We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite four seasons.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Szechenyi Istvan ter 5-6., Budapest 1051, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off Room Rate
Ranked #1 of 332 hotels in Budapest
barcelona
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of my favorite four seasons.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hotel is just incredible!!! From the attentive service, the great room and amazing restaurant my stay was just unforgettable. Everything was perfect, from the moment we check in. The hotel has a lot of charm and the location is just perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
I appreciate you generous remarks in relation to our hotel’s facilities and services. I am very pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us last year in April and you still cherish wonderful memories if you visit.

Kind regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    813
    81
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
134
404
42
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The Gresham Palace has a deserved reputation as the best hotel in Budapest, but it offers levels of service and attention to customer needs which place it in competition with any of the great hotels of Europe. In our recent stay not only did the staff address us unprompted by name whenever we needed anything, but the support and advice from e.g. the concierges (who managed to get us great seats at almost no notice for the Opera, and gave sound advice about places to eat and cafés to visit) was exemplary, as were the very comfortable beds. Attention to detail (a weather forecast for the morning left in our room each night) and very high quality cuisine (including the Sunday lunchtime buffet) left us with nothing to complain about, but even then the staff apologised for a lapse in their own high service standards we had hardly even noticed. We were lucky to have a fine room with great views of the Chain Bridge and across the Danube to Buda, but I suspect we would have been happy in any room. Nowhere else to stay.

Room Tip: Room M03 has floor to ceiling window and sitting area with view of the Chain Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments posted on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Four Seasons Gresham Palace. I am so happy to read that you had a memorable experience with us and appreciated the great services provided by our staff, especially highlighting our employee’s thoughtfulness, addressing to you by your name and pointing out our concierges’ skillfulness. It is great to learn they were well informed and spot-on. I will take a great pride sharing your feedback with all of them, as nothing is more motivating than receiving such acknowledgement of their service passion.

It is also great to learn that the delicious food in our Restaurant, including our Sunday brunch rounded the experience off.

Warm regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We were in budapest a week ago this is a city that everybody should visit the people are extremely freindly, the sightseeing is beyond comparison, so much history use the trams or walk the trams are great fun, if you find the tram number two ride that from end to end, gives you a great river ride.also take a night time river cruise. The tram stops almost opposite the four seasons, we were told by a freind to visit this hotel and try the best hot chocolate in the world.
We were in jeans and trainers and when we saw the hotel we thought too posh for us but the consierge welcomed us with open arms escorted us into this 5 star restaurant informed the staff to look after us they sat us in a window seat made us a drink and a little snack. the chocolate is to die for with home made double cream. WONDERFUL STAFF go say hello and have a chocolate

Room Tip: get a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your great description as to what one can expect when visiting Budapest. It is so nice to learn that you managed to discover so much of what our beautiful city has to offer. I am sure many who plan to visit Budapest will find your review a valuable source of information.

Although it is always delightful reading positive comments on the city of Budapest, my biggest pleasure is learning about your experience in our hotel’s restaurant. I was extremely happy to read that our staff made you and your friends feel very comfortable and you were able to enjoy some nice hot chocolates and snacks with us.

Thank you for expressing your appreciation so genuinely about the service, our employees are so proud to act with such level of passion with our guests.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Our stay at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace was a wonderful experience! It is an incredibly beautiful hotel. Location could not be any better for site seeing and taking in amazing views of Budapest. Our room was large and very clean. Hotel provides you with l'occitane en provence products for everyday use. We really enjoyed our time at the spa that has a pool, dry sauna and steam room, as well as hot and iced healthy teas, small snacks and bottles of water. Breakfast had a great variety of continental, american and local dishes and a very good view of Buda Castle across the Danube river. If you go out for a run, the doorman will great you with a fresh towel and a bottle of water. Hotels concierge was very good and specific with dinner recommendations and recommended exactly what we wanted. We enjoyed the food from a room service menu and had few cocktails at a downstairs lounge with live piano music. Our stay was very comfortable,relaxing and romantic!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad that you liked the architecture and the location of our Palace, as well as you were very satisfied with your room and the amenities we provide to our guests.

Thank you also for your positive feedback in relation to our employees, especially highlighting our Concierge helpfulness and our doormen’ attentiveness. It is also great to learn that you had a delightful dining experience in Gresham Restaurant and Room Service and you really enjoyed our relaxing spa atmosphere.

I am delighted that we could contribute to your romantic experience in Budapest!

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

When u entering in the hall coupole looks a lil bit smaller, than u was expected after the photos, but still - astonishing you. To be true - the whole lobby preparing you to how beautiful the whole hotel is. Adorable huge wooden door to your room looks great also. But despite it the room itself is quite modest, but still well made. all except balcony and bathroom. They are great. Except the thing, that in the bathroom bath itself is quite small so you cant lay in it to totally relax and stretch. regarding balcony its very beautiful made and the view is terrific. Restaurant in the hotel is good as well and nicely decorated. Breakfast is really delicious. Four seasons quality service. As they like to say - Enjoy!)

Room Tip: Take the room with the balcony, better - on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
I would like to thank you for your passionate words in relation to our beautifully restored Palace. The transformation of this building into a Four Seasons Hotel was a tremendous task and the result is truly amazing, indeed. Equally fantastic is the view from our front rooms and balconies.

It is a wonderful feeling to read on Trivadvisor public website that you highly recommend our hotel, our outlets, especially our services.

I hope that we will have an opportunity of welcoming you back to Four Seasons Gresham Palace very soon.


Best regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Four Seasons Gresham Palace in Budapest was the best hotel we have ever stayed at. Outstanding location, beautiful decor, service second to none, perfectly beautiful rooms and amazing breakfast. Enough said!

Room Tip: It is worth it to pay a bit more to have a river/bridge view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
I would like to thank you for your passionate words in relation to our beautifully restored Palace. The transformation of this building into a Four Seasons Hotel was a tremendous task and the result is truly amazing, indeed.

It is a wonderful feeling to read on Trivadvisor public website that you highly recommend our hotel, our outlets, especially our services.

I hope that we will have an opportunity of welcoming you back to Four Seasons Gresham Palace very soon.


Best regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cracow, Malopolskie, Poland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Budapest is a beautiful city and stay at the Gresham also stay prettier. The hotel is located just off the Széchenyi Bridge (Szechenyi lanchid), with a view of the hill, has a representative interior, with extra restaurant (eggs Benedictine is poetry) ... The rooms are huge, with a very comfortable bed, full of luxury. I recommend! I recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your very kind notes and feedback. Great to hear that you had such a memorable stay with us. Thank you also for highlighting your delicious breakfast experience.

I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace

Address: Szechenyi Istvan ter 5-6., Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#1 Business Hotel in Budapest
#1 Family Hotel in Budapest
#1 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#1 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Amex, Otel and Venere so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Gresham Palace Budapest
Four Seasons Budapest
Budapest Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.