We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A splendid sumer afternoon in the shades of the zoo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budapest Zoo & Botanical Garden

Budapest Zoo & Botanical Garden
Allatkerti Krt. 6-12, Budapest H-1146, Hungary
+36 1 273 4900
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Budapest Zoo & Botanical Garden like an insider
Top Rated
$28*
and up
Budapest Sightseeing Tour by Bike
Ranked #32 of 404 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of the oldest zoos in Europe, established in 1866, features the hippopotamus, bred in captivity, and an animal nursery of lion and bear cubs.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Sofia, Bulgaria
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A splendid sumer afternoon in the shades of the zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were coming back from our Barcelona trip and had a whole afternoon in Budapest till the flight to Sofia.

And we spent an unforgettable 4 hours - all in the zoo of Budapest. Summer is a perfect time to visit it.(As is the winter as I see from other comments). May be there isn`t unsuitable season for this zoo. :)

I had my period at that moment and a lot of ache. Despite that my son and me were like 2 kids who enjoy every single detail - from the playful and fearless lemurs greeting you at one of the entrances to the lazy hippos laying in the deep shades at the exit...

Recommend it for more than 4 hours - spend a day there if you can.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    571
    306
    108
    30
    26
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worth spending a day there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We went to the zoo in the middle of a very cold snowy day so weren't expecting much but it was great. We got in for free on our Budapest card and spent the whole afternoon strolling around but probably on saw half the zoo. Unfortunately we were going home the day after or we would have gone back to see the rest. Children will love it but adults will have an equally good time

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not where it is on the map!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We never actually made the zoo! I've rated it on an average of other reviewers. Thanks to the Budapest Trip Advisors android app and the wrong location on the map we walked 1.5 miles in the wrong direction! Not happy at all as the girlfriend had an injured leg but put on a brave face, only to find out we were now 3 miles from the zoo as it really was 1.5 miles the other side of our set off point! Wasted a couple of hours of our day too. THE ZOO IS NEAR HEROES SQUARE so if the map still says it's out the back of the castle it's wrong. I have told TA about it but thought i should warn other travellers of the issue!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oradea, RO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the best zoos I've ever been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

It was my first time visiting the Budapest Zoo. The last time was in the summer, and it was before the renovation.
Even if most of the animals were inside this time around, it was still a great place to visit, especially because it gave me the feeling that they are treated as they should be, as opposed to other zoos, where you can't help but feel sorry for them.
As far as zoos go, this one has everything you'll want to see - it also has some very interesting attractions for kids and an area that chronicles the appearance of man on this planet. Unfortunately, it's mostly in Hungarian, so if you don't speak the language, it won't do too much for you.
Even so, you can check out the elephants, hippopotamuses, giraffes, reptiles and whatnot, even during winter.
Just an advice, though - be there early. The buildings where animals are kept during winter - and some during summer, too - close at 15,30 and you risk missing out a lot.
Other than that, great place, very well organized, well worth a visit.
Oh, and the zoo's buildings are simply stunning, too.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
İzmir, Türkiye
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Read this and get 30% discount at the ticket.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I've visited many zoos worldwide and most of them were bigger than this. However, I really liked this one as most animals seemed happy and they were lively. Very wide range from monkeys to lions, reptiles to penguins. Some of the animals like sloths and lemurs were free and you can even touch them. Much more than I've anticipated and had a great 3 hours there.
Are you curious about the discount? :) OK OK. Here's the way. Buy a hop on hop off sightseeing tour (green bus) at your first day for EURO 22. You will get a huge bonus booklet with this. One of the occasions is the 30% discount for the zoo. There are nearly 30 more discounts (nearly 10 of them are for icon places that you may visit anyway) plus free goulash soup and free beer. So you save more than you pay ;)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Budapest Zoo & Botanical Garden also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Budapest Zoo & Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budapest Zoo & Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.