We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good price, ok location, nothing else” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest to your Saves list
Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tas vezer u. 3 - 7, Budapest 1113, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #149 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
sydney
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“good price, ok location, nothing else”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

location wise, by the bottomless lake, is scenic enough - with a view of the twin spires of the cistercian church - can be quite pretty - see photo. prices are good... but this hotel has nothing much else to offer. the bed is ordinary, the furniture is quite old (unless u r lucky enough to get into the renovated wing) as mentioned by other reviewers, it is a conference hotel. fitness centre is reasonably equipped. the sauna is also decent, but i found the pool extremely small and the water very cold. ease of transportation? - not close to the clubs, and its near enough to the trams and buses that take u into the city.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    97
    109
    27
    14
See reviews for
38
77
28
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

I stayed here for four nights while attending a conference. Due to the conference I was able to get a a greatly reduced rate on a double room. Highlights include good sized rooms, a nice gym and good service. Other than its proximity to the Gellert Baths, there are no other major sights within walking range nor is there much choice of good restaurants or decent shopping nearby. Staying there for a conference, I was very disappointed, along with my colleagues that wireless internet was not free of charge. Even internet access in the business center beside the lobby was not free. Most nice hotels these days provide internet free of charge.
For business it was a nice place to stay as the hotel hosted the conference but I wouldn't recommend it for leisure travelers due to the location.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmshorn, Germany
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

great place to stay, nice rooms, clean and good breakfast.
nicely located with easy access to public transport, buy your ticket at the kiosk in the Hotel

  • Liked — location, hotel rooms
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2008

I stayed in this hotel with business for two nights. Check in was okay but staff spoke limited English. The centre of Budapest is about 45 mins in a taxi at around £20. I'd recommend using Zona taxis which give you a fixed price.

My room was on the 4th floors with views to the side. It was small in comparison to most hotel rooms. There was a tv, mini bar which was empty , no safe and a small bathroom. The room was very dated. The bathroom was clean, so clean that you could smell the very strong detergent. Lovely deep bath but the whole thing was bright yellow! however, this should not put you off!

Beds were very comfortable as the pillows and duvet were hungarian goose down! bliss after a long day of travelling.

Ate in hotel on first night. very basic foods but nice. Bar was nice too and not to badly priced. The bar/lobby area is also nice with a pianist each night playing.

the area the hotel was in was not the best and was not central to the main attractions. however as we were here on business this was not priority. To get into the centre on the night time took us 30mins and about £10 by taxi. They don't speak much English but we found them very reliable - use the recommended ones though.

The fishermans bastion, matias church and the royal palace was amazing - especially at night. Felt relatively safe in this area, as it's a closed zone. However didnt venture anywhere else due to time constraints so cannot give an opinion of budapest overall. there is as with all big cities alot of grafitti and drab looking buildings. it's very soviet in style in some areas.

Ate at the Palace Catering Winery which was an amazing cellar restaurant. Not sure of prices as our hosts paid, but food was outstanding and the atmosphere amazing. All traditional foods and wines. I'd highly recommend you try the local foods. Goulash, bulgar wheat with paprika, cinnamon bread, torkai wine, goose liver, cheese pastry & much more!

Good shops too and managed to get a few presents. seem relatively cheap as well. The aiport duty free was good also.

Overall, fantastic people. Not great at english but will always try. Very proud of their city and quite right. Hotel not for me and when we checked with our european colleagues they thought it wasn't a 4* either. I'd recommend the Hilton (fab location), the Sofietel or the intercontinental or the 4 seasons. all have great locations.

  • Liked — the duvets & pillows - home from home!
  • Disliked — the location & the room size
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

We stayed at the Flamenco hotel in mid-October 2008, and found that the hotel is okay to stay in for a city break- after all, you don't tend to spend much time in your room when there's Budapest to explore!

Our room was rather small and box-like, but had all the amenities we needed and was very clean and comfortable. The hotel itself is situated in Buda, a good walk away from the main attractions that Budapest has to offer. However, the trams, buses and metro (although dated!) run extremely efficiently and are very good value. Taxis, however, are expensive- and should be avoided when possible!

As breakfast was rather expensive, and we ate at restaurants in the city throughout our stay, we did not visit the hotel restaurant at all. The gym is very well equipped, and the pool is small and a little chilly but pleasant. However, it is definitely a pool to use for exercise, and not for relaxing in (as we quickly discovered!).

As we booked our stay through a website with an extremely good deal on, we managed to stay at the Flamenco at very competitive rates; so I would say it was good value. However, from looking at the daily room rates at reception, I would not have been too happy to spend so much money on a rather average hotel. Overall, it ticks all the boxes for a lovely city break.

  • Liked — The comfortable bed and clean room
  • Disliked — The price of food/drink (hence why it was avoided!)
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARSHALLTOWN
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
431 helpful votes 431 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

Danubius Park Hotel Flamenco
[--]


This is a large superior tourist class hotel located southwest of the Gellert hill on the Buda side of the Danube. It is a bus or tram ride away from the city center and most tourist sights. It is not near the metro, and airport access is limited to the public airport mini-shuttle (2,500 HUF one way in October 2008, tickets available at the front desk). Taxis are also available, but I try to avoid them when possible.

The hotel is large and has pleasant rooms, some of which overlook the park across the street. Windows can be opened for fresh air when the weather is good. If a third bed is in the room, space is tight. The bathroom is small but efficient.

The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. Since I had an early morning departure, they made an included box breakfast for me to take to the airport (the breakfast buffet did not start until 0700).

This is a well run hotel which caters to tour groups. The location is not ideal for individual sightseeing, but public transport is accessible, and the location probably tempers the price. Since I was on a pre-paid package tour, I cannot comment on the price or relative value.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for four nights towards the end of September 08 while on a city break in Budapest.

The hotel is ok and is pretty good value. The rooms are nothing special and are basic. Ours was clean however and had nothing much to complain about.

The hotels bar is very expensive, you would think you are staying in a 5 star given the prices and the hotel is slightly out of the way, of the city centre.

The hotel is in a couple minutes walk of the bus route, just catch the number 7 or 7E to get to the town centre which takes about 10 minutes. Budapest has a great public transport system and we never had to wait more than a few minutes for a bus.

The staff were fairly helpful and spoke reasonable English.

Wouldn't stay there again but given what we paid can't complain too much.

  • Liked — Good value
  • Disliked — Very basic, expensive bar
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest

Address: Tas vezer u. 3 - 7, Budapest 1113, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#30 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#86 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a green park only 15 minutes from the city center of Budapest. We await our guests with 355 guest rooms, a nice restaurant with vegetarian specialties and daily menus. If you prefer vibrant activity to culinary delights you can visit our fitness center free of charge during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Hotel Flamenco Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.