We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fancy Hotel, Poor treatment!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest

Save Saved
You added Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tas vezer u. 3 - 7, Budapest 1113, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 332 hotels in Budapest
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Fancy Hotel, Poor treatment!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a 4 Star Hotel, for location and amenities, but with a 1 1/2 star friendliness
in service and class. It reminded me of the Communist era style attitude that goes like this. "You, the customer,....should be grateful that you are being served" ! It started even before the moment we walked up to the Reception counter & said we had a reservation. They stared at us like we didn't belong and were ready to refuse us, although we looked presentable enough for a 4 star Hotel stay. After we checked in, we asked if there is a restaurant, so they just pointed to the corner of the Lobby without even looking up at us. We went to our room to unpack and we went straight down to the restaurant. We walked in because there was nobody at the door and a man ran after us, asking if we had a "reservation"? We didn't of course, we just arrived and if he was in the Lobby he should have seen us do that.
So he made a grand gesture by writing our name & room number into his book as he let us into a practically empty restaurant. Yes, smelled of communist democracy.
We did not complain, when we asked reception about when breakfast was being served. They said 7- 10 AM. Next morning we went down for breakfast at 9:50 AM to find the area completely shut down. When we complained they sent us to their
"Top Club" where we were able to eat breakfast. The following day we went down at 9:00 AM for breakfast and as soon as we sat down they started to take away the food. When we asked why? They said they had to get ready for the Lunch Crowd.
So when I asked what happened to the official 7-10 AM breakfast they just ignored us completely. We were booked in for 3 days and could hardly wait to get out. This Hotel is obviously geared to receiving BIG crowds, where this kind of behaviour is obviously tolerated because of the usual confusion but I will stay far away from this place in the future and recommend everyone else do the same if you want to be treated like a normal human being and a tourist, and not humiliated at every turn.

Room Tip: Wouldn't dream of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Csaba_Pokol, Manager at Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your valuable time and reviewing your stay at Danubius Hotel Flamenco.

I was happy to read that overall you were satisfied with the hotel and the amenities, but sadly all was ruined by human mistakes. I will take the liberty to forward your review to the Front Office and the Restaurant managers to take the necessary steps to prevent such problems in the future!

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write to us and detailing the experiences during your stay.
Please accept our apologies! We hope that you will favor our hotel with the possibility to prove our true hospitality during a next visit.

With kind regards,

Csaba Pokol
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    121
    110
    29
    12
See reviews for
29
68
23
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Located on the Buda side of the city, this hotel has a great view of a nice park and a pond and it is close to the tram stop. Catching number 49 you can have a ride towards the lively and more attractive side of the city. You can buy tram tickets from the hotel vendor but they sell a bit expensive. The breakfasts were fairly good during my three day accommodation. Rooms would be better but thanks to the quiet district the hotel stands in, a nice sleep is guaranted.

Room Tip: Picking a room that faces the park if possible would be great for any guest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Csaba_Pokol, Manager at Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us!

We are happy to know that you enjoyed the sleep quality of our room, which due to the quiet neighborhood is one of our mayor benefit.

We do hope to welcome you in our Danubius Hotel Flamenco in the near future!

With kind regards,

Csaba Pokol
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 5 nights, and i was annoyed with myself for not doing better research...! If you need a quiet getaway - remember this hotel has conference facilities so it caters for large number of people. It is not quiet romantic - it is a busy hotel with people in and out all day - breakfast was a pain some mornings - overcrowded.

BUT - one can see that the hotel is geared up to service numbers. Service is good, breakfast is excellent, never run out of food even during peak times. Additional service like WiFi, laundry, restaurants, health facilities are great.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room when you book...! The view at the back rooms are not as great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Csaba_Pokol, Manager at Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank you for reviewing your stay and experiences at our hotel!

It is good to hear that you were satisfied with the services and quality of the hotel and the breakfast!

We suggest booking our Executive rooms as guests staying there can use our Executive Lounge where breakfast is served only for those guests thus avoiding the sometimes crowded breakfast in the restaurant, or when the weather allows it having breakfast on the terrace of our restaurant which faces the park.

With kind regards,

Csaba Pokol
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mijnsheerenland, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is worth every penny!! It is situated 5 minutes from public transportation.The rooms are very comfortable. The terrace has quite a space. There is also a parking inside as well a swimming-pool! In short: it is a must for someone who want some rest and silence.

Room Tip: Just book this hotel if you want a nice and payable place!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Csaba_Pokol, Manager at Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank you for highlighting the hotel's good connection to public transportation with which the downtown can be reached in 15 minutes.
We are happy that you enjoyed our swimming pool with is free of charge for our guests together with the Danubius Premier Fitness Center.

With kind regards,

Csaba Pokol
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed at the Danubius Flamenco Hotel for 3 weeks as part of the World Youth Handball Championships and enjoyed a good level of service and warm attention from the very helpful staff. The hotel provided good quality and variety of food, accommodated the demands of 23 visiting handball teams from around the world and offered advice and support whenever required. If I am being critical, I would say that the building a décor is a bit tired and could do with some modernisation, but my room was very comfy, the air con worked fine and the shower was always warm. I would be happy to come back to this hotel again and would recommend to anyone who wanted a decent place to stay, just slightly out from the centre. Good transport links on tram and bus, and a safe neighbourhood.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Csaba_Pokol, Manager at Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us!
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We are continuously working to make our services better and to keep the hotel up-to-date.

Thank you for recommending us!

We would be happy to welcome you again in our hotel!

Kind regards,

Csaba Pokol
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Reserved a suite for a one week stay, suite was very large which was nice but water from the shower ran orange from rust for about 10 minutes before coming somewhat clear, the air conditioner just kind of wheezed without cooling at all. Parking is somewhat of a pain in the neck as well, cannot recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Csaba_Pokol, Manager at Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest!

First of all please accept our apologies for the inconvenience with the bathroom!

We hope that you will grant us your trust for staying with us during your next visit to Budapest!

Please note that the hotel has two parking options; an open-air parking lot and a garage, which has to be reserved in advance as it has limited capacity.

With kind regards,

Csaba Pokol
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Much Wenlock
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My family stayed 8 nights in 2 rooms at the Danubius Hotel Flamenco in Budapest and had a wonderful time in this breathtaking city. We had hoped to book a suite but were happy with the allocated rooms. The staff were very obliging and all spoke good English, giving excellent advice about local amenities and the best way to travel to the Hungarian Grand Prix.

The lobby (free wifi) was comfortable and always busy with conferences taking place and also several coach tours arriving and departing. The hotel is situated next to a delightful small park in Buda, a short tram ride away from the River Danube and the city centre.

Breakfast was excellent and filled us up for the day. We didn't take any other meals at the hotel but instead would eat out each evening, mostly in Pest.

Room Tip: Ensure you have air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest

Address: Tas vezer u. 3 - 7, Budapest 1113, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#22 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#83 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a green park only 15 minutes from the city center of Budapest. We await our guests with 355 guest rooms, a nice restaurant with vegetarian specialties and daily menus. If you prefer vibrant activity to culinary delights you can visit our fitness center free of charge during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Hotel Flamenco Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.