We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Szechenyi Istvan ter 5-6., Budapest 1051, Hungary (District V / Inner City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
263 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel is stunning and makes winter gloomy Budapest shine. This is one of the finest hotels in Europe and I can not speak highly enough of the design, fit and finish, service, rooms and overall feel of this palace. The staff is incredible and everything works. Our room had a beautiful view of the bridge and city and was spacious, chic and comfortable. The design is truly remarkable and fits our design sensibilities. This is the only place to stay in Budapest so do not miss this European treasure.

Room Tip: Danube view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
I would like to thank you for your passionate words in relation to our beautifully restored Palace and the accommodating and smooth service you received from our staff. It is so nice to learn that the combination of the historic ambience with the modern comfort appealed to your eyes, especially the room design. The transformation of this Palace into a Four Seasons Hotel was a tremendous task and the result is truly amazing, indeed.

It is a wonderful feeling to read on Trivadvisor public website that you highly recommend our hotel and services.

Best regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,261
    136
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
224
657
66
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We chose it because of its reputation and the 'third night free' deal. Expected good but received one of the best service levels and amenities ever. From the moment we were met by driver and Mercedes Limo at the airport to the moment we left the same way, three days later, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. They'd learnt our names and they knew why were staying there. The suite, bedroom and bathroom had everything. The room was large and light on the 5th floor with balcony and view over the Danube. Wifi, of course, iPhone docket, TV, complimentary water, the list is endless. We used the free Spa with infinity pool. Dinner on the first night was exquisite with a sensible choice on the menu, where I opted for Hungarian dishes. A wine list to die for. We tried to barter for a free breakfast because we just couldn't justify £24 each, but when we defaulted on the last morning, even that seemed worth it. Concierge, doormen, reception. We gave them 5 stars because that is the treatment they gave us. Wonderful hotel and Budapest isn't half bad either.

Room Tip: The closer you get to the 5th floor the better. Rooms are priced accordingly. The most expensive fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
I appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is great to learn that you enjoyed your time at the Hotel and that we managed to contribute to an unforgettable 30th anniversary. Your detailed description of our special amenities and as to what one can expect when visiting Four Seasons Gresham Palace are highly appreciated, the same as your positive notes about our staff, highlighting our Concierge, Doormen and Front Office employees. It has always been our aim to hire people with a positive attitude who are able to embrace the Four Seasons philosophy and share our common values. I was delighted to learn from you that we succeeded.

Best regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Exceeding expectations at every level is synonymous with this magnificent hotel. From the minute you walk in, it is clear, this hotel is in a different class. The impressive foyer take your breath away, and it is clear why it is called the Gresham Palace! Elegance, comfort, luxury, impeccable service - in the restaurant, in the bar, at the front desk, the concierge, the staff, room service, everything is perfect in this hotel. They make you feel special, and as if you are the only guest around and nothing is impossible, if you ask it, you get it! From the pillow menu to the snacks in the bar. Only the best! The location is perfect, the views are brilliant! We went to one of the museums, and couldn't find a taxi as it was in a distant location and it was snowing and cold. We phoned the hotel and within 5 minutes, the taxi fetched us! What a beautiful and unique experience.

Room Tip: In this hotel, it doesn't matter anywhere is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
I was thrilled to read your description of your of your stay with us at Four Seasons Gresham Palace. Thank you for your wonderful remarks about the Hotel facilities and for complimenting all our employees, especially highlighting the service you received from our employees at the restaurant, bar, front desk, concierge and room service. As you thought nothing is impossible for our staff, I can assure you that there is nothing more motivating for them than receiving feedback like yours to continue providing services beyond our guests’ expectations.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey, u.k.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have to admit I did not stay at this hotel, I was a guest of a business associate for dinner but would like to say that in typical Four Seasons style the Gresham is a true luxury establishment restored in the best of taste. I am not surprised that it is listed as No.1 in Budapest, there is no other hotel that I have seen that can match the quality seen here. Needless to say food and service were first class and I am really grateful that this location was chosen by my associate. The Corinthia hotel is highly rated but decor wise it tends to be slanted to the nouveau riche unlike the Four Seasons. In conclusion, there is a tendency to call any building of the early 20th c. "Art Deco". This building is decidedly not that, it's Art Nouveau at it's best! A gem in a gem of a city.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
It is great pleasure reading your words posted on Tripadvisor in relation to your dining experience in our Hotel’s Gresham Restaurant back in May 2012. I appreciate your passionate words about our beautifully restored Palace Hotel. I was delighted to read that you found our building one of the most amazing art deco heritage hotels in Budapest and the service of the highest standards.

It is also great to learn that the delicious food in our Restaurant rounded the experience off. Hopefully there will be another opportunity to welcome you as an in-house guest when your either business or leisure travels bring you to Budapest!

Best regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this hotel!!! You can't beat the location.

The hotel property lived up to the usual high standards of the Four Seasons brand, but it was the service that set this hotel above the others. On our first night, after a long day of traveling transatlantic with a 7-hour connection through Frankfurt, we ate dinner at the hotel restaurant. My sister and I decided to share two entrees, as we were undecided about which to order. Our waitress knew of our plan, and magnificently plated the shared entrees. Our plan had been to eat half an entree each and switch plates. (I know...how gauche!) Thanks to the restaurant, we didn't need to do that as the entrees were split in the kitchen. That's service!!!

When we checked into the hotel, I was amazed how the front desk receptionist, Shirley Catubao, so quickly learned our names and greeted us by name whenever we passed through the lobby...and not only the registered guests names, but I was traveling with two stuffed animals and she learned their names as well!! (photo posted). Shirley....you're the best!!!!

I look forward to my next trip back to Budapest and the Four Seasons Gresham Palace!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
It makes me so proud to learn that you and your sister’s stay was enhanced by the service extended to you in our Gresham Restaurant and also by the thoughtful attention offered to you during your visit by Shirley Catubao, our Front Desk Agent. I am always pleased when our employees meet and exceed the expectations of our guests. We have been fortunate to amass a group of individuals who truly care about our guests and take great pride in their own performance. It is truly because of our wonderful staff that we enjoy the reputation that we have earned as a company, worldwide. Shirley is no exception and we are most fortunate to have her as an Ambassador of Four Seasons.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your sister back to Four Seasons Gresham Palace Budapest in the not too distant future, and until then, thank you for taking the time to share your personal Four Seasons experience with the travelers' world.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knivsta, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Beautiful place with an excellent location. MAke sure you pay the extra cost for the danube river view rooms, it is worth every penny. If you are visiting over a sunday, you really should try their sunday brunch, excellent food in a nice atmosphere.

What really excels this hotel is the level of service throughout the hotel, checkin, concierge, restaurants, SPA... Everywhere the service is fantastic.

Room Tip: Danube river view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind feedback regarding your stay at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace in November last year. Although it is always nice to read positive comments on our hotel’s facilities, our restaurant’s pleasant atmosphere and the delicious brunch we serve on Sundays, still the biggest pleasure is learning about our staff’s excellence. I appreciate a great deal you recognizing our employees as they are our greatest asset.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Overall a great experience. The building is magnificent. We stayed in a wonderfull Park Suite with a unique view right in front of the Chain Bridge. To see the Buda Hill all lit up at night from the sitting area of the room is quite an experience.Breakfast is excellent and everyone really makes you feel at home away from home.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a view over the Danube, it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
I am so glad that you were fascinated by our beautiful building and the suite you chose to stay in. Thank you for sharing your experience. It is great to read that you felt like home away from home and that you were treated accordingly!

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#9 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,853 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,328 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#24 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 2,178 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace

Address: Szechenyi Istvan ter 5-6., Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Budapest
#1 Business Hotel in Budapest
#1 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#2 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Gresham Palace Budapest
Four Seasons Budapest
Budapest Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.