We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Building, Impeccable Staff and Service, Lackluster Room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Szechenyi Istvan ter 5-6., Budapest 1051, Hungary (District V / Inner City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Building, Impeccable Staff and Service, Lackluster Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

Our stay at the Four Seasons Gresham was regrettably short, but I concur with several other guest reviews of this location. It is absolutely centrally located in Budapest at the foot of Chain Bridge, and the renovated historic building couldn't be more beautiful inside or out. The elegant lobby and public spaces are completely remarkable and flawless.

Without question, the highlight of our stay here was the polish and perfection of every hotel staffperson we met. Doormen remembered our names, front desk, restaurant and bar staff were low-key but available to answer any questions and make suggestions when asked. Concierge service was helpful but not overbearing. The Four Seasons brand should be proud of how well staff has been trained here. Exactly what travellers are willing to pay for and perfect in every regard.

Perhaps the biggest disappointment of our stay was our smallish room which was, granted, the least expensive option at this high-end property. We were offered the chance to upgrade upon checking in. Our room had a long entry hall that turned at a small in-room bar area before opening to the guest room. The very high ceiling didn't do much to mitigate the small and square room, although double closets and a large marble bathroom, with separate shower and tub, offered everything one would need during their stay. Housekeeping was completely spotless. Seating was limited to one vanity/desk chair or the bed. Very understated aspirin-white paint and simple ceiling mouldings did nothing to accentuate this part of an otherwise remarkable building. Internet access ran about 30 USD per day and coffee service was available by room service only. Lastly, the room overlooked a side street with views into a modern office building.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,263
    136
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
224
658
66
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

A beautiful hotel in a lovely city. I was running a conference there and the hotel couldn't have been more efficient, kind and helpful. Would love to go back.

Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

The Gresham touts itself, and prices accordingly, as the premium hotel in Budapest. The sense I got was that there is a degree of complacency about the place that means it is not quite delivering as it should, given some excitingly high prices. The pros of the hotel are many and varied and have been detailed exhaustively on these pages - the location is unbeatable, whether for exploring Buda (a short hop over the Chain Bridge) or for hitting Pest; the spa and pool on the 5th floor are delightful (the pool is small, but mercifully empty when we were there at New Year); the concierges are pro-active and highly reliable; the lobby area and the whole "feel" of the place are of understated, quiet luxury; small touches delight - the doormen very swiftly coming to know who you are, and the concierges having a bag of towels and shampoo on hand for anyone heading to the wonderful Szechenyi outdoor baths (nota bene - smuggle your dressing gown out too if it's midwinter!). And yet, I left feeling a little deflated by the experience. We had booked a Danube Deluxe Room with a King Bed. The price, once taxes etc are totted up and excluding any meals, comes to nearly £1,500 for two nights - at that level, one expects 6 rather than 5 stars. The room itself was extraordinary, as the bathroom takes up around half of the floor space, with just about enough room in the bedroom for the King Size bed. Not Deluxe in any sense of the word. Worse still, the King Size bed was not sufficiently long for my legs (I am 6 foot 2), which made for a rather uncomfy night's sleep. And to add to that, our air-con was on the blink and seemed to be overridden by the hotel's own air-con which was set at "Bake" for the duration of the trip; result was we got little sleep on our first night and woke with sore throats, feeling generally a bit dessicated. Saving grace was the wonderful balcony view across the river to Buda - spectacular and the reason why the FS can keep prices so high for such teeny weeny rooms. Perhaps the answer is that, if you really are as rich as Croesus, you reserve a Danube Premier or a Park Suite which will have you shelling out between £2,000 to £3,000 for your 2 nights, and then you get a few feet either side of the bed to swing a cat. So, I was a little disappointed with it all, notwithstanding the impeccable location, "feel" and quiet.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

it was our last location after a trip in krakow, and vienna.
we had excelent hotels in poland and austria but this one was much over all.
i congratulate my self that i did'nt choose to make this short holliday in reverse because after this hotel, the level of pleasure in the rest of my trip it might be lower
what can i say more ?
amenities, services, everything was awesome great !
it is an experience that changed my general perception about hospitality

if you had the oportunity to take a room with the view over the chain bridge and the danube, do not hesitate

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

I really can't say enough good things about my stay at Gresham Palace. The old world architecture and intricate tile work in the lobby is amazing, it's a special building. We were brought to our room, but requested another one mainly because the plug-in air freshener that housekeeping uses was a little too powerful for my wife's liking. It wasn't offensive, but she is very sensitive to perfume odors and wasn't comfortable so we were moved to a room with a small balcony overlooking the Danube. What an incredible sight that was. Because it was night, the Chain Bridge was lit up and the view was nothing less than spectacular. Unfortunately the room itself was a bit dirty (stains on the curtains and on the lamp shade, so we requested yet another room change. I know what you're thinking, I'm difficult, but I don't live that way at home so I don't want to live that way on vacation. The hotel staff apologized and the manager took the room out of service and quickly moved us. The third room didn't have the view, but was extremely comfortable. Beautiful millwork, king sized bed, a sitting area with desk, lovely marble bathroom with a water closet, separate tub and shower.

Once we were situated we left the hotel for a couple of hours to enjoy the city. Upon returning to the room, there was a note from the housekeeping manager apologizing for the previous issues accompanied by two magnificent desserts. That was a really nice touch. If the hotel staff was annoyed with us, they surely didn't show it. It's a tough job dealing with the public and I applaud the staff at Gresham Palace for their customer service skills.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

We were upgraded from the Sofitel nearby in a similar location. This was convenient to all the sights and the room was well appointed. The breakfast that was included was not up to the quality of what we had in other stops on the tour, but that was traded for the upgrade in hotel. It is a beautiful hotel and the spa offered a nice work out room and jacuzzi.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

I loved this hotel for many reasons. We had the perfect room overlooking the Chain Bridge, now granted we upgraded to get this room, and it was pricey, but it was so romantic! It was so beautiful at night looking out at the bridge that we never shut the curtains. I thought that the staff was extremely helpful, and yes, they did steer us to restaurants that might not have been our initial choice, but they were always fantastic choices! They also steered us away from the really touristy restaurants as we wanted a more authentic Hungarian experience. I felt totally pampered and really loved the sense of privacy there. Also, the architecture is well worth seeing and the neighborhood has some lovely sights and restaurants all a short walk from the hotel! If price is no object then this is the only hotel to stay in!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#8 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,861 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,330 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#25 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 2,183 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace

Address: Szechenyi Istvan ter 5-6., Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Budapest
#1 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#1 Business Hotel in Budapest
#2 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Gresham Palace Budapest
Four Seasons Budapest
Budapest Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.