We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rakoczi Ut 90, Budapest H-1074, Hungary   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SAVE UP TO 15%
Ranked #151 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Value for Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

hi all my first review when I first booked accommodation in Budapest I booked a private flat...which was just unsatisfactory.
Came on here and found the Best Western Hungaria which was exactly as the reviews said, the first room I had, I think was the one in the picture....a little small but heaven compared to the flat
But then I was upgraded and the room is beaut it is quiet, large, light, has air con and the WIFI works really well...the location is a little out but it totally suir=ts me as I have a cousin in walking distance. The staff have all been friendly and helpful....

Room Tip: the higher floors are good I find the wifi connection better and they are lighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your good valuation regarding your stay in our property.
We are waiting for your next visit.
With best regards
Béla Csapó
FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    257
    205
    83
    48
See reviews for
108
208
38
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a nice hotel with a beautiful lobby. We chose to stay here since it was close to the train station, but we really didn't do ourselves any favors. Because of all the construction, it took twice as long to walk to the train station. It is a long walk to the city center so we took the metro which was really quite easy. Still, at the end of the night, we would have rather had been in the city center near the Chain Bridge, not having to commute. It would have been no problem to take the metro to Keleti on the morning we were leaving from a hotel in the city center. Breakfast was good here, and they have lifts and free computer access. So the hotel is actually very nice. But unfortunately, I can only rank it as average because of its location. Four stars for the hotel and 2 stars for the location. The staff was very nice but next time I will stay right in the heart of all the action, as there is not a lot to do in the night time by the Best Western, no tourist shps, and some seedy characters hanging out on the way to and from the train station. This is not a place to take a late night stroll from the hotel. If you are with an organized tour which has its own coach bus, then it's different for you but still much nicer to stay near the Chain Bridge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at our property.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Thank you again for taking the time to comment. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.
Sincerely,
Bela Csapo
Front Office Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster BC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We chose this hotel because it was close to the train station. There was construction in the area, but we found the hotel very easily. The room was clean and comfortable, the buffet for breakfast was a typical Best Western affair, quite adequate.

I can not say enough about the staff, we were heading off to Venice from here and they helped us find a hotel and spent a good hour with us doing so. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We are glad to hear that you have nice opinion about us.
We did what is our job: did our best for our distinguished guests.
With best regards
Béla Csapó
FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Best Western's overseas are really nice, they said. You should stay there, they said. But low and behold, this was just like staying at a Best Western! Including the price, which is very reasonable. The hotel really needs renovation or at least refreshing. Carpet, paint and furnishings showed signs of wear and I cannot recommend the buffet style restaurant. The pluses: the staff was very friendly and helpful and the price was very reasonable. I read reviews of the Ritz Carlton, the most highly rated hotel in Budapest and it sounded wonderful. We spent 4 nights at Hotel Hungaria for less than the cost of one night at the Ritz. If your preference is to spend more of your vacation funds on food, sightseeing and entertainment, and less on your hotel, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your opinion regarding your stay in our hotel.
Please return soon, you are always welcome here.
With best regards
Béla Csapó
FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and although its large , the staff are very friendly and helpful. Its a short walk from the main Keleti railway , but a good 15-20 minute walt to the main city centre.
As compared with the other hotels in Europe, the rooms are spacious n clean just teh decor a bit tired. But over all nice n comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was good consisting of a variety of cold and cooked food including scrambled eggs, french toast, cheese ham, fruit and yoghurts and many pastries bread and jam.
The Hungaria was quite good to get about from as open top Red bus stopped outside and the metro stop was within easy walk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We are glad that you were satisfied with our services. Please return soon.
Sincerely
Béla Csapó
FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Few months ago I spent wonderful weekend in Budapest. If you are looking for a good place to stay in Budapest, just take a short walk from the Keleti railway station and go to Rákóczi Avenue where you will find this beautyfull hotel with big and exclusive room, free wi-fi and good memoires, and enjoy your Budapest just as I did. Don't forget about Fisherman Soup or halászlé!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your visit and for good opinion about our hotel. Please return soon, you are always welcome here.
Best regards
Béla Csapó
FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Nice middleclass hotel with a walking distance to down town area.
Take the small streets instead of the main street if you want to find cafés, shops and so on. The Hop on off-buses were exellent with information in 20 languages. It was not so good outside the hotel because of the construction work in the streets and sometimes there were young high beggars.
I can recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your comment and enjoy again soon our services.
You are always welcome here.
With best regards
Béla Csapó
FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria

Address: Rakoczi Ut 90, Budapest H-1074, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#86 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hungaria
Best Western Budapest
Budapest Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.