We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of different services, but nothing exceptional” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hunguest Platanus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hunguest Platanus Hotel to your Saves list
Hunguest Platanus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Konyves K. krt. 44, Budapest 1087, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #238 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Budapest
1 review
“A lot of different services, but nothing exceptional”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This hotel is quite comfortable, with a lot of services, but everything was nothing more than acceptable, expect for the location, that is about 30 minutes far from the centre of the city, and for the staff, that is very nice and kind. 6/10.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    12
    42
    29
    21
See reviews for
9
53
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The hotel is little under the average rate of a hotel. The positive thing is that it is very close to the blue metro line - Nepliget station. But I selected "average" for location as the district looks like a ghetto - no shops or anything nearby! The breakfast was good, the sheets on the beds were clean, but there were no shampoo and hairdryer in the bathroom. As a whole, the hotel is good for 2-3 nights and if you plan to be outside and visit the sightseeing in the city.

Room Tip: I was in a room with a view to the street which is very noisy all night long and could not open the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Hotel Platanus offers good value for your money and is located walking distance from the underground of Budapest. The staf is friendly. One remark is that the aircon of our room was not working well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beograd,Serbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

That weekend, all the hotels in Budapest were overbooked and that's the only reason we chose Platanus.

The best thing about the hotel - it's very close to the international bus station (Nepliget)-about 5 minutes on foot. Also, there is a good connection with city center and other parts of Budapest, during the night and day (night bus station is very close). The receptionists are polite and their English is good.

But...

The building of the hotel is outdated, it desperately needs renovation, both inside and outside. Our double room was very small, not so clean, with strange mattresses covered by blankets, and without a telephone. Only the bathroom was pretty new and ok.

The strongest impression was breakfast-it was the poorest breakfast we’ve ever had in a hotel! It was difficult to find anything to eat among small quantities of cheap salami, smoked cheese, jam and muesli. No eggs, yoghurt, fresh fruits or salads. Thanks God they had coffee and tea.

Overall-if you need quick and cheap solution (we payed 65 euros for 2 nights, 2 persons, including breakfast) and intend to use your room only for a sleep, you can choose hotel Platanus. If you want to feel more pleasant in such a beautiful city, don’t go there. We won’t be back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I don't know of any cheaper hotel in Budapest and conveniently close to a subway station, even though I did some serious research. If you simply need a place to sleep, have a quick shower in and not bother about getting out early in the morning for a basic breakfast, then Platanus is just perfect. Some of the staff are nice and friendly, but others are plain yokels (or maybe we happened to bump into their hangoverish side...) Oh, and if you arrive there in the evening, bring food and drinks with you, because the only other option is a gas station or ghastly McDonald's a mile or so away. The neighbourhood is utterly depressing, and there's nothing you can really do in the hotel, so my advice is to simply use it as a rest point. (Central Budapest is superb anyway, so why waste your time there?) No room service, mind you, and no minibar. They don't even bother to tempt you, so cheap's the word there and cheap it is!

Room Tip: A few rooms have a kingsize bed, but most of them are just two single juniors separated by a nightst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

If you want a hotel just to sleep over night and cheap stay, than this is it, expect no more than that. Reception stuff is kind and wanted to provide valued info.
rooms are clean with somehow old sheets, toilet is fine. However, noise is notable cause of heavy traffic down to the outside avenue. my room was on ground flour and not so secured,
Wi fi internet is not working in room, and only available in hotel lobby (it was unavailable here too, for 2 days which is unacceptable).
Breakfast is below average, just the cheapest salami and cheese, butter and marmalade and cornflakes and that's all, is it a hotel of 3 stars!?

It is in hood location, near Nepliget metro station (5 mins walk) and near bus station.


Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

I've stayed in hotel because the Hotel I've previous booked made a mistake with my booking, so me and my friend had no choice to stay in this hotel, we were told it was a 3 star hotel but it look m more like a a hostel.
The service was very poor as the staff didn't seem to be bodered to inform us about anything.
I had a very disappointing experience in this hotel wouldn't recommend. For what it's worht is close to hotel and metro.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gloria
Hotel Gloria
#190 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tulip Inn Budapest Millennium
Tulip Inn Budapest Millennium
#177 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
4.5 mi away
Korona Panzio
Korona Panzio
#127 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rila Hotel
Rila Hotel
#260 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Chesscom
Hotel Chesscom
#102 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Thomas
Hotel Thomas
#173 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunguest Platanus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunguest Platanus Hotel

Address: Konyves K. krt. 44, Budapest 1087, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunguest Platanus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hunguest Platanus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hunguest Platanus
Hunguest Platanus Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunguest Platanus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.