We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing historic building and total luxury experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Szechenyi Istvan ter 5-6., Budapest 1051, Hungary (District V / Inner City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing historic building and total luxury experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Wonderfully professional, informed and friendly staff. Wonderful food, rooms, bar and fitness facilities as well. Its location could not be better. Blocks from the open plaza cafes, shopping and amazing sights of Pest, on the banks of the Danube and directly across from Buda with views of the Castle and steps to the chain bridge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
It was a pleasure reading your complementing feedback about our hotel’s facilities and location and I appreciate a great deal you recognizing our employees as they are our greatest asset.

I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace in the near future.

Best regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,266
    136
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
226
659
66
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a top notch property in a beautiful city. My room was a Gresham Room and was large and really well appointed. It had all of the bells and whistles one expects from a Four Seasons property. The team of concierges made all of our train and restaurant reservations with a smile. Truly wonderful service.
I love the Four Seasons beds and was actually a bit nervous about the bed quality since my room had two single beds but they did not disappoint! Even the single beds are fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
I appreciate your generous feedback regarding your recent stay at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace Budapest. Thank you for your recognition of our Concierge staff for their efforts in making you feel pampered and special. We do consider ourselves fortunate to have such talented employees working with us.

We are also grateful for your nice comments on our comfortable beds, as well as on the design and layout of our Gresham Room category. I hope that you will choose Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace again whenever your travels bring you back to Budapest in the future.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
59 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I only stayed there for a night, and I have to say it's one of the most beautiful Four Seasons I've seen and stayed in good 20+ years of my travel.

Good:
The building itself is an iconic, historical, absolutely gorgeous property by the River Danube. The room is at the right size and well maintained. The service is with the highest standard.

The gym has a small pool and decent weight room. I'm very impressed already, cos normally the these are not highlighted in a historical property.

Bad:
The food (breakfast and lunch) in the lobby restaurant is really bad considered how much they charge.

Ugly:
There are quite a few flies in the breakfast buffet table, which I found very disappointing and disgusting...so I ended up order a la cart and still not tasty.

I would recommend this hotel for any romantic and/or biz travel...simply do NOT eat there will be the right thing to do.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Incredible building with grand views. Amazing service and staff. Worth a stay even if just for a night or at least visit the bar/lounge for a drink and check out the amazing architecture. The rooms are glorious and amenities above and beyond luxurious (as to be expected). Traveled with my now husband and parents. But very romantic.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
I am so glad that you were fascinated by our beautiful Palace, especially with its location and romantic atmosphere and that you still cherish wonderful memories from August 2012.

Our aim is to provide an unforgettable service for each and every one of our guests and I am happy to know that we succeeded in your case.

We are so lucky to have such guests like you who take their valuable time and post their praising comments on the Tripadvisor website nearly a year after their visit to the Gresham Palace and its facilities.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Had a good stay at this hotel recently. Staff was very friendly and the service was great. I had issues with no internet signal in my room for 3 days but they finally managed to solve it. They also closed one of the lifts down for a "VIP" frequently which seemed over the top especially as there are only three for the entire hotel. If this person wanted privacy they should have used the staff lift.
Overall however a great stay with friendly and welcoming staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your overall positive comments posted on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Four Seasons Gresham Palace. I am so happy to read that you had a memorable experience with us and praised the courteous and welcoming service provided by our staff.

Please be assured that we received and highly appreciated your electronic feedback as well and we already replied to you via e-mail recently. Thank you again for taking your valuable time to provide us with constructive feedback on both internal, as well as public channels.

Best regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Being a little apprehensive about Budapest based on comments of travelers, we wanted to stay at a place that made us feel secure and welcomed. We were not disappointed. A great Four Seasons experience. Impeccable service. Nice restaurant with wonderful food. Everything you would expect from a Four Seasons. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
I am extremely happy to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and considered we offered you a true Four Seasons experience throughout your visit. Thank you also for highlighting your delicious dining experience.

I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my team after signing a huge deal. We very much enjoyed the comfort and luxury of the hotel, and while it is a bit stiff, it is at the same time gorgeous.

We came home in the evenings after team building sessions in town to enjoy great piano in the enormous hall where the bar and reception is placed. What a sound! The cocktails were ok although they are far from exceptional.

The spa at the top floor of the hotel is quite nice but petite and lacks character. I had imagined a traditional spa in the basement with salt infused water in line with the old roman style, but this was merely a swimmingpool at the top floor...

The breakfast was great and americanized, but very priced compared to the rest of the country... The room was fine but lacked the character that would otherwise be expected from an old "palace".

All in all a great and clean experience, but I would have loved a bit more soul and character in keeping with the rest of the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
First and foremost, please allow me to thank you personally for taking the time to share your general impression on our hotel in detail. We understand your time is valuable and it means a lot to us when our guests provide us with feedback, especially nearly a year after their visit.
I was glad to read that overall you liked our building and had a great and clean experience. I am sorry that despites the level and quality of the restoration of this old building, we missed impressing you with more soul and character. Point well taken and rest assured we consider your opinion.

The transformation of this Palace into a Four Seasons Hotel was a tremendous task and the result is truly amazing, however certain limitations due to the structure required a lot of creativity, such as the spa and the swimming pool on the top floor.

Thank you again for your feedback and I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace should you travel to Budapest any time in the future.

Best regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#8 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,866 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,333 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#25 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace

Address: Szechenyi Istvan ter 5-6., Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Budapest
#1 Family Hotel in Budapest
#1 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#2 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Gresham Palace Budapest
Four Seasons Budapest
Budapest Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.