We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest to your Saves list
Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tas vezer u. 3 - 7, Budapest 1113, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Kiev,Ua
Level Contributor
118 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a good budget hotel. Staff does not have the knowledge of the Ukrainian language but speaks English and German. Free internet access from the hall. The rooms are comfortable.
Breakfast possible on the terrace - I liked their vegetable salad. Near the park with a lake and a tram line to the city center.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    165
    142
    42
    16
See reviews for
57
122
39
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
278 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Danubius is a budget hotel catering to the budget traveler and tour groups. It is in a residential neighborhood on the Buda side of Budapest and somewhat removed from the 'tourist' areas of the city. It is a long walk or a cab ride away from most of the 'Budapest attractions'. The room and bathroom were compact and clean. The mattress was standard, hotel grade firm. The air conditioning was able to cool the room temperature to an acceptable temperature within an acceptable period of time in our north facing room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poteau
Level Contributor
109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed 5 days at the Danubuis Flamenco Hotel. The hotel lobby was very nice as was the spa. The food was good but not great. The staff were polite and helpful. These areas seem as a 4 star hotel should be. The rooms are not a 4 star level, they were clean but small and had tiny bathrooms. Our AC did not work very good however the weather was cool so we kept the window open. The poor AC is the only reason I did not rate this hotel very good. I liked the location, very quite with a park across the street. It is not that long of a walk to the Danube and the great market, Vaci Utca, ect. Tram 61 stops on the corner by the hotel, one direction the line ends in a few blocks where you can change to 47or 49 on into Pest. The opposite direction is a good way to go to the castle district. We had 24 hour passes which were great to hop on and off all over town, never saw anyone checked for transportation tickets or passes anywhere during our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

This hotel does not deserve its 4 star rating. Many of the staff are, at best, indifferent, unhelpful or rude. On 2 separate occasions cleaning staff entered our room without knocking at 8am! The tablecloths in the dining room were filthy - the dining room staff simply brushed crumbs and other food detritus onto the floor with their hands and there were dried on stains that had been there for what looked like days! Do not expect any kind of personal service or help from the ill-named "information desk" - when I asked for help with my wifi connection they simply shrugged and said they'd never seen a kindle before. I've never written a review before but this was so awful I felt compelled! Go somewhere (anywhere!) else!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lichfield
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This hotel is in good location for tourists. The breakfast was very good, with plenty of variety and choice. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms, however, are somewhat tired and the airconditioning was very poor. Our room did not get cool enough to sleep in until 5 am.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing east to avoid the afternoon sun heating up your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullompton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I was booked in to this hotel as part of a tour with Cosmos. Stayed for 1 night, the last one of the hoilday.
No problem with the hotel. The staff were not particularly friendly - bar staff could be better and not so keen to automatically keep a tip instead of giving change.
The room was clean,airy with a good view of the Buda hills. There were tea/coffee cups and a kettle provided but the house keeping staff refused to provide milk, tea or coffee.
The excuse was that Cosmos had got the rooms at a good deal and this was not included. The hotel have lost a lot of goodwill and possible return visits by most of the group, for a minimal investment which could have been so easily rectified.
This will not endear me to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szeged, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This hotel should be what we call cheap and cheerful.

Does it deliver? Let us see.

Pros
-value for money
-excellent location
-nice view from the room
-unforced charm of the Socialist era
-needs a revamp, but not too shabby
-has a swimming pool

Cons
-featured one of the attributes I hate, loathe and despise: dirty walls
-no slippers provided
-no soap, shower gel, shampoo etc. only a dispenser on the wall

On the staff:
Now that is where it gets frustrating. At check-out I indicated that I wanted to use my SZÉP Card. This is what happens: The guy says no problem. He swipes my card, waits a few seconds then all he says is "It is rejected". Right after that he goes like "I assume you do not have sufficient funds on your account". Not even once does he address me as "Sir". Then I tell him "there are such and such sub accounts, you should try such and such because that is the one I put my money on". He gives it another go and surprise, surprise: it works.

Now what's wrong there is:
A) He tries once, fails and stops trying as his initial reaction is to assume I am a cheat. That is just plain rude.
B) He does not have enough information on one of the cards they do accept. He does not use his own initiative. I need to suggest he does this and that. When it works, he does not apologize.

Not a bad hotel at all, but I would not go out of my way to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
3.4 mi away
Danubius Hotel Arena
Danubius Hotel Arena
#183 of 334 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rubin Wellness & Conference Hotel Budapest
3.4 mi away
ACHAT Premium Hotel Budapest
ACHAT Premium Hotel Budapest
#121 of 334 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Expo Congress Hotel
Expo Congress Hotel
#132 of 334 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Budapest
Hotel Budapest
#160 of 334 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
1.6 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Budapest
Leonardo Hotel Budapest
#138 of 334 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest

Address: Tas vezer u. 3 - 7, Budapest 1113, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#24 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#75 Family Hotel in Budapest
#79 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a green park only 15 minutes from the city center of Budapest. We await our guests with 355 guest rooms, a nice restaurant with vegetarian specialties and daily menus. If you prefer vibrant activity to culinary delights you can visit our fitness center free of charge during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Hotel Flamenco Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.