comfortable.Breakfast was very good ,altogether a good experience.Being so close to shops ,railway/trams & restaurants was excellent would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroNyugati, Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great value and the recommendation!

We hope if you are coming to Hungary next time you will be our Guest again***

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

The hotel was in a good location, just 2 mins away from the main station, 15 mins walk to the city centre and main sights like the Margarite Island, Parliament, Opera..etc. Near to eateries and shops.
They gave us a firm double bed and a single bed as well for the 2 of us, and very clean sheets and toilet was excellent with working showers and hairdryer. Remember to bring your own toothbrush and paste. Only downside was we arrived with the weather at 37degrees and there was no air-conditioning! Thoroughly recommend this hotel for a budget.
Breakfast was good and no food poisoning, clean spread daily. Coffee was excellent!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The room we stayed in was very clean, spacious and comfortable enough. Bathroom was also very clean, with a good shower and hairdrier. There's no air conditioning, but windows can easily be opened to get some fresh air. Loved coffee/tea making facilities in the room. I've seen people complain about breakfast in this hotel, but I don't agree with them. It was simple, nothing fancy, but for a small three star hotel, breakfast spread was very good. The staff was polite and very friendly. Location is not central, but there's a train/metro station 2 min away and you can easily get wherever you want. The city center is 15-20 min on foot. The only negative side was that one night we had to wait for 15 min to enter the hotel, but it happened only once and there was only one receptionist there at the time so it wasn't such a problem. All in all, it was good value for money, we enjoyed our stay in Budapest and would probably choose the same hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

The staff at the Metro were really friendly and very helpful, when advising on nearby attractions and directions. They were really warm and friendly and always keen to help. The room was very big, with a lovely bathroom with large spa style tub and separate shower.
My biggest complaint of the hotel ws a faulty hairdryer which had sparks shooting out of the base, whenever we tried to use it. We did report it to reception and were unable to get it fixed for the duration of our stay (4 days), which was a bit of a nuisance.

We did get a very good deal on the hotel so I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in a standard room, which was very clean, spacicous and with comfy bed. I appreciate very helpful and nice staff as well as convenient location close to train station

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: Kresz Geza utca 1, Budapest 1132, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Metro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metro***The family atmosphere Hotel Metro*** located in the downtown of Budapest, has re-opened its doors in 2009 for the Guests.The refurbished hotel is located next to the WestEnd City Center and the Nyugati Railway Station in a quite side-street. The hotel offers 17 non-smoking rooms, a Superior room equipped with corner tub and infra sauna, and 2 apartments, providing pleasant environment both for tourists and for those on a business trip.All of the hotel rooms provide comfort and recreation for our Guests, as all are equipped with television, mini-bar, water kattle and tea, free WIFI service and a large bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.