We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Class Performance!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Erkel Theatre

Erkel Theatre
II. Janos Pal papa ter 30, Budapest 1087, Hungary
1 3330108
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 230 Attractions in Budapest
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Theater hosts a variety of operettas during the winter months.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
124 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“World Class Performance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We saw Snow White here in an early evening performance and were we impressed by the level of energy in the performers! I mean this show may appeal to kids, but the set was better than some I have seen on Broadway! The dancers were flawless and I love the witty performance of the dwarves. They had kids dancing in the aisles and we applauded them all the way home. Bravo!
Recent upgrades have made this theatre look brand new. Check it out...it won't disappoint.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“For music lovers a must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We had trouble finding this theatre because someone put the wrong adress on the map. So please check the correct adress.We watched Il trovatore (The Troubadour) and it was a world class performace.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rothwell, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
“Go Now!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We wanted to see the Hungarian national ballet and luckily for us they had a performance of the merry widow to treat us to! It was an amazing performance and if you can make time for a performance please go!! Only problem was no English translation in the program but our tickets cost us £8 each and we got four rows from the front!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Merry Widow, Ballet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

What can I say. A first-rate ballet performance, wonderful dancing and orchestra, a box for two of us for a total of £25 in a magnificent Art Deco theatre. I'd shout my recommendation from the rooftops.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The second bastion of Budapest Opera”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Newly reopened Erkel Theatre is the second bastion of Budapest Opera. Good sound quality, modern technologies, but traditionally high quality opera and ballett performances on the stage here.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Erkel Theatre also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Erkel Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Erkel Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.