We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Park Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Park Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   VIII Baross ter, 10, Budapest 1082, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #159 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location, good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Great location. Main train station is just across the street, and the metro station entrance is 5-second (yes, second not minute) away from the hotel lobby. Unless you prefer walking to the city center, it's an ideal location to stay as taking metro is extremely convenient. That said, the area around the hotel itself is not pleasant to hang around (i.e., you'll have to take metro to somewhere else). There is a renovation going on in the train station square and I hope that the are will be nicer after a year or so. Breakfast is gorgeous and the dining hall is huge. The room is quite large and the sound-proof is good (although it's close to a busy street). The hotel front desk sells various tours. If you only stay about three days in Budapest, the hop-on and -off bus tour may be worth to consider as it is valid for two days and brings you to almost all nicest places in both Buda and Pest (and it includes two cruises in the ticket).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    187
    170
    82
    52
See reviews for
70
230
37
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Was very cheap to stay here, as we booked it as a package holiday. Location is a 30 min walk to the centre of Budapest, our room was tiny and on the main road so very noisy - air con was inadequate and we had to open the window. Bar in the foyer is small and closes early, staff ranged between very nice and damn right rude, also be prepared for paying over the odds here and a 10% service charge added to your bill- even if it is just a coffee! Was reasonably clean and adequate enough, although our shower was powerfull, EVERY time it was used it flooded the bathroom floor as there was just a flimsy shower curtain and a circular shower which didnt hold the water! Would not stay here again - fine if your just looking for a bed for a night or two but absolutely not worthy of its 4 star status.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venice
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The hotel was clean the service was friendly.It is advertised as a 4 star but it is more an excellent 2 star or a good 3 star. The breakfast was very average, there was a lot of it but not very good. The tea, coffee and orange juice were terrible.

The room was clean but needed painting and new carpet. The price was good but the area was very busy (the hotel is right in front of the tram and train station) & about a 30 min walk to the centre.. It shouldn't be listed as a 4 star!! The last night we hardly got any sleep due to the hotel being taken over by students..when we finally called the reception at 3am, the noise stopped. Do not go to the Italian restaurant next to the hotel..it was overpriced and the pasta was overcooked. Overall...what you pay, is what you get (we paid 45 euro a night for double room). The airport shuttle is an excellent service and worth paying the money..it was very cheap 15 euro return from the airport to the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medias
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The hotel has a great location near the Keleti international railway station. Local transportation to this location seems to be very good as well, I had little trouble getting back here from wherever the city tour buses happened to let me stranded at the end of their running hours.

The rooms are on the small side and better pray that they don't force you to stay in a smoking room. Despite my explicit request at booking time they assigned me one of those rooms and the air inside was unbreathable. I was lucky though and upon requesting a room change they were able to give me one without nicotine :)

Breakfast: OK-ish. Staff: OK-ish.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the inside "courtyard" are very quiet, but if they're on the lower le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osijek
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

If you are looking for a hotel near train station just to sleep over, this is OK hotel, but if you are staying for few days, look further.
Rooms are extremely small. 2.5 x2 m2, bed, table and 2 chairs, you can't normally pass from one side of the room to the other. No place to put luggage down.
Bathroom is also very small, and has no shelves where to put your cosmetics.
Breakfast is eatable, but stay away from coffee.
The noise outside is horrible thanks to the traffic so keep your windows closed.
Some of the stuff were very nice and helpful.
Cleaning ladies come every half an hour and just bump in without knocking inside the room

Although it says it is a SPA i didn't see any SPA features except sauna.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

After reading some bad comments about the hotel we where a bit anxious about what we were going to see. We have booked our room really cheap, it was an offer actually so we didn't expected much. The hotel was easily reachable with bus 200E from the airport and then Metro 3 and Metro 2. In fact, the metro station is just outside the hotel's door. The exterior of the building was lovely, it looked like a tower of some kind. The lobby was full of light, had a souvenir shop, a bar and provided a Wi-Fi connection as well as a bussiness room with a pc. The stuff was very helpful although there was a misunderstanding whereas the breakfast was included in our booking. Although, after producing an email they have sent us saying that yes we had booked breakfast the problem was solved. Our room was a triple one in the 6th floor. There were two lifts and the stuff took our things to the room. We were very happy about our room. It was big enough for the three of us. The third bed was the sofa which was big enough for two people to sleep on, not one. Anyway, there were two tables, two armchairs and a chair, a TV with both national and international channels such as CNN and TV5 and a wardrobe. Also, it had five windows with curtains for the night to block the light. The bed was very comfortable but somebody might find the sofa a bit hard to sleep on. The bathroom was spacious and clean. There was a soap provided near the basin and a sampoo and shower gel in the bathtub. Now, the breakfast was held in an enormus room in the half flloor. It had a huge variety of foods. Sparkling eggs, omelettes, boiled eggs, french toast, sausages, a variety of salads and fruit salads, a variety of ham and cheese, coffee, milk, cereals, jams, honey, sweets, pancakes,juices etc.. The breakfast was soo good that we weren't hungry till 6 o'clock.
There is a tram station on the right of the hotel and various buses stop across the street outside the Keleti station. If we were going to Budapest again we would certainly book that hotel again. Don't be affected by the bad reviews!! Maybe not the 4 star hotel that you expect but certainly good enough! :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

It is a basic 2.5 star hotel, rooms small as usual in Europe, water pressure good, shower tight but fine, sleep quality okay, bed a bit hard, depends on your tastes, breakfast is so-so, coffee and juice weren't worth the effort to get them, location to metro line was awesome, straight of the red metro line and into the hotel, for sightseeing 1-3 night this hotel is fine if you room is just for sleeping and storing your stuff. For it rating and price it is an acceptable option is Budapest, free wifi in hotel lobby only. Shopping centre 1 km west, and has a gluten free store in it that is very good.

Room Tip: Room near reception will get the free wifi range but more hallway noise, it's a trade off depend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Park Hotel

Address: VIII Baross ter, 10, Budapest 1082, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star Golden Park Hotel Budapest can be a perfect starting point of your itinerary in the city of Budapest and its features guarantee an ideal stay for those who visit Budapest for business purposes. The 100 year old impressive building of the hotel can be found on Baross square opposite Eastern Railway Station (Keleti pu.), the most important transportation center of the city. The cultural center of Budapest, with the Danube, the Parliament and the Vaci street can be reached by public transport in a couple of minutes.Golden Park Hotel Budapest provides a location close to all significant sights and tourist attractions, the City Park and the Arena Plaza, one of Europe’s largest shopping centers can be reached in a 10 minutes walk.In the 179 comfortable rooms of the fully restored Golden Park Hotel the relaxing nights are guaranteed.Our guests can choose from the rooms of seven floors (a floor exclusively for non smokers among them). Our interior designers created rooms that reflect the values of simple elegance, comfort and handiness; the rooms’ services are ensured by the high quality work of our excellent staff.On the top floor of the hotel there are rooms designed in the spirit of minimal art. Fashionable colors, forms, furniture, and the topmost floor’s charms, with a stunning city panorama gleaming through the windows - the more nights you spend here, the more you become attached to it.The rooms are equipped with noise-safe windows, individually-controlled air conditioning, satellite TV channels, phones, in room safe deposit box, refrigerator and hairdryer. To guarantee our guests’ safety, all rooms have electronic swipe cards and smoke detectors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Park Budapest
Hotel Golden Park
Golden Park Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.