We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Citadella

Citadella
Citadella setany 1 | Gellerthegy, Budapest 1118, Hungary (Várkerület)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 256 attractions in Budapest
Type: Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Located on the summit of Gellert Hill, this fortress was built by the Hapsburgs in 1854 to keep the city under surveillance.
DROGHEDA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“What a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Fantastic view of both buda and pest. Impressive by day and more impressive by night! Take the open top bus tour and it stops here and picks up until about 4.30pm.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    112
    39
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice bunker!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Ok, you have a great view from here. But want I really like (i love history) was the bunker upstairs with the history of the Budapest during the world war 2.

Why i put average only because it was foggy and it was not a very clear view to the city.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Top Contributor
369 reviews 369 reviews
234 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“very nice view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

If you want enjoy in budapest you should visit Citadella. amazing view,The great viewing of Budapest i do not take too much picture.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Visit October 2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The view over the city from the statues was spectacular. We did not go into the citadel itsself. We visited on a cold crisp day and needed to be well wrapped up. The bus journey up the hill in the number 27 bus leaves you with a 5-10 minute walk

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful panorama in the centre of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I had a weekend walk to this wonderful place of our capital. It was a sunny Saturday, I could enjoy the whole panorama of the recent city among the historical walls of the fortress.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Citadella also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Citadella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Citadella to your Saves list