We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All in all, it was quite good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Park Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Park Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   VIII Baross ter, 10, Budapest 1082, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #159 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“All in all, it was quite good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I went here with my friends on excursion. The hotel is situated in the city centre, right across the Keleti Palyaudvar, or the Keleti railway station. It is just 15 minutes away from Vaci ut, the main street in Budapest when you walk, and just 5 minutes away by bus. It has 6 floors. I was on the fifth one, the rooms are good, but the beds were old and uncomfortable. The toilette was good, you have hot water in the toilette. You can watch TV, but we were said that we had to pay for it to watch it. You have free WiFi in the whole hotel, a good signal as well. The food was quite good, you have menu for dinner, and buffet for breakfast, a good choice of food. The staff don't speak english very well. No one in Hungary speaks english well, but you'll have to settle down and relax. Good hotel in my opinion.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    187
    170
    82
    52
See reviews for
70
230
37
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a nice choice if you have to stay in Budapest for a few days only. The hotel is right next to the Keleti railway station. It is a huge building, with very basic rooms which are - let say - moderately clean. Staff is helpful and breakfast is absolutely amazing with very many types and varieties of food. I recommend this place for travelling around Hungary or for backpackers or for those who want good sleap quality for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent, england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed here from Friday to Sunday with 11 others for my stag weekend and we cannot fault the place. Even though our goal was to drink a lot and have a bloody good laugh we also spent some time in the hotel. The food wasn't typically British but guess what YOU'RE IN HUNGARY!, it was more than adequate. The room was fine, bed was small but comfortable, bathroom was clean, that was all we needed. The others agreed it was more than ok. We had more than a few beers in the late morning and early evening getting to know the barmaid Anita who was so friendly and we agreed we will all be back. If you want 5* go elsewhere, if you want a bed, a shower, friendly bar staff and foreign food that's pretty good then come here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I can't be kind to this hotel. Please, DON'T sleep here if you have another option available.

The room I was given was terribly small, and smelled funny. The sheets and pillow looked clean, but had a very weird feeling, not fresh at all. The TV was a relic from the 90's, not that I care much about watching TV in a foreign country, but ate up a lot of desk space. And the rest of the furniture consisted in just a very small closet in the entrance and a nightstand (not even drawers).

Location seems OK, right next to the Keleti train station, but it's really not. Lots of shady people in the streets, and it's quite a walk to the city center, so be prepared to take the underground every day.

I won't complain about the service because they were friendly and helpful, but I'm really sorry to say that the rest was really awful.

The 4-star rating must really be a joke.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bijeljina, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

When thinking about this hotel, “average” and "OK" are the words that will come up all the time. This is an average hotel, with an average to OK service, on a kind of OK location (depending on what you are looking for).

Good thing is that it’s not expensive, it’s very close to the metro and the Railway station (good if you travel by train, bad for the neighborhood), and there is a huge parking just across the street.

The hotel itself is pretty much worn out, but the service manages to keep it reasonably clean. Our room was spacious, with a nice view and large enough bathroom. The furniture was mostly a bit tired, but OK. However, we had a nice sleep and it served its purpose.

The breakfast offer was OK, somewhat limited, but same as with the room – it served its purpose.

Service at the reception was efficient, polite and helpful.

Golden Park Hotel is an OK choice for a short stay in the city, especially if you are traveling on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

the location is very far from the city center (45minutes walking). At first our room' door was broken seems that someone had violated the room. We asked for another room and the staff moved us immediately. However, nice hotel, clean, small rooms but it was ok

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I was looking for a good hotel close to the railway station and this one is the right one. Nice rooms with everything you need , clean , not noisy at all . Very friendly staff , helpful and efficient. Very good breakfast with a lot of choice and super efficient service ( I have never seen so many employees available to change plates and keep everything at your disposal). Wi Fi in the lobby and a business room with a computer . All that for only 42 Pounds plus the local tax 4%. Really good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Park Hotel

Address: VIII Baross ter, 10, Budapest 1082, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star Golden Park Hotel Budapest can be a perfect starting point of your itinerary in the city of Budapest and its features guarantee an ideal stay for those who visit Budapest for business purposes. The 100 year old impressive building of the hotel can be found on Baross square opposite Eastern Railway Station (Keleti pu.), the most important transportation center of the city. The cultural center of Budapest, with the Danube, the Parliament and the Vaci street can be reached by public transport in a couple of minutes.Golden Park Hotel Budapest provides a location close to all significant sights and tourist attractions, the City Park and the Arena Plaza, one of Europe’s largest shopping centers can be reached in a 10 minutes walk.In the 179 comfortable rooms of the fully restored Golden Park Hotel the relaxing nights are guaranteed.Our guests can choose from the rooms of seven floors (a floor exclusively for non smokers among them). Our interior designers created rooms that reflect the values of simple elegance, comfort and handiness; the rooms’ services are ensured by the high quality work of our excellent staff.On the top floor of the hotel there are rooms designed in the spirit of minimal art. Fashionable colors, forms, furniture, and the topmost floor’s charms, with a stunning city panorama gleaming through the windows - the more nights you spend here, the more you become attached to it.The rooms are equipped with noise-safe windows, individually-controlled air conditioning, satellite TV channels, phones, in room safe deposit box, refrigerator and hairdryer. To guarantee our guests’ safety, all rooms have electronic swipe cards and smoke detectors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Park Budapest
Hotel Golden Park
Golden Park Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.