We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Griff Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Griff Hotel to your Saves list
Griff Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   XI. Bartok Bela ut, 152, Budapest H-1113, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #239 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
mid wales
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Good Budget Hotel, Good Access by Public Transport. I stayed for 9 nights Halfboard June 2011 £250 Single traveller retired. I found the Management and Bar/ Restaruant Staff Excellent, Receptionist Efficient but not sociable ( A bit Up Herself). Food was acceptable, Drinks reasonably priced. Rooms Large clean with mini bar and TV only cnn and Sky sport in english Room sevice every day with loads of clean towels. If you want 5*+ Pay for it . This is a Budget Hotel at reasonable price with Hungarian Food, Spa Sauna Gym

Room Tip: Best deals through Travel republic or Yeego
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    15
    3
    6
See reviews for
8
10
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

There were a lot of students staying in the hotel at the time of our visit and every night there was excessive noise from the corridor, the rooms either side & from above. There was no sound proofing & I feel like I haven't slept for 3 nights.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zemun, Serbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

Me and my girlfriend stayed at Griff hotel for the New Year 2010. We did not expect much, and was pleasantly surprised with some of the aspects of the hotel.

The hotel itself is located 15 minutes of train ride from the Danube river. The neighborhood is very quiet, and you can get quite night's rest.

The hotel is clean both in corridors and outside. You can see that they renovated interior hall and the desk. Staff is nice.

Breakfast is very good, plenty food to choose from, and each day something new on the menu.

The bathroom is clean and functional. You don't get hotel shampoo and shower gel, but this is 3* hotel, so I guess that it's OK. The rooms have two closets, plenty of drawers, a TV set, glasses, wine glasses, coffee cups and mini bar which is not that expensive. Room was also clean. What I did not like with the room is the bed. It was too soft for my taste and the mattress was a bit smaller then a bed itself. There was no hairdryer, and this was the biggest letdown.

All in all, this was good hotel for the money we have paid. We did not spend that much time in the hotel anyway, so this was a good deal to us.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

Great 3* hotel, good location, excellent breakfast ...

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2007

I stayed at this hotel off and on throughout 2005. (About 10+ times.) The people were very helpful and the hotel was a good place, and generally, a great location. I'll be traveling back to Budapest this summer and plan on staying at Griff again!

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — If there is a group of kids, it can be loud (tell them to be quiet and they will be OK.)
  • Stayed April 2005, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2007

I had a prepaid reservation for (4) nights thru yeego.com. When I arrived I was told that due to a Conference in the city I did not have a room and they wanted me to stay at another hotel. After quite a bit of negotiations, I agreedd to stay at another hotel for one night which was not at good location. They provided the taxi both ways.
The price was very good and the tram stop is just in front of the hotel. So one can go anywhere very easily. The free map you get at the hotel shows all tram, bus and metro routes. Has fitness center which I did not use.
The breakfast was very good but the dining room is small.The room was outdated but clean. Shower curtain could not hold the water so the bathroom got wet. There was no shampoo only the semi liguid soap from the dispenser.
Staff was helpful. Internet was very expensive so I used the Cafes in the city.
I will stay at this hotel again for its price and convenient nearby tram stop.

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2005

This was a wonderful hotel. There was a spa and a fitness room. There was also a business lounge. The staff was very friendly and the meals were awesome. The rooms were good. The only problem I had was trying to get the doors open...they are a little tricky. This hotel is really good, especially for European standards. The only drawback is that the hotel is located a small distance from Central Budapest and so you have to take the 19 or 49 tram in order to get there. However, it is not a big deal because the hotel sells tickets and the stop is right outside the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Griff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griff Hotel

Address: XI. Bartok Bela ut, 152, Budapest H-1113, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Griff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere so you can book your Griff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griff Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Griff Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.