We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Szechenyi Istvan ter 5-6., Budapest 1051, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 330 hotels in Budapest
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great room and view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel has everything going for it. The location is tops, facing the Danube and Chain Bridge. Staff is most professional and accommodating. Of course everyone greets you, from the chambermaids to doormen. Lobby spectacular. Cafe has spectacular breakfast, including fois gras (fresh) omelet! Rooms tastefully decorated and up-to-date with every amenity . Room spacious but not huge. We had a room overlooking the Danube, but some rooms may not have the same view.

Room Tip: confirm that your room overlooks the Danube.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for your generous feedback posted on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace in July. It is great to learn that you were warmly greeted by all our employees, who were able to offer you a memorable experinece.

Thank you as well for mentioning how much you liked your spacious room with the view to the Danube as well as the excellent location of our building. I also appreciate your praising words about your breakfast experience. Nothing is more motivating than reading praising words like yours.

Best regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    866
    86
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
149
430
43
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Excellent luxury hotel, perfectly located. Good for children.
SPA area!!! What a pool!
Extremely friendly and helpful reception staff.
TIP: Try nearby sushibar - very good! (if you go outside the hotel turn right till next corner).

Why 4 not 5 rating is mess in the restaurant (especially if you are vegetarian)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, 2 days ago
It is a wonderful feeling to read on Trivadvisor public website that you highly recommend our hotel, its facilities and services.

I was also delighted to learn that your stay was enhanced by the service extended to you by our Front Desk team, whom you have found extremely helpful and friendly throughout your visit.

Hopefully there will be a future opportunity to welcome you back when your travels bring you to Budapest!

Best regards,


Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stunningly beautiful hotel in a wonderful city with great staff. We arrived after a mix up in our booking (our fault) which was handled with complete professionalism and that standard of service continued throughout our week long stay. The view from our room overlooking the Danube was wonderful, Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Take a room overlooking the Danube
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you so much for your generous feedback regarding your recent stay at Four Seasons Gresham Palace. I was excited to read that our staff was able to handle and sort out the confusion in relation to your booking in a professional and timely manner and that from the seamless check-in, throughout your entire stay with us you enjoyed the whole experience very much.

Best regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is absolutely beautiful. Situated right at the foot of the Chain Bridge, the location is absolutely perfect to walk to numerous landmarks, excellent restaurants, and bars. The hotel is stunning! It was beautifully restored in the early 2000s: the lobby's architecture and glass ceilings are probably the most impressive features. The staircases are also marvelous. Our room was tasteful and spacious (we just booked a standard room), with a luxurious bathroom. We had a partial view of the main street/Danube. Just ensure you request a room that is NOT on the third floor if you are not a smoker. The service was absolutely everything you would expect from a Four Seasons. I would also recommend the charming afternoon tea; the sweets and sandwiches are delicious!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, 2 days ago
It is great to read your comments posted on Tripadvisor public website about your recent stay with us. I am glad that you were astonished by the architecture of our building; this beautiful combination of history and modern comfort, as well as you liked the location of our Palace, which is indeed in close vicinity of numerous dinning, shopping, sightseeing and recreational options. Thank you also for highlighting the comfort and the design of our rooms and bathrooms.

I am extremely happy to read that you have enjoyed all aspects of your recent stay with us. Thank you for recommending our Hotel and its services to all Tripadvisor readers and travellers!

I truly hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Four Seasons Gresham Palace.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

From the moment you see the hotel you smile!
Reception was wonderful, we were escorted to our room by the women at the front desk! She was MORE THEN happy to set up my phone for the free WIFI and give us a quick tour of the hotel as well as our room! Our room was an inside room (we asked for a quiet room ) and it was lovely! Large and very clean! The hotel lobby is beautiful! The spa on the fifth floor is beautiful and had everything you needed for a good workout! The indoor pool and sauna were lovely!
We had drinks at the bar each evening before we went out. Our server, Voltan was engaging and thoughtful. The concierge as well as the front desk people were helpful and nothing seemed to much. They offered us a travel bag, with a towel and slippers if we went to the baths-which we never got to! The door men were always friendly and again we able to offer suggestions as well as direction! The hotel seems to be the place for very fancy cars! Everyday/evening there were multiple fancy cars parked (Rolls Royce, a variety of BMW's and several Ferrari's) It was funny to see people taking pictures of the cars and NOT this beautiful palace called The Four Season's. There are many nice hotels in Budapest but this one is right at the Chain bridge and just a right turn from many restaurants and The Basilica..as well as other destinations!

Room Tip: We had a quiet, inside room It was lovely. I think I may have liked a river view. We were on the fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, 2 days ago
I am extremely happy to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace Budapest.

First and foremost, please allow me to thank you for your recognition of our Four Seasons staff for their efforts in making you both feel so pampered and special. I am delighted to learn that you were treated with attention and care. It was most thoughtful of you to detail the examples of service that impressed you. Our people put a great deal of thought into how they care for your guests and it is wonderful when their efforts are so recognized. Such praise as yours keeps us energized and passionate about what we do and how we do it. Please be assured that I will be sharing your praising words with the entire staff. The employees will be thrilled to know their efforts were acknowledged and appreciated.

Thank you again for your wonderful and detailed feedback. Many who plan to visit Budapest and stay with us, I am sure will find your review a valuable source of information.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Staff was accommodating in every way. The hotel is beautifully and understatedly appointed. Location is great for walking around the city. The casual restaurant became our favorite place for lunch and drinks --- sent their cucumber/basil/lemonade recipe to all of my friends on Facebook!

Room Tip: Every room looked like a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, 2 days ago
I was thrilled to read your kind feedback. Thank you for your nice remarks about the beauty and the advantageous location of our Hotel and for complimenting our staff. There is nothing more motivating for us than receiving feedback like yours to continue providing quality service.

I was also very happy to note that the Gresham Restaurant became your favorite place for lunch and drinks throughout your stay in Budapest.

You are always welcome to return to Four Seasons Gresham Palace!

Best regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

When we arrived we had a brief wait to get into the room, but were taken to the restaurant and given coffee while we waited. The room was lovely and the staff very responsive. This is a converted palace and all the touches you would expect were there.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for posting your praising review on Tripadvisor and it is my sincere hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back to Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace Budapest in the future.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace

Address: Szechenyi Istvan ter 5-6., Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#1 Business Hotel in Budapest
#1 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#1 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#1 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Amex, TripOnline SA, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Gresham Palace Budapest
Four Seasons Budapest
Budapest Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.