We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a decent hotel in budapest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rakoczi Ut 90, Budapest H-1074, Hungary   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SAVE UP TO 20%
Ranked #147 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“a decent hotel in budapest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

take the back rooms and not the front
the showers water stream is not .strong enough
the room is simple but perfect
dont forget to ask for kattle and coffe and tea
the staff is very helpfull
hotel is 2 km from the river
use the 1,3 or 1 week transportation tickets
plenty of supermarkets all around
a small but fine restaurant is near by you turn left from the hotel entrence and again left after 8 minutes walk is the restaurant with variety food from piza to steak named big boy
the hotel breakfast is fine with plenty of food
arena mall is 10 minutes walk
enjoy your stay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    215
    177
    76
    42
See reviews for
89
185
27
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Very large Hotel needs updating ,Good location only a short walk to city centre
Staff very nice ,helpfull ,i think its probably good value for your money as the breakfast buffet
has a huge joice of various international dishes over,all not to bad





Vsmith

Room Tip: try to book in the older part of the Hotel as the rooms are nicer and more quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at our property.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.
Sincerely,
Bela Csapo
Front Office Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

stayed here in december 2011 while visiting the chrismtas markets in budapest with three other girls.hotel is in a great location, everything is within walking distance of the hotel. nice restaurants on the way into the city centre. staff were very friendly and very helpful and would always direct you in the right direction. the rooms are big, comfortable and clean and the breakfast was feast with a massive selection of sausages, breads, juices, cakes. defiantly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your comment. I'm glad to hear that after 10 month you remember us and take your time to share with others your positive experiences.
Best regards
Béla CSapó
FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We travel in group when we stay in this hotel. This hotel is old style and all I can say it is a perfect place to stay in Budapest. After this one We stay one year later in other more stars hotel in Budapest and this one is dominating in almost every aspect.

The rooms are 40m2 and larger, the food is one of the best you can find. You can choose food for every style . Only downside is carpets, I hate carpets in rooms and lobby because they never can't be cleaned perfectly.

I recommend this hotel to everyone, you can't miss with this one.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your comment. This is our great pleasure that you were satisfied with our services. That's what we are working for and want to provide for all of our guests.
With best regards
Béla Csapó
FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Very retro, clean and comfortable room located at back of hotel; quiet but no view. Little way out of centre of Budapest but lots of public transport options nearby.

Breakfast selection a bit unusual but something for almost everyone!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for sharing your opinion. We really try to keep our hotel clean, comfortable and functional and try to do the necessary steps to renew it step by step.
Waiting for your next visit in our property.
Béla Csapó
FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I was staying for a weekend break with 6 other lads and stayed for 3 nights. As a few people have stated the hotel needs updating but the rooms are perfectly fine if all you are doing is looking for a bed and then going out to see Budapest. The location is not the best as it is a bit of walk to the main attractions / bars. To walk to the river is about 30 to 45 minutes and about the same to get to St Stephens. Never ate in the hotel so can't comment. We didn't get charged any extra deposits so not sure why other people were.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at our property.
Your opinion is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Bela Csapo
Front Office Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had a very brief stay here when leaving from Keleti train station which is 5 minutes walk away so this hotel was ideal. We had a very quick late night check in, a good nights sleep in a clean room and at £15 pp it was great value. We checked out on Monday but on our way home the following Thursday we called in and the staff were very helpful in getting us a reliable taxi to the airport. So to sum up I would not hesitate to use this hotel again.

Room Tip: A room facing away from the room was requested, granted and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for the comment. I'm glad to hear that you were satisfied with us.
We are waiting for your next visit, you're always welcome here..
Béla Csapó
FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria

Address: Rakoczi Ut 90, Budapest H-1074, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hungaria
Best Western Budapest
Budapest Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.