We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gellert Hill” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gellert Hill and Statue

Gellert Hill and Statue
Buda, District 1 | next to Citadella, Budapest, Hungary
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$30*
and up
Budapest City Walking Tour
Ranked #23 of 230 Attractions in Budapest
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The best views of Budapest and the Danube River are from this hill, which also features the imposing fortress, the Citadella, at its summit.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Gellert Hill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We visited the Great Market Hall and then walked over the bridge and up the hill. Wonderful views from the top. We went into The Citadel and The Bunker.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    597
    424
    112
    17
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A place to make great photos :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

If somebody visits Budapest, I would highly recommend this place for visit :) Basically, you can see almost the whole city from there, the scenery is really majestic both day and night. So feel free to check it out :)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Never walk alone !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Being Hungarian it is my favourite place to visit , but unfortunately the favourite place of muggers as well ! Be careful do not walk alone !

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Could see the statue from my hotel room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

On one trip there I was placed in a room right under the hill and the impressive statue towered over the place.
Didnt get time to walk up the hill to it though which would have been nice but I was there on business.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novorossiysk, Russia
Top Contributor
392 reviews 392 reviews
234 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“The best place to make fotos of Budapest!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

For me it's the most beautiful and captivating place in Budapest, even better than Fishermen's Bastion;)). I think it's so not only because of very slippery stairs climbing up during cold and frosty January evening, but because it's undoubtedly so. This is the place to be visited in Budapest to say that You ever been to Budapest!;))

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gellert Hill and Statue also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Gellert Hill and Statue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gellert Hill and Statue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.