We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good hotel attached to the conference centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Budapest City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Budapest City to your Saves list
Novotel Budapest City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alkotas Utca 63-67, Budapest 1123, Hungary (Formerly Novotel Budapest Congress)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“a good hotel attached to the conference centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

A Novotel is a Novotel: they are all the same. But the Novotel City in Budapest, with its attached International Conference Centre, is in the right place and does what it says in the label: it offers kind service in a pleasant way. There is a lovely terrace for eating al fresco, and a nice park for relaxing during the pauses of the conferences. Nice and convenient.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVinette, General Manager at Novotel Budapest City, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my Team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Novotel Budapest City. I look forward to welcoming you back during your next stay in Budapest.
Kindest regards,
Bruno Vinette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    202
    79
    19
    9
See reviews for
99
80
42
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
100 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

To start with: My company made a mistake when doing the reservation, thinking that a Novotel in a town is either called City or Centrum.... In fact, in Budapest there is a Hotel Novotel City and a Hotel Novotel Centrum...quite confusing. Previously this hotel was called Novotel Congress, given the large conference center next door. To call it Novotel Centrum is a bit of an understatement, as this hotel is NOT located even close to the centre of Budapest.... In reality, the hotel is at the town endpoint of the highways from Vienna and Lake Balaton, right by a major roadconjunction in Buda. The hotel has a large parking place, and there is a shopping plaza next door.

Having said that, the front desk staff was very helpful in sorting out the booking, and offered a room. It was a so called executive room, but the only executive that I could discover was the rather empty hall attached to the room, I does not really understand the price diffeerence, but given the circumstances I was happy with it. Nevertheless, the room was a standard Novotel quality, clean, well maintained, with comfy bed and some amenities. And very quiet...

A suggestion (probably it is an Accor company policy) is to broaden the selection of TV-channels in the room. Especially when it comes to local channels.

The bar/restaurant is located on the ground floor, and I enjoyed a good glass of excellent Hungarian wine, served by attentive staff.

The hotel is a good choice for those who want to stay away from the noise and crowd in the city, and especially for those that arrive with car.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVinette, General Manager at Novotel Budapest City, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Budapest City.
Kindest regards,
Bruno Vinette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

All in all a pleasant stay. The remote location of the hotel did not bother us since the access to the highway is very near and easy. In addition, parking is very convenient (but too expensive) and the public transportation is at the door step and very convenient. Apart from one, all other front desk staff were very plesant and helpful. The room service was quite up to what you expect. However, the free refill of the mini bar (included in the executive room package) did happen only after we filed a complaint. The bathroom is quite small but at least modern and very clean. Considering that the sofa was used as a bed for our son, there was a lack of seats in the room. What did bother were the three following facts:
- lounge is well equipped with free Apple gear and two printers. However, printers were not working and staff said that they can't be of help to get them running but we could e-mail our stuff to them to print it for us (which we choose not to do for the private matters).
- the rather small wellness area was not very busy (which we enjoyed) but partially not well maintained. The steam bath was not convenient (not warm enough and cold water all around the floor), the sauna was ok, the pool is small but sufficient when the jet stream is operating. The latter was not the case on two of three days and the staff overlooking the area (typically reading a book) did not know how to solve the problem (and did not even try to ask someone else). Too avoid a misunderstanding: we do know that there is a push button next to the jet to get it started.
- over the weekend there were several large groups of youth sports clubs at the hotel. They showed up at breakfast all at the same time. Their behaviour (incl some of their trainers) was not quite what you would expect at a four star hotel. The hotel would have to interfere in such a situation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVinette, General Manager at Novotel Budapest City, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Novotel Budapest City. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the wellness area and the printer in the business corner, which we have since addressed.
Kind regards,
Bruno Vinette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a couple of nights in this hotel which may appear far from the city centre, but it's only a 10 minute journey by bus. The staff is friendly, proficient in several languages, the included breakfast is varied and fresh, and the rooms are perfectly neat though a bit small for my taste; they seem to have been recently renewed despite the hotel's exterior look which is probably from the early nineties. Quality of the beds and sleep is pretty good. Free wifi access throughout the hotel is always highly appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVinette, General Manager at Novotel Budapest City, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Budapest City
Best regards,
Bruno Vinette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My travel agency for a group of 76 people on a Central Europe tour selected this hotel for our stay in Budapest. Since I did not travel on our own, it's hard to assess the location, but it seemed easy for our bus to get to the hotel in Buda. The hotel was clean with good breakfast. We did not use the spa. However, the hotel gave our tour the sixth floor, which was the ONLY smoking floor in the hotel, and we were all non-smokers. It seems that lots of Europeans smoke; it did not make sense that we ended up with smoking rooms. Upon a request to switch rooms, they could not help us since "the hotel was full." My husband has asthma and it did not work well for us. I finally requested that they give us a new blanket that does not smell of smoke for the second night. We had to keep the window open and turn on the air. Pillow was too soft. Shower had only partial glass so it gets the floor all wet. It would have been a decent stay had it not been for the smoking room.

Room Tip: Upon registration, request to stay away from the sixth floor if you are not a smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVinette, General Manager at Novotel Budapest City, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you for your feedback we will look into this. Feel free to email me on h0511-gm@accor.com to discuss this further.
With kind regards,
Bruno Vinette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Particulary this Novotel property was not up to my expectations. The lobby, reception, entertainment areas had a nice design, for which we expected the same in the rooms.. That was not the case, room was small and with a very strange bathroom design. You may see the pictures uploaded by other reviewers. It's so uncomfortable, I'm not sure what they were thinking when that design was approved to be built!
Apart from the rooms, customer service was very, very poor. Ladies at the reception made a big deal while I tried to split a restaurant check between my room an another, saying it was too confusing and better do it upon check out.
They looked always very upset, and was really scared to ask something to them! So I just googled it...
Waiters at dinner had the same profile.. A real shame! You are working in hospitality..! Plus they did not speak a single word in english, or spanish, or italian, or portuguese.. We could not communicate and to order a bottle of wine took us forever and we were almost done with our dinner.
Breakfast was very good, and the young man receiving the guests and checking the room numbers before entering to the outlet was unbelievably polite and curteous, greeting us and bid farewel. Thanks to you! That's how the rest of your colleagues should be!!!

On the last night of our stay, a very strong storm hit the city and the hotel main entrance was litteraly flooded.. Another shame for the architecht buiding that hotel! Dozens of towels were accumulated at the entrance as a barricade to prevent the water from going in.. We had to go around and enter from the back side and the entrance was unusable!
Sorry to say that it was not a good experience.. Your front line staff really needs to be trained on customer service, and their grooming should also be checked by the managers..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVinette, General Manager at Novotel Budapest City, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,
I am sorry to hear that you didn’t find the service at our hotel Novotel Budapest City up to your expectations. We pride ourselves on our staff training, so this is something I will be looking into personally. Please feel free to email me on h0511-gm@accor.com to discuss further.
Kindest regards,
Bruno Vinette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Traveled with a group of 38 people. Stayed 2 days in Novotel Budapest.
1. Gave at least 10 of us smoking room instead of non-smoking. Will not change our rooms. Said they are fully booked. Poor excuse. We booked our travel at least 9 months prior. They have plenty of time to meet our request.
2. WiFi log in is poor. I wasted so much time trying to log in with no avail. On our last day, I found out the log in name is case sensitive. Ask any IT professionals and use any tablet or smart phone, you will find it is stupid to have case sensitive log in name.
3. No tea bags / instant coffee provided in room.
4. No free bottled water provided in room.

Room Tip: Toilet is separate from shower/wash room (which is good), however the toilet room is very cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVinette, General Manager at Novotel Budapest City, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,
Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at Novotel Budapest City. I’ll look into this matter for you. If you have five minutes, please write me to discuss further: h0511-gm@accor.com. Kind regards,
Bruno Vinette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#78 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 914 reviews
Novotel Budapest Danube
#48 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 981 reviews
District I / Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
#117 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#80 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Budapest City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Budapest City

Address: Alkotas Utca 63-67, Budapest 1123, Hungary (Formerly Novotel Budapest Congress)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Budapest
#50 Business Hotel in Budapest
#60 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Budapest City 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Budapest City is the premier destination for leisure and business trip to Budapest. This 4 star hotel is surrounded by picturesque chestnut trees, the hotel is close to the city centre and the historic Castle District of Buda. Enjoy the Café Lounge restaurant and take time out in our complimentary wellness area with indoor swimming pool, fitness centre and sauna and enjoy bowling facility. Free WiFi internet in the entire property and secured onsite parking is available. Shopping center is in 2 minutes walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel Budapest City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Budapest Congress Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Congress
Budapest Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Budapest City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.