We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money,great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Griff Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Griff Hotel to your Saves list
Griff Hotel
XI. Bartok Bela ut, 152, Budapest H-1113, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #273 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value for money,great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed at griff hotel for 3 nights, its in a really good location for exploring the beautiful city of budapest.
The breakfast was very good in the morning with a choice of fruits , cereals , toast , hot dogs , omlette , ham
The only problem was there tv in the room looked like it could be suited for a museum,no cable tv, no channels in English.
The receptionists were a bit rude, except Victoria,Victoria was extremely polite, helpful,friendly and very professional at her job,and she made me feel happy and welcome in the hotel.
The hotel has super transport links to the city with the 19 and 49 tram service outside the hotel.
Its in a very peaceful location, no noise and has an excellent wifi service in the lobby of the hotel.
Overall very pleased with my stay and would definetly stay here again :) great value for money :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    16
    5
    12
See reviews for
9
12
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Germering, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

I spent 4 nights in this hotel. It´s a good base camp for discovering the Hungarian capital, but don´t expect much in terms of charms and looks. The hotel occupies a typical huge, ugly concrete building dating back to communist days. It´s about a 20-minute-tram ride away from downtown Budapest. The tram station is just across the street, a bus and a train station are about 500m away.

The staff do their job but, as was the rule in Hungary, weren´t too friendly. The included breakfast (buffet style) was ample and quite good, especially for being a three-star hotel. Wi-fi (unprotected) was available in the lobby.

The room was spacious and really OK. The beds were more comfortable than was to be expected by the looks of it. Be warned however - this hotel is popular with young people, especially on school excursions, so have some ear plugs at hand ;-). The bathroom was well-equipped and I´ve never come across a hotel with better supply of hot water.

All in all a good option for travelers on a budget not looking for a cozy place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

I stayed here for 3 weeks when volunteering in Budapest. Its location was superb, right by a bus and tram stop, near a station, a short tram hop to the Metro. Ideal as not right in the busy city, more in residential suburbs, which I prefer. With city transport so frequent and cheap, location is not a problem. The spa and gym facilities were excellent, the rooms were standard business-type. Breakfast was very good, and dinner was fine - nothing to write home about, but I was having a set 3-course meal and not a la carte, which looked superior. Wi-fi (free) is best in the lobby, and can be very slow - this is more a Budapest problem in some areas rather than a hotel problem. Would use again, and the staff are helpful and anxious to pee.

Room Tip: The lower floors (1st and 2nd) have the rooms recently redecorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mid wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Good Budget Hotel, Good Access by Public Transport. I stayed for 9 nights Halfboard June 2011 £250 Single traveller retired. I found the Management and Bar/ Restaruant Staff Excellent, Receptionist Efficient but not sociable ( A bit Up Herself). Food was acceptable, Drinks reasonably priced. Rooms Large clean with mini bar and TV only cnn and Sky sport in english Room sevice every day with loads of clean towels. If you want 5*+ Pay for it . This is a Budget Hotel at reasonable price with Hungarian Food, Spa Sauna Gym

Room Tip: Best deals through Travel republic or Yeego
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

There were a lot of students staying in the hotel at the time of our visit and every night there was excessive noise from the corridor, the rooms either side & from above. There was no sound proofing & I feel like I haven't slept for 3 nights.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zemun, Serbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

Me and my girlfriend stayed at Griff hotel for the New Year 2010. We did not expect much, and was pleasantly surprised with some of the aspects of the hotel.

The hotel itself is located 15 minutes of train ride from the Danube river. The neighborhood is very quiet, and you can get quite night's rest.

The hotel is clean both in corridors and outside. You can see that they renovated interior hall and the desk. Staff is nice.

Breakfast is very good, plenty food to choose from, and each day something new on the menu.

The bathroom is clean and functional. You don't get hotel shampoo and shower gel, but this is 3* hotel, so I guess that it's OK. The rooms have two closets, plenty of drawers, a TV set, glasses, wine glasses, coffee cups and mini bar which is not that expensive. Room was also clean. What I did not like with the room is the bed. It was too soft for my taste and the mattress was a bit smaller then a bed itself. There was no hairdryer, and this was the biggest letdown.

All in all, this was good hotel for the money we have paid. We did not spend that much time in the hotel anyway, so this was a good deal to us.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

Great 3* hotel, good location, excellent breakfast ...

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Lucky
#210 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Hid Hotel
#166 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#143 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantic Hotel
#195 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Hotel Pest Inn
#193 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baross City Hotel
Baross City Hotel
#158 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griff Hotel

Address: XI. Bartok Bela ut, 152, Budapest H-1113, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 108
Also Known As:
Griff Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Griff Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.