We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opposite metro station,” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Park Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Park Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   VIII Baross ter, 10, Budapest 1082, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #168 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
sydney
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Opposite metro station,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights. Had spacious room which could fit 5 suitcases, but no balcony only window facing the street. Other rooms that had balcony were smaller and had insufficient room for suitcases. Our bathroom was small, the toilet was situated right behind the door, so if my husband wanted to come in, the door would bang onto my knee.
Shower was tiny, and even with a shower curtain was difficult to scrub, Plus the shower hob is low so water will disperse everywhere.

Hotel had many facilities, included a shop, bar, pool table, lounges. Breakfast was excellent!! Variety of hot food, including sausage, eggs, french toast, vegetables, bacon. Had variety of salads, breads and cakes.

Great thing about this hotel is its opposite a metro station which would be about 4 stops away from the main shopping strip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    242
    217
    106
    69
See reviews for
88
285
51
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel is not fancy, but neither is the price. It was clean with adequate room for our "stuff". The complimentary breakfast was what you wanted to make it, with choices of meat, eggs, cereal, fruit, and buns and Danishes. The staff was accommodating, and the location was right next to the west train station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had read reviews before we went so requested a non smoking room when we arrived which we were given. The room was very small and because of this the walls were scuffed with dirty marks. The bathroom was clean but the towels had holes in them and were frayed down the edges, should have been thrown away. The carpet in the room was dirty.
However, the beds were comfortable and as we were not on the main road, not too noisy. The breakfast was good with plently of choice and the staff friendly. We got a really cheap deal so it was worth the money but it should not be classed as a 4*.
We ate twice in the Italian restaurant which is attached to the hotel. The first time we had pizza which were very good and reasonably priced. The second time we chose pasta which we were not impressed with, very salty. If you want a pizza then I would recommend it.
It is easy to get around, the no 7 or 173 bus from across the road or the metro 2 (red line) down the steps to the right of the main door. We bought 3 day tickets which can be used on the bus, train, tram and metro which were approx £12 each, well worth it. Getting from the airport is not quite straight forward. Get the 200E bus at the airport, get off at the terminus where you get the blue metro to Derk Ferenc change to red metro to Keleti station, you will see the hotel when you go up the stairs of the metro.
Budapest itself is a lovely city and I would recommend a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

First of all let's get the negatives out of the way. The coffee, as previously indicated, was awful. However they have installed an automatic machine, which is a big improvement. The rooms we had were small so I wouldn't want to spend more than a weekend in there. Finally, the carpet throughout the hotel could be doing with getting replaced. So, now for the good points. We paid less than £500 for 3 nights, 2 rooms bed & breakfast, (including flights) this was excellent value. Thw rooms were cleaned everyday and were very comfortable. The Breakfast, other than the coffee, was good and filling. The staff were very helpful thoughout the stay. The location is across from Keleti Station but this did not impact on our stay. We asked for a high floor which we got, so little impact from the hustle and bustle of life in Budapest. We were across from one of the pick ups for the hop-on, hop-off bus, we got the Red Bus, which was good value for money (less than £60 for 4 people, valid 48 hours). If you wanted to walk to the main shopping area put aside at least 30 minutes. We will return to Budapest and would stay at Golden Park with no hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor as this takes you awat from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This hotel is perfectly located if your destination is Keleti station and makes a good overnight stop if one has an early train out of Budapest the following day. It's positives are its location - a stone's throw from Keleti Station and its proximity to the superb Rosenstein restaurant which is on a street at the back of the block containing the hotel. The rooms were plainly furnished but spotlessly clean. The hotel bar offered a range of wine by the glass and the bar woman was immensely jolly.Negatives were a dodgy plug - my mobile phone did not charge overnight and an absence of fruit or yoghurt on an otherwise plentiful breakfast buffet. We were pleased that we were charged a reasonable rate for a Saturday night only booking on a weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Lake, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Booked this hotel two months in advance through a major internet travel site. Printed voucher from travel site, validated by the hotel, stated that complimentary breakfast was included in the price. Also, hotel website stated that they had three floors of non-smoking rooms. I emailed the hotel in advanced and asked for a non-smoking room. Upon arrival we were booked into a smoking room that made your eyes water. I insisted on a non-smoking room and eventually got a postage stamp sized room, advertised as non-smoking. While the room itself smelled OK, the hallways reeked of cigarette smoke. The first morning we went for breakfast and were refused a complimentary breakfast. When I inquired at the desk they stated that my room price did not include breakfast. I showed them the printed voucher, stating that breakfast was included. There reply was that the booking site made a mistake. The front desk staff was unfriendly, unhelpful, and generally rude. I would never stay at this hotel again and have advised all my traveling friends to avoid it like the plague!

Room Tip: To my knowledge there are no good rooms in the hotel unless you are a chain smoker!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

More like a 3 star but probably rated more due to having a spa. Our room was very big, looked like 2 rooms joined together. We didn't find it too noisy seens as it was on a main road and opposite train station. Breakfast good, not brilliant. We ate twice at the italian restaurant attached to the hotel which was very nice and very cheap, would recommend this,especially the tiramisu in a cup! The hop on/off bus is great and the operetta ship with meal and entertainment is a must. Pre book a taxi as it costs a bomb to just flag one down. All in all it was good for a 3 night stay. Use the free hungarian goulash voucher with the hop on/off bus. the panaramic views from the citadel restaurant are amazing and the best of buda and pest.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#161 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baross City Hotel
Baross City Hotel
#158 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#143 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ACHAT Premium Hotel Budapest
#122 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria
#147 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 770 reviews
Gellert Hill
Hotel Mediterran
Hotel Mediterran
#123 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Park Hotel

Address: VIII Baross ter, 10, Budapest 1082, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star Golden Park Hotel Budapest can be a perfect starting point of your itinerary in the city of Budapest and its features guarantee an ideal stay for those who visit Budapest for business purposes. The 100 year old impressive building of the hotel can be found on Baross square opposite Eastern Railway Station (Keleti pu.), the most important transportation center of the city. The cultural center of Budapest, with the Danube, the Parliament and the Vaci street can be reached by public transport in a couple of minutes.Golden Park Hotel Budapest provides a location close to all significant sights and tourist attractions, the City Park and the Arena Plaza, one of Europe’s largest shopping centers can be reached in a 10 minutes walk.In the 179 comfortable rooms of the fully restored Golden Park Hotel the relaxing nights are guaranteed.Our guests can choose from the rooms of seven floors (a floor exclusively for non smokers among them). Our interior designers created rooms that reflect the values of simple elegance, comfort and handiness; the rooms’ services are ensured by the high quality work of our excellent staff.On the top floor of the hotel there are rooms designed in the spirit of minimal art. Fashionable colors, forms, furniture, and the topmost floor’s charms, with a stunning city panorama gleaming through the windows - the more nights you spend here, the more you become attached to it.The rooms are equipped with noise-safe windows, individually-controlled air conditioning, satellite TV channels, phones, in room safe deposit box, refrigerator and hairdryer. To guarantee our guests’ safety, all rooms have electronic swipe cards and smoke detectors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Golden Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Park Budapest
Hotel Golden Park
Golden Park Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.